Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd May 2012, 01:42 AM
parth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 28
linuxfirefox
Lightbulb Thundrbird between f16 and win7

I recently shifted to f16 from Ubuntu, and am working my around it. I have an dual-booted my laptop with win7. Thunderbird is what I use in windows for emails. Is there any way I can have the same emails between both the OSes, I remember doing it in ubuntu by pointing the client in both the OSes to the same locations. But it never really worked out as thunderbird refused to open in ubuntu after a while giving an error..I want to know is there any way I can do it in f16?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd May 2012, 02:44 AM
Doug G Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
windows_7firefox
Re: Thundrbird between f16 and win7

The easiest way is to use IMAP, then the mail resides on the server and you can see it from any IMAP mail client. That's what I do with thunderbird on both windows and linux (and my smartphone).
__________________
======
Doug G
======
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd May 2012, 05:19 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,771
linuxfirefox
Re: Thundrbird between f16 and win7

IMAP is definitely the best solution. Theoretically, you could think use rsync between the .thunderbird folders of linux and windows. But, I envisage that to be a huge hassle!

Once, I tried the same folder with windows and Fedora and it worked quite well. So, I am not sure what the problem was in your case ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd May 2012, 08:31 AM
parth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 28
linuxfirefox
Re: Thundrbird between f16 and win7

Currently in windows im using IMAP and i have emails on my pc, but is it because I have enabled offline messages option?

@Doug G: So it means that using IMAP, changes like read/unread emails will reflect on all the devices right?

@nonamedotc: I shall try both the options..

Thanks for the replies! I shall try it out and post what happens
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd May 2012, 10:41 AM
zuser Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 76
linuxchrome
Re: Thundrbird between f16 and win7

It is actually fairly easy to do, as I have done it for several years using win7 and various Linux distros. I setup a fat32 partition to use as a common storage area for both systems. Copy the Thunderbird profile files for either installation to a folder on the fat32 partition and change account setting in T'bird to point to the new location.

Assuming you did this for the Linux installation, reboot to win7 and edit account settings to change profile name to that from the Linux account and set path to profile on the fat32 partition.

The above explanation is generally correct albeit some detail missing.

The nice aspect is it works the same for pop or imap, makes no difference.

Last edited by zuser; 22nd May 2012 at 10:43 AM. Reason: add note
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th June 2012, 06:16 AM
parth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 28
linuxchrome
Re: Thundrbird between f16 and win7

So what i did is, auto-mounted my win partition each time f16 started and just pointed the t'bird to the windows location.

But a few days back i got an error i was dreading, i faced it last time i tried this with ubuntu, only this time i faced it in windows instead of linux.

When i fireup t'bird in win7 it gives an error, an instance of t'bird is already running. When in fact there is no process running. So t'bird has simply stopped responding in w7, but it works fine in f16...so far i.e
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f16, thundrbird, win7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win7/Fed 14 install TommyGuns Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream 4 23rd May 2011 03:37 AM
Internet No Worky from F14, but I can ssh to the box from win7 ruusvuu Using Fedora 4 8th April 2011 10:03 PM
Fedora with win7 foxhound Using Fedora 3 23rd August 2010 06:16 PM
Win7 ( Installed ) + F13 Gnoll Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 29th May 2010 12:23 AM
grub/win7 pk28831 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 14th August 2009 04:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:53 (Tuesday, 16-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat