Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st June 2004, 12:44 AM
lothario Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 130
How can I get my PCMCIA network card to work at boot time on Fedora C2?

Hi,

The only way I can get my PCMCIA network card to work on Fedora C2 is:
1. Ensure that the PCMCIA service starts at boot.
2. Log in as root.
3. Activate the Network Card, manually.

This also means:
a. That if the Network service starts at boot - the Network Card does not activate - even with root login.
b. That I do not get an automatic network connection when the system boots - only manual activation with root login - works.
c. That if the system reboots after a power outage, there is no network connection - until I login as root.

So the question is -
How can I get my PCMCIA network card to work at boot time?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st June 2004, 01:24 AM
ndv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 82
solution

it is not elegant, but it work nice for me

add those two lines in /etc/rc.local

modprobe yenta_socket
service pcmcia restart


nicola
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd June 2004, 03:01 PM
lothario Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 130
I tried this.

It did not work.

Do you have any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd June 2004, 05:33 PM
Jman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Minnesota, USA
Age: 28
Posts: 7,909
Run Main Menu > System Settings > Server Settings > Services. Ensure that both pcmcia and network services are enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd June 2004, 09:08 PM
JonR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wiltshire - UK
Posts: 199
pcmcia/network start order

I have a similar problem with a PCMCIA network card. On my system it starts correctly but only after the network has tried to configure eth0, failed and delayed initialisation. Once pcmcia is loaded everything works fine.

Is there any way I can delay network services start until after pcmcia has loaded (or alternatively have pcmcia load earlier in the boot)?
__________________
One man's geek is another man's guru...
Registered Linux User #363869.
i686 F8, Quad Core F10 64-bit, Core2Duo F16 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd June 2004, 05:38 AM
lothario Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 130
I already did this a few days ago - Running pcmcia AND network services does not make it work.
In fact, if I stop network service and let the pcmcia start at boot up and then manually start the (pcmcia) network device then and only then can I get my card to start and work.

If both the services run at boot time - the network tries to configure eth0, but fails and delays initialisation. If pcmcia is loaded - still the pcmcia network card will not work.

So far we all know that the network services starts before the pcmcia service.

Is there anything else I can try?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th June 2004, 08:33 PM
dreamcatalyst Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 20
Re: pcmcia/network start order

Quote:
Originally posted by JonR

Is there any way I can delay network services start until after pcmcia has loaded (or alternatively have pcmcia load earlier in the boot)?
Read about SysVinit. in /etc/rc.d there are several directories, rc0.d through rc6.d. In these directories there are symlinks to the init.d scritps responsible for controle of services. the symlinks are calld something like S10network or S24pcmcia. The number signifies the order in which the services are started. To start pcmcia before network try changing the number after the S to something smaller then the number for network in the rc3.d directory. You will also need to change several other for the reverse order in rc6.d which is the shutdown process. This can cause things in your boot process to break and i take no responsibuility for the information i have posted. I leave it to you to read about sysvinit before you change anything to make sure you dont screw anything up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th June 2004, 11:05 PM
mikebuzz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
i had the same problem and found a site that fixed it, here is what you need to do

edit
etc/init.d/pcmcia
find the line #chkconfig: 2345 24 96
change the 24 to 09
then save the file

from a terminal screen run the following

chkconfig --level 2345 pcmcia reset

then reboot the laptop and should be working

let me know how it goes
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th June 2004, 11:48 AM
blunte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Age: 43
Posts: 6
Solution

mikebuzz already offered this, but I'll offer it with slightly more detail, and reference the source I found it on.

LUG-Bulgaria 's Peter Georgiev provides these instructions:

1. Open /etc/init.d/pcmcia
2. Change the line

# chkconfig: 2345 24 96

to

# chkconfig: 2345 09 96

Yes, it’s in a comment, but it seems it has meaning to the chkconfig command (see below).
3. Execute

chkconfig --level 2345 pcmcia reset

Then reboot and all should be well.

Much thanks to donangel at his blog for documenting this in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th November 2004, 11:22 AM
gkramer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 13
Hey Guys. I seem to also be having trouble configuring my network card for Fedora (Core 2). It seemed to work in RH9 (although I think I may have needed to recompile the kernel), but it refuses to work in Fedora.
When I plug the network card in (detected by kernel as...
0000:05:00.0: 3Com PCI 3... Tornado CardBus at 0x4800. Vers LK1.1.19
... PCI: ... latency timer of 0000:05:00.0 to 64
*** Warning: IRQ 0 is unlikely to work! ***
...
the kernel outputs a string with hex numbers of length 2.
...
*** eth0: Could not reserve IRQ 0

Very simply, I'm unsure of how to move the card to another IRQ, and I am unfamiliar with what the new output format means.

Can anyone assist? I'd greatly appreciate it! :P
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th September 2006, 04:10 AM
bongmaster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by blunte
mikebuzz already offered this, but I'll offer it with slightly more detail, and reference the source I found it on.

LUG-Bulgaria 's Peter Georgiev provides these instructions:

1. Open /etc/init.d/pcmcia
2. Change the line

# chkconfig: 2345 24 96

to

# chkconfig: 2345 09 96

Yes, it’s in a comment, but it seems it has meaning to the chkconfig command (see below).
3. Execute

chkconfig --level 2345 pcmcia reset

Then reboot and all should be well.

Much thanks to donangel at his blog for documenting this in the first place.
that fixed my problem but i have to activate my eth0 manually. (its set to onboot=no)
can i have my eth0 device (pcmcia ethernet/modem card) set to onboot=yes ?
or will i have to activate it manually each time? i can change it easily
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 4th April 2007, 02:58 AM
lothario Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by lothario
Hi,

The only way I can get my PCMCIA network card to work on Fedora C2 is:
1. Ensure that the PCMCIA service starts at boot.
2. Log in as root.
3. Activate the Network Card, manually.

This also means:
a. That if the Network service starts at boot - the Network Card does not activate - even with root login.
b. That I do not get an automatic network connection when the system boots - only manual activation with root login - works.
c. That if the system reboots after a power outage, there is no network connection - until I login as root.

So the question is -
How can I get my PCMCIA network card to work at boot time?

Thanks.
I had a similar problem again.
But this time it was a on Fedora Core 4 with the 3com 3c589 PCMCIA card:

"Bringing up interface eth0: 3c589_cs device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization."

But the 3com 3c589 card is in the PCMCIA slot.
If I eject it out of the slot and push it back in, then FC4 activates it.
Then I reboot the laptop and then again:

"Bringing up interface eth0: 3c589_cs device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization."

After googling around, I came across this link:
http://www.vmware.com/community/mess...ssageID=247226

This seems to have solved my problem, as far as I can tell:
1. modprobe -a 3c589_cs
2. depmod
3. reboot

I have rebooted the laptop many times.
Don't see that message any more and the 3com card activates at boot time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, card, fedora, network, pcmcia, time, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to get PCMCIA USB card to work TimoS Hardware & Laptops 0 13th May 2008 05:18 PM
Fedora 7 hangs on boot with Audigy PCMCIA card m0tbaillie Hardware & Laptops 1 28th October 2007 09:59 PM
NWH1022 802.11b PCMCIA (PC Card) Network Card RobWilson2005 Hardware & Laptops 2 22nd April 2006 11:01 PM
will this network card work with fedora/if not then what card should i get? Dranian Hardware & Laptops 5 24th September 2005 06:49 AM
Booting with PCMCIA CD/DVD - Problems with PCMCIA network card Eth0 fedoradude72 Using Fedora 0 1st August 2004 11:07 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:44 (Thursday, 24-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat