Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 24th February 2012, 04:56 AM
reneamat Offline

linuxchrome
Problems with Terminal and Arrows / Bindings

So, I'm a Fedora newbie. I got tired of some problems I was having with Debian and out-of-date packages and decided to try Fedora. I'm liking most everything, although yum does seem a bit slower than apt, but my only real issue is the fact that Terminal doesn't seem to be behaving in the same way that it did in Debian. It might have to do with the input settings or the ascii bindings for the keys, but the up arrow no longer functions to roll through previous commands in terminal. It's really very aggravating

Whenever I press the up arrow in Terminal I get ^]]A, and things of that nature for all the arrow keys. So, in addition to being unable to go through previous commands, I can't scroll through the characters of a command I have entered. How do I go about fixing this? Is there a different interpreter I can install that won't have this problem?

I'm sure it's something stupidly simple that I just don't understand, but I would appreciate the help. And it would help me learn how to use yum better.
Old 24th February 2012, 11:00 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)

Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
linuxfirefox
Re: Problems with Terminal and Arrows / Bindings

On mine, in 'preferences', I have set the Scrolling to Unlimited and checked the two boxes. Now, the 'up' arrow scrolls back through commands that I've entered, including previous boot entries. As to seeing current terminal entries, the mouse scroll wheel or the slider handles that.

I'm sure that others will jump in with exact ways to configure it the way you're used to as well.
Registered Linux User #362651

Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Old 24th February 2012, 12:24 PM
dishawjp Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox