Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th February 2012, 04:45 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Question Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Hi all, I just installed Fedora 16, and I want to start using the functionality that comes with it without having to grab any packages off the net.

When I log in as root and type "yum install apache", it says the following.

[root@heigold1 ~]# yum install apache
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora.
Please verify its path and try again.
[root@heigold1 ~]#

Where do I go from here? Your help is greatly appreciated.

Brent.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th February 2012, 05:03 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 894
linuxopera
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Here is a guide.

/var/www/html is the default folder of Fedoras apache server.

if you want to use this folder with your user, you could do the following:
  • add your user to the apache group in /etc/group
  • chgrp -R apache /var/www/html
  • chmod -R g+rw /var/www/html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th February 2012, 05:16 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

yum install httpd
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2012, 05:35 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Hi guys, thank you so much for responding.

Since I am new, I don't know how to add myself to the apache group in /etc/group

Do I need to create a "/group/apache" folder in /etc ?

Brent.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2012, 05:49 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Choose Applications / Users and Groups and you can edit your user's profile. You should then be able to add yourself to the apache group. Screen shot taken while running Fedora 15, Should be the same for 16.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	77
Size:	741.3 KB
ID:	22710  
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th February 2012, 06:18 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

THANK YOU Glenn!

Ok I'm at the "Groups" section in the user manager.

What do I do if there is no "apache" group that appears in the list? I don't see one.

Do I just add a group called "apache"? I thought it was already with the operating system.

Brent.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th February 2012, 06:49 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Quote:
Originally Posted by heigold1 View Post
THANK YOU Glenn!

Ok I'm at the "Groups" section in the user manager.

What do I do if there is no "apache" group that appears in the list? I don't see one.

Do I just add a group called "apache"? I thought it was already with the operating system.

Brent.
Not sure. Why do you need to add yourself to the apache group? Are you trying to set up a web server?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th February 2012, 09:17 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Glenn, that would be great, I would love to set up a web server.

I just started using Linux yesterday and I want to learn it like a hobby, to know everything about it.

So I think settup up a LAMP server would be a great way to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th February 2012, 09:34 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Well, now that you've installed httpd you need to enable and start the service. To enable the service so that it starts automatically execute
PHP Code:
su -'systemctl enable httpd.service' 
To starrt the service now execute
PHP Code:
su -'systemctl start httpd.service' 
Now, open a web browser and in the URL bar type
PHP Code:
http://localhost 
You should see the Apache test page. There's your web site, closed to the public and with no content. The screen shot is just that running under Fedora 16 / VirtualBox.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-Apache.png
Views:	67
Size:	104.6 KB
ID:	22716  
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th February 2012, 10:05 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Glenn, but the yum install httpd didn't work.

I got the following:

[root@heigold1 ~]# yum install httpd
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: fedora. Please verify its path and try again

Any ideas Glenn? Sorry to be such a pain.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19th February 2012, 10:15 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Info for that error is all over this forum. As long as the Internet connection is working try
PHP Code:
su -'yum clean all'
su -'yum install httpd' 
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th February 2012, 10:29 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Oh, that's why.

Its not connected to the Internet Glenn, I just bought a new laptop and its just plugged in, standing by itself with no connection.

I'm sending you these messages from my Windows laptop.

Just out of curiosity, why is it that you need to be connected for this to work?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th February 2012, 10:36 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Yum sources the Internet repositories to retrieve and install pretty much everything.
Code:
[glenn@server ~>$ yum list httpd
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, local
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile    <-- Local file
updates/metalink                                                                                      |  16 kB     00:00     
 * fedora: mirrors.med.harvard.edu                 <-- Internet
 * rpmfusion-free: mirror.us.leaseweb.net    <-- Internet
 * rpmfusion-free-updates: mirror.us.leaseweb.net    <-- Internet
 * rpmfusion-nonfree: mirror.us.leaseweb.net    <-- Internet
 * rpmfusion-nonfree-updates: mirror.us.leaseweb.net    <-- Internet
 * updates: mirror.seas.harvard.edu    <-- Internet
_local                                                                                                | 2.9 kB     00:00 ... 
rpmfusion-free-updates                                                                                | 3.3 kB     00:00     
rpmfusion-nonfree-updates                                                                             | 3.3 kB     00:00     
updates                                                                                               | 4.5 kB     00:00     
updates/primary_db                                                                                    | 3.9 MB     00:01     
Installed Packages
httpd.i686                                               2.2.21-1.fc16                                                @fedora
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th February 2012, 10:49 PM
heigold1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40
windows_vistaie
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Glenn thanks so much for your help on this.

So I guess I better go out and buy a web stick.

Really, it is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th February 2012, 12:23 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,688
linuxfirefox
Re: Installing Apache for the first time (Newbie).

Not a problem.

I'm feeling a bit under the weather at the moment so I'm signing off for a while.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apache, installing, newbie, time

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie needs help with iptables time module Rico_x Using Fedora 2 19th April 2008 01:49 PM
fedora newbie: yum: installing an apache module KingCharles Servers & Networking 7 25th September 2007 06:02 PM
newbie would like some first time install tips. drama Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 16 22nd April 2007 06:50 PM
X hangs from time to time after installing FC4 skarb Using Fedora 0 30th August 2005 08:28 PM
Newbie -- installation for the first time scholarship Hardware & Laptops 4 26th May 2005 03:55 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:01 (Friday, 29-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat