Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 17th July 2012, 02:09 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Hi yellowman. used the console and was able to enter su
yum erase gnome-shell

The output indicated the shell was erased. Transaction complete. Re-started and the shell is still there with NO keyboard, mouse, or icons, Back to square one. Will keep trying but a bit new here so it may get beyond what I can comprehend. Thanks for the help. Will try more ideas if we can get it to work. BTW, how would I paste an output to you with flash drive from the console. Don't know the commands and have to use the flash and then shutdown and transfer to windows. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 17th July 2012, 02:45 PM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,131
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
BTW, how would I paste an output to you with flash drive from the console. Don't know the commands and have to use the flash and then shutdown and transfer to windows. Bob
That is easier than you think.
In root (i.e. after 'su')
1) mount the flash drive on /mnt
Code:
mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt
I supposed here that you only have one hard drive.
Check that /dev/sdb1 is the flash drive using 'ls /mnt' to see the files.
If it is not the case, goto 3) to unmount, and try using /dev/sdc1.

2) copy the log or the info
Code:
cp /var/log/Xorg.0.log /mnt/
lspci -v > /mnt/lspci.log
3) unmount the flash drive
Code:
umount /mnt
That's all.
The two log files are now on the flash drive.
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17th July 2012, 04:31 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Tks Skull One. I think I can handle what you said. Now what is the next thing to do. Is it possible to fix this without having to post any output. (optimistic I guess). Bob
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17th July 2012, 04:48 PM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,131
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
Is it possible to fix this without having to post any output. (optimistic I guess). Bob
Huh????
Nobody knows what happen on your system, so we really need the requested info, at least.
Without it, one can just tell to try a night with a full moon...
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17th July 2012, 05:40 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Does the mouse work when you're using the virtual terminal (Ctrl+Alt+F2)?

It sounds like the hardware is working but X/GNOME Shell (i.e. the graphical desktop) is hung.

As SkullOne says, check /var/log/Xorg*. Also look at (or post) your ~/.xsession-errors log.

Also, did you install from the Live CD or the DVD? Have you installed updates since the original install?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 17th July 2012, 05:53 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
Tks Skull One. I think I can handle what you said. Now what is the next thing to do. Is it possible to fix this without having to post any output. (optimistic I guess).
Damn right that's optimistic!

Modern systems, even Linux, are quite complicated. There are all sorts of problems which can have very similar symptoms – and there are reasons why all those log files are created in /var/log for example. If you want our help, you must be prepared to help us to help you; we're not telepathic!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 17th July 2012, 06:25 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

I have removable HDs. They are both SATA drives. One can be mounted in the tower at a time. I have to use win 7 to communicate with you. Then shut it down, remove the win7 Hd, install the FC 17 HD and try what was suggested. Then back to win 7. And so forth.

Results from SkullOne's suggestions. After su mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt must specify the filesystem type. same with /dev/sdc1 /mnt Then unmount /mnt got command not found.

The mouse does not work in the virtual terminal Installed from a DVD Not sure how to update from the CTL+ALT+F2 terminal so no I haven't updated anything. Will take some time to go back to the FC17 HD and try what you suggest. Will keep trying. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 17th July 2012, 06:51 PM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,131
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
I have removable HDs. They are both SATA drives. One can be mounted in the tower at a time. I have to use win 7 to communicate with you. Then shut it down, remove the win7 Hd, install the FC 17 HD and try what was suggested. Then back to win 7. And so forth.

Results from SkullOne's suggestions. After su mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt must specify the filesystem type. same with /dev/sdc1 /mnt Then unmount /mnt got command not found.
It is umount, not unmount.
What is your filesystem? If it is ntfs, you need the driver.
Code:
yum install ntfs-3g
Don't you have a basic FAT32 usb stick?
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 17th July 2012, 07:49 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

sorry about unmount and not umount. The stick is almost empty and I can easily delete the files and format it with FAT32 or NTFS. No problem. Is FAT32 better? Where in the code do I specify the filesystem type? Thanks. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 17th July 2012, 08:01 PM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,131
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
sorry about unmount and not umount. The stick is almost empty and I can easily delete the files and format it with FAT32 or NTFS. No problem. Is FAT32 better? Where in the code do I specify the filesystem type? Thanks. Bob
FAT32 is not better, but it is natively supported.
For NTFS, you need to install the driver.
Normally, you do not have to specify the filesystem type. It is automatically detected, unless it is unknown by the system.
That is why I presumed your filesystem is NTFS and you had not the driver installed.
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 17th July 2012, 09:25 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Started over with the flash formatted in win7 for FAT32. Then went to FC 17 and started over after su. mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt but got the "must specify the filesystem type. same for sdc1. Step 2 from post #17 the line beginning with cp that just gave a list of other commands to use like install, list etc. the line with lspci -v gave "must specify the filesystem type." So went to #3 and typed umount /mnt That gave output of not mounted. I stopped here and hope the flash is formatted in FAT32 and if it is, why isn't it recognized. So back to square 1, or is it square 2. Try again tomorrow I think. BTW I did not try to install ntfs with yum. Hoping it is a FAT32 stick and not mounted. Starting over takes me in a circle. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 18th July 2012, 11:48 AM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,131
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjie1 View Post
Started over with the flash formatted in win7 for FAT32. Then went to FC 17 and started over after su. mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt but got the "must specify the filesystem type. same for sdc1. Step 2 from post #17 the line beginning with cp that just gave a list of other commands to use like install, list etc. the line with lspci -v gave "must specify the filesystem type." So went to #3 and typed umount /mnt That gave output of not mounted. I stopped here and hope the flash is formatted in FAT32 and if it is, why isn't it recognized. So back to square 1, or is it square 2. Try again tomorrow I think. BTW I did not try to install ntfs with yum. Hoping it is a FAT32 stick and not mounted. Starting over takes me in a circle. Bob
1). First of all, if the device is not mounted (i.e. step 1 failed), step 2 & 3 are irrelevant.

2). Identify the device corresponding to the flash drive.
It is easy. Plug your flash drive, and run the command 'dmesg'. The last lines will show you the info, for instance:
Code:
[131371.486422]  sdb: sdb1
[131371.488766] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdb] No Caching mode page present
[131371.488775] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
[131371.488782] sd 7:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk
My device is then /dev/sdb1.

3). Are you sure your filesystem is FAT32 or are you just hoping?
I have _never_ needed to specify the filesystem for this. Anyway, to do it, add the option '-t vfat' to the mount command.
By the way, you can check the filesystem with 'fdisk -l /dev/sdb'.

4).
Quote:
lspci -v gave "must specify the filesystem type."
Huh?????
Maybe your problem is deeper than what I though...

5). You can do everything in a simpler way.
Just use a livecd.
Then open the fedora drive and copy the log file /var/log/Xorg.0.log. (The one from the fedora drive, not the one from the livecd!).
You can also use lspci -v.
And report also the output of 'fdisk -l /devsda'.
I think it will be faster and more convenient for you to use this graphical interface.
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 18th July 2012, 01:26 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Wondering if it will save time if I toss the DVD and start over, get an .iso from a mirror and make another DVD, and hope it works when installed on the current HD. This would save going back and forth from Win7HD to the FC 17 HD and save you a lot of trouble replying to all these problems. I don't mind doing it. I'm assuming others can make a DVD and install it and not have this problem. What do you think?

I do appreciate all your help. Thanks. Bob
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 19th July 2012, 06:01 PM
benjie1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 245
windows_7firefox
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Tried again. Found the device of flash is sda1 Here's what I got 00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset DRAM Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Capabilities: [e0] Vendor Specific Information: Len=0c <?>
Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 43
Memory at fe400000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=4M]
Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
I/O ports at dc00 [size=8]
Expansion ROM at <unassigned> [disabled]
Capabilities: [90] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [a4] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: i915

00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Memory at fe900000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
Capabilities: [d0] Power Management version 2

00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
I/O ports at d880 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 21
I/O ports at d800 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
Memory at feafa000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Debug port: BAR=1 offset=00a0
Capabilities: [98] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 45
Memory at feaf4000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 1 (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=01, subordinate=01, sec-latency=0
I/O behind bridge: 00001000-00001fff
Memory behind bridge: f0000000-f01fffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 00000000f0200000-00000000f03fffff
Capabilities: [40] Express Root Port (Slot+), MSI 00
Capabilities: [80] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [90] Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Capabilities: [a0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [180] Root Complex Link
Kernel driver in use: pcieport

00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) PCI Express Root Port 3 (prog-if 00 [Normal decode])
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=02, subordinate=02, sec-latency=0
I/O behind bridge: 0000e000-0000efff
Memory behind bridge: feb00000-febfffff
Prefetchable memory behind bridge: 00000000fdf00000-00000000fdffffff
Capabilities: [40] Express Root Port (Slot+), MSI 00
Capabilities: [80] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [90] Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Capabilities: [a0] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [180] Root Complex Link
Kernel driver in use: pcieport

00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
I/O ports at d400 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 19
I/O ports at d080 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (prog-if 00 [UHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
I/O ports at d000 [size=32]
Capabilities: [50] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd

00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (prog-if 20 [EHCI])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 23
Memory at feaf8000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Debug port: BAR=1 offset=00a0
Capabilities: [98] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd

00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 90) (prog-if 01 [Subtractive decode])
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
Bus: primary=00, secondary=03, subordinate=03, sec-latency=32
Capabilities: [50] Subsystem: Dell Device 0439

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801JIR (ICH10R) LPC Interface Controller
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0
Capabilities: [e0] Vendor Specific Information: Len=0c <?>

00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SATA AHCI Controller (prog-if 01 [AHCI 1.0])
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 0, IRQ 42
I/O ports at cc00 [size=8]
I/O ports at c880 [size=4]
I/O ports at c800 [size=8]
I/O ports at c480 [size=4]
I/O ports at c400 [size=32]
Memory at feaf2000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=2K]
Capabilities: [80] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/16 Maskable- 64bit-
Capabilities: [70] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [a8] SATA HBA v1.0
Capabilities: [b0] PCI Advanced Features
Kernel driver in use: ahci

00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) SMBus Controller
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 18
Memory at feaf0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=256]
I/O ports at 0400 [size=32]
Kernel driver in use: i801_smbus

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Dell Device 0439
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 44
I/O ports at e800 [size=256]
Memory at fdfff000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
Memory at fdff8000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=16K]
Expansion ROM at febe0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 01
Capabilities: [ac] MSI-X: Enable- Count=4 Masked-
Capabilities: [cc] Vital Product Data
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [140] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-00-00-68-4c-e0-00
Kernel driver in use: r8169

This was from lspci -v > /mnt/lspci.log
Tried cp /var/log/Xorg.0.log /mnt/ but nothing on the flash drive after umount /mnt
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19th July 2012, 06:35 PM
Skull One Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lost...
Posts: 1,131
linuxredhatmozilla
Re: FC 17 has only splash screen

Good point!
It is weird that the flash drive is /dev/sda, since it means it is the first disk...
Anyway, the log file of the X server is really important to check.
You must have a file /var/log/Xorg.<something>
You can try to copy everything that match:
Code:
cp  /var/log/Xorg.*  /mnt/
__________________
:confused:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
screen, splash

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splash Screen f14 ablyall Using Fedora 2 4th February 2011 11:30 AM
Splash Screen Jamwa Using Fedora 2 5th February 2010 12:01 AM
Splash screen (?) won't go away.... jpopesku Using Fedora 2 6th November 2006 05:31 PM
GRUB screen instead of install splash screen varelg Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 8th June 2006 03:19 AM
splash screen freddye Using Fedora 4 28th November 2004 12:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:31 (Thursday, 31-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat