Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th February 2012, 02:02 AM
rustydraper62 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
HowTo: Reinstall GNOME Desktop Environment

Hello All,

I have quite successfully destroyed my desktop environment by running yum groupremove "GNOME Desktop Environment" .

I have however, successfully booted up my Fedora 16 install dvd and am running in troubleshooting mode, with GNOME working. I have also successfully mounted my rootvol on /media.

My question is, if I run yum --installroot=/media --releasever=/ groupinstall "GNOME Desktop Environment", will this restore the desktop to my hard disk?

[root@localhost ~]# df -k
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
rootfs 4128448 2427256 1659260 60% /
devtmpfs 8199620 8 8199612 1% /dev
tmpfs 8207112 228 8206884 1% /dev/shm
tmpfs 8207112 30928 8176184 1% /run
/dev/sr0 8207112 30928 8176184 1% /run/initramfs/live
/dev/mapper/live-rw 4128448 2427256 1659260 60% /
tmpfs 8207112 30928 8176184 1% /run
tmpfs 8207112 0 8207112 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs 927878664 82013156 798732020 10% /media
/dev/sr0 618204 618204 0 100% /mnt/live
varcacheyum 8207112 160540 8046572 2% /var/cache/yum
/tmp 8207112 472 8206640 1% /tmp
vartmp 8207112 0 8207112 0% /var/tmp
/dev/mapper/vg_mattresskitte-lv_root 927878664 82013156 798732020 10% /media
[root@localhost ~]#

Thanks in advance!

~R

---------- Post added 13th February 2012 at 02:02 AM ---------- Previous post was 12th February 2012 at 08:40 PM ----------

SOLVED - ran the command, all is well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th February 2012, 07:44 AM
AceRoom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 209
linuxfirefox
Re: HowTo: Reinstall GNOME Desktop Environment

Could you please mark the thread as solved. It should be there at the top in Thread Tools.

Read the whole thing before noticing the SOLVED at the bottom

But this reinstall method is good to know.
__________________
Fedora 17 (Beefy Miracle) | Windows 7 Professional | Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon (Maya)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th February 2012, 04:55 PM
rustydraper62 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 7
linuxchrome
Re: HowTo: Reinstall GNOME Desktop Environment

Marked SOLVED - Sorry about that Aceroom - I'm a newb forum poster.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th February 2012, 01:00 PM
AceRoom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 209
linuxfirefox
Re: HowTo: Reinstall GNOME Desktop Environment

No problem
__________________
Fedora 17 (Beefy Miracle) | Windows 7 Professional | Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon (Maya)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, environment, gnome, howto, reinstall

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade or reinstall? Howto? please help Drummer64 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 25th March 2011 02:41 PM
KDM login manager with Gnome as desktop environment Apple Using Fedora 6 20th September 2009 01:30 AM
GNOME Desktop Environment won't install IrishCereal Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 27 17th September 2008 01:54 PM
installing gnome desktop environment arvsr1988 Using Fedora 3 17th December 2007 10:15 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:55 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat