Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th June 2012, 12:52 PM
Carrot Cruncher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 119
linuxfirefox
hdmi/tv display problem

i've got a desktop and laptop both running fc17 and the latest nvidia drivers from the rpmfusion repo, both of which have hdmi out ports. i've tried to connect them to my tv and use it as a second display. i experience the same issue on both. the tv is recognised in the Xorg log, see :
http://pastebin.com/5ta5SYMV
but things like xrandr and the gnome display manager don't show the display. do i still have to manually create an xorg.conf file these days or should it be auto detected ?

lspci:
Code:
laptop 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G96 [GeForce 9600M GT] (rev a1)
desktop 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
xrandr from laptop (deskop is similar output) :
Code:
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 175, current 1366 x 768, maximum 1366 x 768
default connected 1366x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   1366x768       50.0* 
   1024x768       51.0     52.0  
   832x624        53.0  
   800x600        54.0     55.0     56.0     57.0     58.0  
   720x400        59.0  
   700x525        60.0  
   640x512        61.0     62.0  
   640x480        63.0     64.0     65.0     66.0     67.0  
   640x400        68.0  
   640x350        69.0  
   576x432        70.0  
   512x384        71.0     72.0     73.0     74.0     75.0  
   416x312        76.0  
   400x300        77.0     78.0     79.0     80.0     81.0  
   360x200        82.0  
   320x240        83.0     84.0     85.0     86.0  
   320x200        87.0  
   320x175        88.0
nvidia packages :
Code:
kmod-nvidia-295.59-1.fc17.2.x86_64
kmod-nvidia-3.4.3-1.fc17.x86_64-295.59-1.fc17.2.x86_64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th June 2012, 01:49 PM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 9,041
linuxfirefox
Re: hdmi/tv display problem

Your xrandr output should list every supported interface on your graphics device like ....

Quote:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
1920x1080 60.0*+ 50.0
1400x1050 60.0
1280x1024 60.0
1280x960 60.0
1024x768 60.0
800x600 60.3 56.2
640x480 59.9
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
So unless your driver has some tweak, it can't see or doesn't support hdmi.
Try another driver for tests.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2012, 09:18 PM
Carrot Cruncher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 119
linuxfirefox
Re: hdmi/tv display problem

did some further investigation and it would appear that the latest stable proprietary nvidia drivers don't support xrandr. the latest beta does but only xrandr 1.2. i've used their nvidia-settings tool and while i can use this to enable the hdmi out successfully, if i save the config to xorg.conf it messes up gnome following a x server restart. xorg.conf contains :
Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 295.53  (mockbuild@builder1.ovh.rpmfusion.lan)  Tue May 22 21:10:13 CEST 2012

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 1920 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "ViewSonic VP2650wb"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 92.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CYP HDMI-DA"
    HorizSync       13.0 - 46.0
    VertRefresh     23.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 430"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 430"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1920x1080 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
this is, as created by the nvidia-settings tool, with the two :
Code:
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
lines added to ensure the correct glx module is loaded.

having thought about this some more, i'm not sure what i'm trying to achieve is even possible. basically, when the desktop boots i want the primary display to be used as a standard desktop logging into gnome via gdm, etc. but i also want a service to start that will run an application as a specific app user and output it's display via the hdmi out. as a simple test, if i export DISPLAY to be :0.1 and run xterm it works fine as root but as the app user i get :
xterm: Xt error: Can't open display: :0.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2012, 10:10 AM
george_toolan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,080
linuxfirefox
Re: hdmi/tv display problem

This user isn't allowed to connect to your X-Server. He would have to authenticate himself somehow and say "Carrot sent me". Try
Code:
man xauth
Root on the other hand is able to read your MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE from /var/run/gdm/auth-for-carrot-*/database or whereever it's placed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2012, 03:35 PM
Carrot Cruncher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 119
linuxfirefox
Re: hdmi/tv display problem

resolved the xauth problem. not sure why it came as a surprise to me as i've hit this before. app starts successfully. now the next issue, i want to use different input (keyboard/mouse) devices for the app than i do for the default desktop. having done some reading it seems that having a multiseat config is the only way to do this. i've created the following xorg.conf :

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen         "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    Option         "AutoEnableDevices" "off"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "off"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout1"
    Screen         "Screen1" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    Option         "AutoEnableDevices" "off"
    Option         "AutoAddDevices" "off"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "Keyboard0"
    Driver          "evdev"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/event3"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-path/pci-0000:00:1d.0-usb-0:1.1:1.2-event-kbd"  
    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-id/usb-Logitech_USB_Receiver-event-kbd"
    Option          "xkb_rules" "evdev"
    Option          "xkb_model" "evdev"
    Option          "xkb_layout" "gb"
    Option          "GrabDevice" "on" # prevent send event to other X-servers
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "Keyboard1"
    Driver          "evdev"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/event5"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-path/pci-0000:00:1d.0-usb-0:1.8:1.0-event"  
    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-id/usb-Philips_eHome_Infrared_Transceiver_PH00KzbR-event-if00"
    Option          "xkb_rules" "evdev"
    Option          "xkb_model" "evdev"
    Option          "xkb_layout" "gb"
    Option          "GrabDevice" "on" # prevent send event to other X-servers
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "Mouse0"
    Driver          "evdev"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/event2"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-path/pci-0000:00:1d.0-usb-0:1.1:1.2-event-mouse"
    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-id/usb-Logitech_USB_Receiver-event-mouse"
    Option          "GrabDevice" "on"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier      "Mouse1"
    Driver          "evdev"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/event5"
#    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-path/pci-0000:00:1d.0-usb-0:1.8:1.0-event"
    Option          "Device" "/dev/input/by-id/usb-Philips_eHome_Infrared_Transceiver_PH00KzbR-event-if00"
    Option          "GrabDevice" "on"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "ViewSonic VP2650wb"
    HorizSync       31.0 - 92.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CYP HDMI-DA"
    HorizSync       13.0 - 46.0
    VertRefresh     23.0 - 61.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 430"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GT 430"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-1: 1920x1080 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
but when i start the second x server using :

/usr/bin/Xorg :1 -layout Layout1 -nolisten tcp &

the signal to the primary screen must get disabled as the monitor goes blank and goes into standby. i'm not sure if this because i'm only using one graphics card.

anyone know how to have two independent x displays running concurrently, using different input devices, via different outputs on the same card ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
display, hdmi or tv, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 2.6.42.3-2 HDMI problem XqG3X Hardware & Laptops 8 28th February 2012 08:27 PM
HDMI Video Output on F14 - HDMI Does Not Appear As Option thunderwinde Using Fedora 10 17th February 2011 07:44 AM
[SOLVED] Fedora 14 - No HDMI port detected/No display fdnbgonds Hardware & Laptops 4 9th December 2010 05:19 AM
F11 display resolution with HDMI xprezons Using Fedora 11 19th August 2010 11:15 PM
Problem Fedora 10 and TV HDMI guillermo.briz Using Fedora 0 2nd January 2009 12:42 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:51 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram