Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th March 2012, 01:48 PM
ArtKun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Noyabrsk, Russia
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

My hardware is:
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE, C2D E8500, GeForce GTX 550 Ti.

The problem is that with kernel newer than 3.2 (including 3.3 in Fedora 17), my system doesn't boot at all. I'm using nouveau and have no proprietary nvidia modules installed.
With 3.2, I'm getting nothing but "Loading initial ramdisk" on the screen, but HDD LED is blinking and when I press the Power button on my PC, the system turns off as it's supposed to.
But with 3.3 (in Fedora 17 and Ubuntu 12.04 with Canonical patched kernel), the system doesn't boot at all. After "Loading initial ramdisk" the monitor turns off, and nothing happens. HDD doesn't do anything.
This happens even without xf86-video-nouveau installed (i've tried Arch).

With kernel 3.1.9, my graphics card still works perfect, with a good 3D acceleration. GNOME 3 works perfect too.

I'm sorry for my English.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2012, 05:48 AM
dragon1976 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denton,Tx
Age: 37
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Very frusterating........I too purchased a gtx550ti graphics card ...has issues with 2.0 kernel

---------- Post added at 11:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:48 PM ----------

i ment 3.0 kernel
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd March 2012, 06:11 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtKun View Post
My hardware is:
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE, C2D E8500, GeForce GTX 550 Ti.

The problem is that with kernel newer than 3.2 (including 3.3 in Fedora 17), my system doesn't boot at all. I'm using nouveau and have no proprietary nvidia modules installed.
With 3.2, I'm getting nothing but "Loading initial ramdisk" on the screen, but HDD LED is blinking and when I press the Power button on my PC, the system turns off as it's supposed to.
But with 3.3 (in Fedora 17 and Ubuntu 12.04 with Canonical patched kernel), the system doesn't boot at all. After "Loading initial ramdisk" the monitor turns off, and nothing happens. HDD doesn't do anything.
This happens even without xf86-video-nouveau installed (i've tried Arch).

With kernel 3.1.9, my graphics card still works perfect, with a good 3D acceleration. GNOME 3 works perfect too.

I'm sorry for my English.
interesting you say this i have the very same card, an all i get is Garbled Graphix right where GDM should load. but i also get a DRM Nouveau error with it

Fedora16 loads fine, F17 doesnt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd March 2012, 06:17 AM
Evil_Bert Offline
Retired Again - Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ustraya
Posts: 3,177
linuxchrome
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

I have the same card. No issues with Scientific Linux 6.2 using kernel 2.6.32, but I've yet to try F17 on it.
__________________
Marching to the beat of his own conundrum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th March 2012, 07:08 PM
vovan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hoofddorp
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Bert View Post
I have the same card. No issues with Scientific Linux 6.2 using kernel 2.6.32, but I've yet to try F17 on it.
This is an issue with upgrating the kernel to 3.3.* branch.,. Your post sounds strange, please read the subject.

---------- Post added at 07:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:01 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtKun View Post
My hardware is:
ASUS P5KPL-AM SE, C2D E8500, GeForce GTX 550 Ti.

The problem is that with kernel newer than 3.2 (including 3.3 in Fedora 17), my system doesn't boot at all. I'm using nouveau and have no proprietary nvidia modules installed.
With 3.2, I'm getting nothing but "Loading initial ramdisk" on the screen, but HDD LED is blinking and when I press the Power button on my PC, the system turns off as it's supposed to.
But with 3.3 (in Fedora 17 and Ubuntu 12.04 with Canonical patched kernel), the system doesn't boot at all. After "Loading initial ramdisk" the monitor turns off, and nothing happens. HDD doesn't do anything.
This happens even without xf86-video-nouveau installed (i've tried Arch).

With kernel 3.1.9, my graphics card still works perfect, with a good 3D acceleration. GNOME 3 works perfect too.

I'm sorry for my English.
Actually I have the same issue. I don't think it's related to your card, but, most likely, to kms with nouveau (yep I'm using nouveau too). Personally I don't use Fedora, but just vanilla kernel and with vanilla kernel 3.3 my system won't boot. Almost instantly after I select a menu entry in bootloader I'm getting corrupted/flashing screen and nothing more. Everything works as expected with 3.2.* and even more: if I boot 3.2.* kernel I'm able successfully kexec to 3.3. However normal (cold/hot)reboot doesn't work...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th March 2012, 07:29 PM
ArtKun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Noyabrsk, Russia
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

I've sent bug reports:

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42876
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=785221

But unfortunately there's no answer from developers.
Now I'm using proprietary driver with kernel 3.3 and it works fine. I hope this problem will be fixed before F17 release, because nouveau worked better in GNOME 3 for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th March 2012, 11:46 AM
vovan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hoofddorp
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtKun View Post
I've sent bug reports:

https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42876
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=785221

But unfortunately there's no answer from developers.
Now I'm using proprietary driver with kernel 3.3 and it works fine. I hope this problem will be fixed before F17 release, because nouveau worked better in GNOME 3 for me.
Most likely here is the solution.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th March 2012, 12:57 PM
AlanSac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

I had a similar problem and found good ideas at
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Nouveau

I also have a 550TI card. My solution was to verify that there was a kmod-nvidia module for my kernel. Downloaded this module, then edited the etc/modprobe.d file to blacklist nouveau. Rebooted, and everything worked. The above website made me comfortable with this, since I knew how to get back to nouveau.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th March 2012, 01:18 PM
vovan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hoofddorp
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanSac View Post
I had a similar problem and found good ideas at
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Nouveau

I also have a 550TI card. My solution was to verify that there was a kmod-nvidia module for my kernel. Downloaded this module, then edited the etc/modprobe.d file to blacklist nouveau. Rebooted, and everything worked. The above website made me comfortable with this, since I knew how to get back to nouveau.
Sorry, but did you read the original post??? The system CAN NOT BOOT... that means you can't do anything (there's no shell at _all_)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th March 2012, 01:32 PM
AlanSac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Boot in Recovery Mode - use your installation DVD and choose troubleshoot. It will eventually take you to a terminal screen. chroot /mnt/sysimage gives you access to your file system. Hope this helps - finding the cure and fixing are sometimes a real challenge!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th March 2012, 01:38 PM
vovan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hoofddorp
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanSac View Post
Boot in Recovery Mode - use your installation DVD and choose troubleshoot. It will eventually take you to a terminal screen. chroot /mnt/sysimage gives you access to your file system. Hope this helps - finding the cure and fixing are sometimes a real challenge!
Sorry again, but your post isn't relevant to the problem the author describes in the original post (please read carefully!). There's a kernel regression between 3.2.11 and 3.2.12 which causes kernel panic during ASPM initialization on a very early boot. There's nothing wrong with nvidia/nouveau drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th March 2012, 01:46 PM
leepaul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by vovan View Post
Sorry again, but your post isn't relevant to the problem the author describes in the original post (please read carefully!). There's a kernel regression between 3.2.11 and 3.2.12 which causes kernel panic during ASPM initialization on a very early boot. There's nothing wrong with nvidia/nouveau drivers.
Fixed in kernel-3.3.0-8.fc16

https://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/...buildID=310421

Quote:
* Thu Mar 29 2012 Josh Boyer <jwboyer@redhat.com> - 3.3.0-8
- Drop __cpuinitdata on disable_nx for x86_32 (rhbz 808075)
- iwl{wifi,legacy}: Fix warnings on remove interface from Stanislaw Gruszka (rhbz 770467)

* Wed Mar 28 2012 Josh Boyer <jwboyer@redhat.com>
- Fix disabled ASPM regression
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th March 2012, 01:49 PM
vovan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Hoofddorp
Posts: 5
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

@leepaul: Thanks for posting updates, looks good! I don't use fedora, so I had to patch kernel myself (not a big deal...).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2nd April 2012, 12:55 AM
dragon1976 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denton,Tx
Age: 37
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

My solution was to go to http://www.geforce.com/drivers/beta-legacy
select the 500 series!!!
choose either 32//64 bit depending on your system
you will have to manually install it in init 3
before you install make sure you have gcc & binutils kernel-devel installed in my case i just
yum groupinstall "Development Tools" then I installed my driver for the GTX550ti graphics card!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2nd April 2012, 09:16 AM
ArtKun Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Noyabrsk, Russia
Posts: 9
linuxchrome
Re: System doesn't boot with GTX 550 Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragon1976 View Post
My solution was to go to http://www.geforce.com/drivers/beta-legacy
select the 500 series!!!
choose either 32//64 bit depending on your system
you will have to manually install it in init 3
before you install make sure you have gcc & binutils kernel-devel installed in my case i just
yum groupinstall "Development Tools" then I installed my driver for the GTX550ti graphics card!!!
Yesterday the latest 295.33 had been pushed to the rpmfusion's "updates-nonfree", it works fine for me. There is no point in installing it manually anymore
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
550, boot, fermi, geforce, gtx, kernel, nouveau, nvidia

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple boot system not able to boot fedora: blinking cursor appears anacleto Using Fedora 5 28th July 2010 04:23 PM
Fresh install Dual boot system-boot selection problem sachin3237 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 5th March 2010 05:01 PM
How to increase the boot selection time in dual boot system mohitgoyal Using Fedora 3 4th March 2010 04:25 PM
Help! F9 system updated; now system won't boot dwhitney67 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 18th June 2008 07:58 PM
where to put boot record on FC5/XP dual boot system? hm4288 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 26th March 2006 05:48 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:03 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat