Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th February 2012, 01:41 AM
griffinmt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Michigan
Age: 65
Posts: 190
windows_7ie
Angry Gnome3 Issues

As I mentioned on another thread, I just got Gnome3 working on three systems by loading Gnome-Shell (F16). I haven't spent enough time yet to 'navigate' around. But I have concluded that I have to back it off in order to operate properly.

I access those three systems from my portable using VNC/RDP as they are located in another part of the house. When on Gnome3, the VNC path seems to be over congested and every action seems to take more than ten times as long to get a response. Without Gnome3, reaction time is almost immediate. This is all going over a bridged lan running 100mb.

Anyone else experience this behaviour?

Martyn
__________________
Martyn Griffin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th February 2012, 10:38 AM
EvilRedHorse Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 32
windows_7firefox
Re: Gnome3 Issues

# Yes Gnome3 is heavy in general as well as over vnc, you can try switching your vnc session to 8-bit mode which will help or you can enable forced fall back mode.
# you can also install something light like XFCE with tigervnc-server and enable a group of users to use XFCE over VNC
# A lot of the problem is latency not bandwidth
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th February 2012, 01:21 PM
griffinmt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central Michigan
Age: 65
Posts: 190
windows_7ie
Re: Gnome3 Issues

The last thing I did last night was to install kde and get used to it. Haven't setup vnc yet, will do later today. Had already disabled gnome3 back to 2 but was experiencing system failures when the screensaver timer expired. Works ok with kde.

On a side note, I spent Xmas in London with my son, daughter-in-law and grandkids - untill a kidney stone sent me to the university hospital

What part of london do you live, and what kind of work do you do?
__________________
Martyn Griffin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome3, issues

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alt-Tab in Gnome3 JuhaniJaakola Using Fedora 2 27th July 2011 05:40 PM
From GNOME3 to KDE oOnEe Using Fedora 3 5th July 2011 05:06 PM
if gnome3 isn't enough PatMcLJr Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream 1 19th June 2011 12:33 AM
Gnome3 multiple display issues after fc15 upgrade. Gangrif Using Fedora 7 27th May 2011 11:24 PM
Gnome3 and IM / Empathy issues RavanH F15 Development 7 20th May 2011 08:16 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:05 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Hadejia Photos - Lachi Travel Photos on Instagram - Kazan Photos