Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th February 2012, 02:17 AM
Clark76 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
not able to configure wireless

Hello

I have a Lenovo G570 laptop, with Fedora16 installed, and when I go into the wireless settings the wireless is on but the configure button is greyed out.

This is the results of lspci:

Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller (rev 09)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 (rev 04)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 (rev 05)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev b5)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev b5)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 (rev 05)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller (rev 05)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications AR8152 v2.0 Fast Ethernet (rev c1)
02:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
I have searched through the forums but have not been able to find anything to correct this issue. Does anyone have any idea or require any further information?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th February 2012, 02:58 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfirefox
Re: not able to configure wireless

My guess is that you have to go to Ralink and download some firmware for the RT3090 and put it in /lib/firmware to get it working. Review the output of dmesg or /var/log/messages for firmware related errors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th February 2012, 03:32 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,199
linuxchrome
Re: not able to configure wireless

If you search the forum for "RT3090" you'll get a lot of hits. This one may be of special interest to you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configure, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless configure Indian Hardware & Laptops 5 28th July 2009 08:41 PM
[B]Configure Wireless Network in FC4[/B] sachinyn Servers & Networking 4 11th July 2005 05:01 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:19 (Friday, 28-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Aktau International Airport Photos on Instagram - Whirlpool Aero Car Photos on Instagram - Sekinchan Paddy Field Travel Photos on Instagram - La Pentola