Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 8th September 2012, 04:32 AM
TuTail Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003chrome
DNS/Router

I have 4 computers hooked up to a inhome network. 1 is rj-45 hardwired, other 3 are wireless.
For some reason, all four computers can not access one site that I know exists. However, if I take out the router and plug the modem directly into a computer, it will find all of internet, including the site mentioned above.
*Trouble shooting steps attempted*

*powercycled modem & router, still same problem
*Hard reset router and got everything plugged back up, but same problem.

From cmd window, i can ping and tracert other sites, but not the one that it swears is missing.
My *guess* is that there is a dns file stuck somewhere in the router that I can not access, which I thought would work by hard-reset of it.


Thanks, in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th September 2012, 05:25 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,905
linuxfirefox
Re: DNS/Router

See if you can resolve the name via a DNS like

Quote:
[stevea@crucibulum Desktop]$ nslookup fedoraforum.org
Server: 192.168.42.1
Address: 192.168.42.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: fedoraforum.org
Address: 208.43.111.170
then see if you can nmap port 80 on the server, by IP address

Quote:
[stevea@crucibulum Desktop]$ nmap -p80 208.43.111.170

Starting Nmap 6.01 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-09-08 00:22 EDT
Nmap scan report for fedoraforum.org (208.43.111.170)
Host is up (0.046s latency).
PORT STATE SERVICE
80/tcp open http

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 0.24 seconds
[stevea@crucibulum Desktop]$
Maybe do it both ways, compare the IP addresses if any.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th September 2012, 05:45 AM
TuTail Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: DNS/Router

i did the nslookup, but my cmd window said nmap was not a valid command
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th September 2012, 07:16 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,905
linuxfirefox
Re: DNS/Router

To get the nmap command

su -
<rootpasswd>
yum install nmap
exit


But did you get the same IP fron nslookup both ways ?
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Last edited by stevea; 8th September 2012 at 07:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th September 2012, 11:41 PM
TuTail Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: DNS/Router

it doesnt know su either.

but yes, i did get the same address that I have been pinging and also that i did the ping of when i used the internet ping program.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th September 2012, 02:03 PM
TuTail Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: DNS/Router

I hard reset the router and eliminated all of the other computers and just had one pc hard cabled to the router. it seemed to go to the site just fine. But, when I redo the process (hard reset/power cycle/reconfig) none of the computers can see the web page i want to get to.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th September 2012, 10:56 AM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,905
linuxfirefox
Re: DNS/Router

Quote:
Originally Posted by TuTail View Post
it doesnt know su either.

but yes, i did get the same address that I have been pinging and also that i did the ping of when i used the internet ping program.
'su' and 'ls' and all coreutils are in the same package. - it's certainly installed.

ping sends icmp packages but we really want to see if tcp port 80 (or 443) are open. Thats why I suggested nmap.

---------- Post added at 05:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:54 AM ----------

Not sure what you mean by 'reconfigure', but this will quickly get down to a matter of you posting your router model and settings. Are you setting a domain name ?
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th September 2012, 10:01 PM
TuTail Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: DNS/Router

Reconfig means setting up the wireless. It is an SMC wireless 4 port router provided by roadrunner/time warner.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dns or router

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting linux router to Cisco router fran1942 Servers & Networking 1 24th July 2012 03:51 PM
Is this an equivalent setup? (small router + switch, big router) joe.pelayo Servers & Networking 7 25th January 2008 05:29 AM
"Advanced" Networking uestion... how to setup a Linksys WRT54G router BEHIND a router Thetargos Servers & Networking 16 15th June 2006 08:50 AM
Hardware Router vs Linux Router security exphiles Linux Chat 6 11th February 2005 08:37 AM
Adding a Wireless Router to Existing Router dheenul Servers & Networking 2 15th December 2004 10:50 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:57 (Monday, 20-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kotaparh Travel Photos - Al Hamul - Qulsary Travel Photos