Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream The place for you to submit reviews of all those applications you use with Fedora. The Devs probably aren't listening, but some times you've just GOT to blow off steam or sing its praises.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd May 2012, 10:16 PM
jiangshi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
That @#^&*! Grub2

[RANT - 1]

For those of us that dual boot, changing the boot order in grub2 is problematic to say the least!! For a task that is done so much by users, one would think that grub developers would give us a SIMPLE method for changing the boot order.

Yes, I know, there are some command-line methods, and after 2 hours of trial and error, I finally found one that worked.

Dear Fedora developers, PLEASE find/create a gui tool for managing boot order that can be included with the system tools.

[/rant - 1]

[RANT - 2]

I want only ONE kernel and its rescue, not two or more! Yum does not seem to know how to delete the extra one - two are being listed by grub2. In a perfect world, a kernel upgrade/update would ask the user if they want to keep the older version/patch.

[/rant - 2]

~jiangshi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd May 2012, 10:44 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,216
linuxmidori
Re: That @#^&*! Grub2

This might help.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=278536

For the kernel numbers, edit the installonly line in yum.config to suit your desires.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th May 2012, 12:05 AM
jiangshi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: That @#^&*! Grub2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
This might help.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=278536

For the kernel numbers, edit the installonly line in yum.config to suit your desires.
Thank you for your reply!

The link goes to a discussion about changing grub themes. And Yum gets an out-of-range error if I set the installonly to 1. I guess I can live with two kernels being listed.

~jiangshi
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th May 2012, 12:08 AM
pete_1967 Online
Clueless in a Cuckooland
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here now, elsewhere tomorrow.
Posts: 4,273
linuxfirefox
Re: That @#^&*! Grub2

Wait until the update has borked kernel, or bits and bobs break because of new kernel (video drivers are notorious for that) and you'll be happy that you got the older, working one, available.
__________________
A Drink is Not Just For Christmas - SaskyCom :thumb:


“Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime” so now go and...
RTFM FIRST: http://docs.fedoraproject.org/ & http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th May 2012, 12:48 PM
jiangshi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: That @#^&*! Grub2

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete_1967 View Post
Wait until the update has borked kernel, or bits and bobs break because of new kernel (video drivers are notorious for that) and you'll be happy that you got the older, working one, available.
Yes, that is true. And much of the updating is just for the sake of updating. Actually, the real issue is with grub2 (mine is 1.99). The current trend in application development seems to be adding more complexity rather than streamling functionality. MS has made this mistake in spades, and sadly, so have the Linux desktop developers, especially Gnome and KDE. I want fewer clicks not more. The grub team says the old code is unmaintainable - fine, but do not make the new code MORE obtuse to the user.

Thank you for your response.

~jiangshi
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th May 2012, 12:50 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,278
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: That @#^&*! Grub2

GRUB2 is the same as GRUB 1.99.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Grub2, dev modifications from satndard grub2 install jakebpg Using Fedora 16 9th March 2012 08:39 AM
Grub2 Geval Using Fedora 2 16th November 2011 01:31 AM
F16 and grub2 drnetsys F16 Development 1 7th October 2011 04:03 AM
[SOLVED] Help with GRUB2/MBR, Please sharp Using Fedora 0 26th July 2011 03:06 PM
Grub2 Help dhess31 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 30th May 2010 05:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:16 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat