Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 29th May 2004, 09:00 PM
obijuan Offline

Flash Audio Problems on FC2 w/ Intel AC97

I know getting audio compatibility w/ Fedora 2 was a problem for many people. Other than the fact that Alsa was defaulted to a zero volume, my system was automatically configured correctly.

However, I'm using an 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller. Uses the i810_audio module according to my "Soundcard Detection" utility.

All sound works except for the MP3 soundtracks which are so prevalent in Flash files. I have the MP3 plugin for Gstreamer and XMMS but it doesn't work with flash. Sounds like Alvin and the Chipmunks if you know what I mean. The only audio problem occurs w/ Flash! Everything else works great! I don't understand if this problem has something to do w/ the Fedora release not including the MP3 plugin but I think it's unrelated because the Flash player has its own. I am a web developer so I need to get flash working or no one around here can switch to linux. Which is bad.

Any help you guys can give me would be grrrrrrreatly appreciated.

Sank you.
Old 29th May 2004, 11:16 PM
boyzonder Offline

Recently (May 26) the Flash 7 plugin was released for Linux. I don't know which version you're using (6 or 7), but try using the other one just to see if that solves anything.
Old 29th May 2004, 11:53 PM
obijuan Offline

Both versions work the same for me. I had hoped installing the version 7 player would work, but it didn't help...
Old 30th May 2004, 12:25 AM
boyzonder Offline