Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th July 2012, 03:58 PM
lightman47 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central NY, USA
Posts: 576
linuxfirefox
FC17 - mounting a floppy

I've place the disk in my 1.44 floppy drive and spent about an hour trying to mount it - to no avail. Apparently, floppies are no longer /dev/fd0??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th July 2012, 04:38 PM
beaker_ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,373
linuxfirefox
Re: FC17 - mounting a floppy

Have you tried loading the module?

modprobe floppy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th July 2012, 05:05 PM
lightman47 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central NY, USA
Posts: 576
linuxfirefox
Re: FC17 - mounting a floppy

Until your suggestion, I had not. When I tried it I got almost the correct response - except it timed out. This MAY be that the drive end of the ribbon cable is reversed - I have to wait till I get a chance to power down the machine to reverse it. When installing the drive yesterday I noticed that both sides of the plug were 'keyed' and didn't know which way to plug it in.

Thank you - I am a lot further along now - at least the device is recognized and the head resets.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th July 2012, 12:35 PM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,077
linuxfirefox
Re: FC17 - mounting a floppy

Don't connect the cable upside down or the drive will erase all your floppies even if they were write protected.

You can usually tell by the floppy light which doesn't go off ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th July 2012, 02:15 PM
lightman47 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central NY, USA
Posts: 576
linuxfirefox
Re: FC17 - mounting a floppy

HA! The old "now he tells me" - LOL!!!

Actually, if they did get erased (yes, the drive light was on steady), it likely only clobbered the directory because aside from the initial reset, the head never moved much. That said, I have an old "486" with a data recovery program that I can fire up. And the contents of the disks aren't too critical - just woulda been nice to get.

Thanks
-------

Reversed the cable and now the light is truly on all the time - previously it only came on (and remained on) after the modprobe command. Obviously, I put the cable back the way it was.

Last edited by lightman47; 30th July 2012 at 09:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc17, floppy, mounting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting a floppy oblufire Hardware & Laptops 9 5th August 2008 03:28 PM
Mounting floppy kd7skx Hardware & Laptops 3 30th September 2005 02:47 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:57 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat