Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd April 2012, 10:37 PM
bob p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

I've run into some trouble trying to upgrade F15 to F16. Please forgive me if there is an obvious solution to this problem, I wasn't able to find it.

I follow the recommended path for upgrading from F15 to F16 that's located here:

https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Upgra...g_yum_directly

When I issue this command:

Code:
yum --releasever=16 --disableplugin=presto distro-sync
I get the following error:

Code:
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Package: 6:kdeutils-libs-4.6.5-2.fc15.i686 (@updates/15)
           Requires: kdeutils = 6:4.6.5-2.fc15
           Removing: 6:kdeutils-4.6.5-2.fc15.i686 (@updates/15)
               kdeutils = 6:4.6.5-2.fc15
           Updated By: 6:kdeutils-4.8.1-1.fc16.noarch (updates)
               kdeutils = 6:4.8.1-1.fc16
           Available: 6:kdeutils-4.7.2-1.fc16.i686 (fedora)
               kdeutils = 6:4.7.2-1.fc16
 You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
 You could try running: rpm -Va --nofiles --nodigest
The suggested workarounds don't seem to help.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th April 2012, 04:58 AM
sidebrnz Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 64
Posts: 2,558
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

Why don't you try installing and using preupgrade instead? You may well find that it does a better job as it's specifically designed for the task.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th April 2012, 10:25 PM
bob p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

I have no clue what you're referring to. What is preupgrade?
I don't want to wipe the system and perform a complete reinstall.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th April 2012, 10:31 PM
sidebrnz Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 64
Posts: 2,558
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

Preupgrade is a Fedora program that downloads everything needed for an upgrade and sets up a special menu item in Grub, while you go on about your computing business. After it's done, you can reboot into the special upgrade kernel and your system will do what's needed. To install it, us this as root:

yum install preupgrade

When it's finished installing it, invoke it from a terminal and let it work.
__________________
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th April 2012, 12:24 AM
bob p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

thanks. while I was away, I gooled a bit, found preupgrade, installed it, and ran it.

the upgrade failed.

everything worked fine in the GUI, as far as downloading the files goes. when it came time to reboot, I'm stuck with a blank screen with nothing more than a cursor at line 0 column 0, and a disk light that stays on.

seems like this method doesn't work any better than the one i tried earlier. pretty frustrating.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th April 2012, 12:24 AM
Dutchy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 975
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

The guide that you are referring to worked fine for me.
Do you use KDE? If not, try to delete kdeutils-libs and then do the upgrade again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th April 2012, 12:31 AM
bob p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

I am using KDE.

Just to clarify my previous point -- when prompted by the GUI to reboot, I rebooted and got stuck with the blank screen and the constantly on disk LED. when it was evident that things were broken, I rebooted.

on a reboot, GRUB is working. A new option, Upgrade to F16 (Verne) has been added as the first selection, and the other (old) selections remain below. These selections still work properly. It's only if I choose the new option, Upgrade to F16, that things lock up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th April 2012, 02:55 AM
bob p Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 76
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

Time to bump
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th April 2012, 10:13 PM
duende Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 97
linuxfirefox
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob p View Post
I am using KDE.

Just to clarify my previous point -- when prompted by the GUI to reboot, I rebooted and got stuck with the blank screen and the constantly on disk LED. when it was evident that things were broken, I rebooted.

on a reboot, GRUB is working. A new option, Upgrade to F16 (Verne) has been added as the first selection, and the other (old) selections remain below. These selections still work properly. It's only if I choose the new option, Upgrade to F16, that things lock up.
The preupgrade kernel takes a VERY long time to start, it takes a few minutes before it starts showing anything different from a blinking cursor. Have you tried to leave the computer on for longer?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th April 2012, 10:40 PM
coozoo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ukraine, Vinnitsya
Posts: 25
linuxopera
Re: Problem Upgrading from F15 to F16

Forget about gui oriented "user friendly" preupgrade. Just uninstall this broken packeges, if you want to do that under kde make your upgrade in the same session without reboots. I've did it in the same way belive me it works fine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f15, f16, problem, upgrading

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem while upgrading from f14 dhirajhazra F16 Development 15 25th May 2011 02:51 PM
upgrading from fc5 to fc6 problem i_gabr_2003 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 20th October 2006 07:25 AM
FC4->FC5 problem in upgrading using yum ravikumar Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 3rd October 2006 02:09 AM
Problem Upgrading FC4 to FC5 from DVD vogelap EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 1st May 2006 07:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:41 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat