Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 28th March 2012, 11:43 PM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,910
linuxfirefox
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

"single" on the grub line probably doesn't work anymore - you need to add ....

"systemd.unit=rescue.target" or "1"
or else
"systemd.unit=emergency.target" to get right to the shell.

--

You need to debug systemd ....
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/How_to...stemd_problems
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28th March 2012, 11:49 PM
Carfax Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 27
windows_7chrome
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Quote:
Originally Posted by secipolla View Post
This won't help in this issue. But I'm new to Fedora and I think that it's adopting grub2 only now.
I can go into edit mode but the cursor appears misaligned to its actual place and I couldn't edit what I wanted. Another custom entry I added (for Puppy Linux frugal mode) just made the system reboot without grub giving any errors.
I'm using in-development F17 but I'm thinking that maybe your errors are GRUB's fault. So if you could by means of a live-CD install GRUB legacy maybe it would work.

I noticed that Fedora's grub2 uses some quite different configuration to Debian's, like it has a bunch of settings in its boot line. So while I used grub2 since almost when it came out, I haven't understood yet how Fedora configures it.

P.S. but the difference may come from the LVM setup that I never used before.
I use an LVM setup so i guess maybe those are the differences. However i think i'll still wait around a bit for any other advice someone might have before reinstalling GRUB legacy. Thanks a lot for the help though
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2nd April 2012, 02:54 PM
Carfax Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 27
unknownsafari
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevea View Post
"single" on the grub line probably doesn't work anymore - you need to add ....

"systemd.unit=rescue.target" or "1"
or else
"systemd.unit=emergency.target" to get right to the shell.

--

You need to debug systemd ....
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/How_to...stemd_problems
I'm afraid neither single or systemd.unit work for me. Is there any possible way I can reinstall the Os without losing my files and settings, like in windows?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2nd April 2012, 03:08 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 2,771
linuxfirefox
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carfax View Post
Is there any possible way I can reinstall the Os without losing my files and settings, like in windows?
Did you create a separate home partition when you first installed? It's a good idea to, and this in one of the benefits: you can tell the installation program to mount the existing home partition on /home without reformatting it. Then, as long as you keep the same user names, and create them in the same order, it should work fine.

If you haven't got a separate home partition though, it's more difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2nd April 2012, 04:32 PM
Carfax Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 27
unknownsafari
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Unfortunately I didn't create a seperate partition.. I'm kinda doomed I guess. And btw I finally got acces to rescue, what would be the next advised step please?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2nd April 2012, 04:43 PM
goodfella Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SFBay Area
Posts: 81
linuxfirefox
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

If you downloaded the ISO image for dvd:
boot from the dvd and try the repair option.

What I would do is boot from the dvd and get into recovery mode. You can probe
around see what does not look right. To my knowledge the 3.3 kernel was never
marked stable at kernel.org. But I have used it with out any problems.

Last edited by goodfella; 2nd April 2012 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 3rd April 2012, 06:13 PM
Carfax Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 27
windows_7chrome
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodfella View Post
If you downloaded the ISO image for dvd:
boot from the dvd and try the repair option.

What I would do is boot from the dvd and get into recovery mode. You can probe
around see what does not look right. To my knowledge the 3.3 kernel was never
marked stable at kernel.org. But I have used it with out any problems.
I'd really really be grateful if you could let me know a few commands that might repair or sort out this issue
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 4th April 2012, 01:54 AM
goodfella Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SFBay Area
Posts: 81
linuxfirefox
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

boot the Fedora ISO dvd and try the repair mode.
If that fails then boot to a command prompt and type "startx".
If you get a failure message you might be able to look in some
log files to see what the problem is. Get ready for an education.

BTW, kernel 3.3.1 has been marked stable as of yesterday.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12th April 2012, 11:05 AM
pslusarczyk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Krakow
Posts: 6
linuxchrome
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

What command should I do i repair mode?
Cause i have simillar, few days ago my pc with F16 hang up, so i poweroff my pc. After that i can't boot in any kernel.
During starting service system freeze. I already tried using fsck and it show that everything is fine, and i also tried boot pc with options noacpi, nolapic etc. I can boot pc in rescue mode.
On my pc kernel is in v 3.3.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12th April 2012, 08:50 PM
Carfax Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 27
unknownsafari
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Quote:
Originally Posted by pslusarczyk View Post
What command should I do i repair mode?
Cause i have simillar, few days ago my pc with F16 hang up, so i poweroff my pc. After that i can't boot in any kernel.
During starting service system freeze. I already tried using fsck and it show that everything is fine, and i also tried boot pc with options noacpi, nolapic etc. I can boot pc in rescue mode.
On my pc kernel is in v 3.3.0.4
Same question I've been waiting for someone to answer all this while. I gave up anyway. Will just wait for the final Fc17 release and then reinstall
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 13th April 2012, 12:21 AM
stejfish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Carfax, I had a similar problem with Fedora 16 not booting after the upgrade to the 3.3.0 kernel, though I was able to continue booting the system using the previous kernel (3.2.9). Not an expert on this, but it seems the problem was that the ramdisk (initramfs-*) file in /boot was not created for the 3.3.0 kernel when the update was performed using yum. to fix it, I ran the dracut command as root in /boot directory as follows:

dracut initramfs-3.3.0-4.fc16.x86_64.img 3.3.0-4.fc16.x86_64

not sure if it's necessary, but I ran the following after the dracut command:

grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

after running these commands, the 3.3.0 kernel was able to boot.

Now you said that you were not able to boot the system using the previous kernels (by default, fedora keeps previous two kernels), so before running the above commands, obviously you have to figure out how to get your system running, perhaps you can use a LiveCD to boot the system.

IIRC, the update to the 3.3.1 kernel through yum worked without having to do the above.

hope that helps,
stejfish
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 13th April 2012, 12:54 AM
goodfella Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SFBay Area
Posts: 81
linuxfirefox
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

Eaiser way:

#su -
#/sbin/mkinitrd /boot/initrd-3.3.0-4.fc16.x86_64.img 3.3.0-4
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 14th April 2012, 05:20 PM
pslusarczyk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Krakow
Posts: 6
linuxchrome
Re: Loading Initial Ramdisk Fail......

The same error after using new ramdisk. I think it can't help cause after one hang up, from any of three kernel i can't boot so i is not releated with one kernel or ramdisk.

I also wait till relase F17 Beta
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fail, initial, loading, ramdisk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] After last kernel update, boot freezes "Loading initial ramdisk" saqer Using Fedora 11 12th April 2012 04:21 PM
Initial RAMDISK problem when boot slack008 Using Fedora 2 14th January 2012 05:25 PM
ramdisk robzane Using Fedora 7 13th May 2009 04:03 PM
Fail loading second stage bootstrap lynnejohn Mac Chat 4 1st March 2008 03:43 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:07 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Welwyn Garden City Photos on Instagram - Malmesbury - La Presa Travel Photos on Instagram