Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd February 2012, 09:56 PM
RDSweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
setup r cmds issues/problem

Hi guys,

Sorry to post this one but suffering a brain dead moment. I have fedora 16 running on my workstation at work. This week I have to start making changes to some files that are kept in company cvs servers. I have setup my CVSROOT and CVS_RSH. So now when I enter the following cmd I get the following;
$ cvs co sudoers
poll: protocol failure in circuit setup
cvs [checkout aborted]: end of file from server (consult above messages if any)

and when I issues the following I also get;
$ rsh cvs.domain.com 'echo $PATH'
poll: protocol failure in circuit setup

Now I know that this should be easy but again suffer a brain dead moment. Before you tell I should not be using r cmds I know the security risk but I am behind company firewall and cvs is the only thing I am using it for. I normally use ssh but again cvs.

RDSweb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:06 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,492
linuxfirefox
Re: setup r cmds issues/problem

Without beeing familiar with CVS, i do 2 blueshots:
1) use the full path to sudoers to submit it, regardless the question why one would even do this
2) why echo a variable rather that just submit the variable (values) itself?
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Guide: Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Repo (sea-devel) :: Text User Interface (TUI), Video Handler Script (VHS), efi-helper, grub2-circled-nasa-themes, Essentials (blame, p, rmtf, rnd, siggen, screenshot...), (BETA) Dev-Scripts, (BETA) Fedora Account Scripts (FAS)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:32 PM
RDSweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: setup r cmds issues/problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
Without beeing familiar with CVS, i do 2 blueshots:
1) use the full path to sudoers to submit it, regardless the question why one would even do this
2) why echo a variable rather that just submit the variable (values) itself?
Hi,

The first one is using the cvs co(checkout) cmd, it will connect to the cvs server checkout the sudoers file and copy it to my workstation.

2) Was using rsh to the cvs server to display the path on the cvs server.

RDSweb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd February 2012, 10:41 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,492
linuxfirefox
Re: setup r cmds issues/problem

As much (less) i know these kind of tools.. svc, svn, git, whatsoever...
They do need and URL/variable to retrieve the data.

So i assume a working code line would look like:
cvs coMMAND $URL item-to-retirieve-or-upload

This example includes both, 1) and 2), as they both require the same pattern.

PS: Note that the item needs to be absolute, regarding either remote or local structures.
EDIT PS2: the items then will be either stored on local default from remote source, or stored on remote default from given local source.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Guide: Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Repo (sea-devel) :: Text User Interface (TUI), Video Handler Script (VHS), efi-helper, grub2-circled-nasa-themes, Essentials (blame, p, rmtf, rnd, siggen, screenshot...), (BETA) Dev-Scripts, (BETA) Fedora Account Scripts (FAS)

Last edited by sea; 22nd February 2012 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd February 2012, 02:49 PM
RDSweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: setup r cmds issues/problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
As much (less) i know these kind of tools.. svc, svn, git, whatsoever...
They do need and URL/variable to retrieve the data.

So i assume a working code line would look like:
cvs coMMAND $URL item-to-retirieve-or-upload

This example includes both, 1) and 2), as they both require the same pattern.

PS: Note that the item needs to be absolute, regarding either remote or local structures.
EDIT PS2: the items then will be either stored on local default from remote source, or stored on remote default from given local source.
CVSROOT is set to the cvs.domain.com and CVS_RSH is set to rsh. So when I issue the cvs co cmd it automatic use the vars to do it thing.

The problem I am having is the rsh, rexec and rlogin. I need some help to make sure I have everything set up right.

RDSweb

Last edited by RDSweb; 23rd February 2012 at 02:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cmds, issues or problem, setup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
must run modprobe and 500 iwconfig cmds each reboot ejkeebler Servers & Networking 1 25th September 2006 02:48 AM
ARToolkit setup issues qinglau Using Fedora 0 4th April 2006 07:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:00 (Sunday, 26-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Starkville Photos on Instagram - Pirna - Kamir