Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th February 2012, 07:03 AM
geolab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 119
linuxfirefox
problem with akmod / kmod nvidia

hi. I have a strange problem with nvidia proprietary driver. it worked well untill 1 week ago. since the release of kernel 3.2.3.2 akmod service hangs at boot saying it fails and then after 3 or 4 minutes gdm starts. I thought it was building the module but since then at every boot the system hangs for 5 minutes at akmod failure then starts . I even installed kmod.nvidia but no luck. what could I check?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th February 2012, 06:07 PM
Cattyfox Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 6
linuxchrome
Re: problem with akmod / kmod nvidia

I am having a very similar problem but mine is with wireless.

It takes a lot to boot and the problem is related to akmod too (maybe it's the same problem?)

I found out some commands that gave me a little bit more information about the problem, you can see them here http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=276214

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th February 2012, 04:40 PM
mcojettech737 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 53
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with akmod / kmod nvidia

Quote:
Originally Posted by geolab View Post
hi. I have a strange problem with nvidia proprietary driver. it worked well untill 1 week ago. since the release of kernel 3.2.3.2 akmod service hangs at boot saying it fails and then after 3 or 4 minutes gdm starts. I thought it was building the module but since then at every boot the system hangs for 5 minutes at akmod failure then starts . I even installed kmod.nvidia but no luck. what could I check?
akmod is for kernels -PAE systems with over 4 gigs of ram. should have used kmod-nvidia
and added exclusion=akmod-nvidia* to your yum.conf file.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=204752
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th February 2012, 09:35 PM
jswmcw Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcojettech737 View Post
akmod is for kernels -PAE systems with over 4 gigs of ram. should have used kmod-nvidia
and added exclusion=akmod-nvidia* to your yum.conf file.

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=204752
This is not what akmods are for.
http://ask.fedoraproject.org/questio...akmod-and-kmod

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
__________________
:C
"Anybody who tells me I can't use a program because it's not open source, go suck on rms. I'm not interested. 99% of that I run tends to be open source, but that's _my_ choice, dammit." -- Linus Torvalds, 2004.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
akmod, kmod, nvidia, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kmod vs akmod mathan Hardware & Laptops 13 27th January 2014 03:01 PM
Nvidia Driver (kmod-nvidia or akmod-nvidia) not working on GT555M soumen Hardware & Laptops 3 29th January 2012 12:28 PM
kmod-nvidia vs akmod-nvidia dth4h Using Fedora 35 4th September 2009 03:02 AM
[SOLVED] akmod can not build kmod-nvidia-96xx saqer Using Fedora 5 26th July 2009 09:26 AM
are akmod-nvidia and kmod-nvidia exclusive? marko Using Fedora 2 23rd February 2009 02:26 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:58 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat