Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th September 2012, 08:48 PM
Sethanath Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
linuxfirefox
How to clone one PC to another?

How do I clone one machine to another?

I am about to build one new PC. That new one will be using old hardware.
I do not want to install from the installation disk since the machine I am using now, I have good configurations.

Would cloning be a better solution? If not, then I will just slide in the installation disk, and redo my configurations.
I probably be copying from one PC to external hard drive, and, from that hard drive, I would copy it to another one PC right?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th September 2012, 09:02 PM
oboedad55 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Amerika
Age: 59
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: How to clone one PC to another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sethanath View Post
How do I clone one machine to another?

I am about to build one new PC. That new one will be using old hardware.
I do not want to install from the installation disk since the machine I am using now, I have good configurations.

Would cloning be a better solution? If not, then I will just slide in the installation disk, and redo my configurations.
I probably be copying from one PC to external hard drive, and, from that hard drive, I would copy it to another one PC right?

Thanks.
You can use Clonezilla. I just used it to clone a hard drive and it worked great.
http://clonezilla.org/
__________________
Fedora 17, Arch Linux x86_64
Registered Linux user #436067
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone help exemplo Using Fedora 0 14th July 2008 03:00 PM
How do I clone a VM ? koridor Using Fedora 1 30th April 2008 04:23 AM
Can't clone from tar-backup in FC6 skellert EOL (End Of Life) Versions 9 6th February 2007 07:56 AM
clone hdd with dd whiteangel Using Fedora 2 11th August 2005 09:37 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:14 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Atlacomulco Photos on Instagram - Vilalba Travel Photos - Iwon-up Travel Photos