Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th February 2012, 10:26 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,685
linuxfedorafirefox
Words With Friends for Linux?

Is there a free Linux clone of Words With Friends? My girlfriend has got me hooked on that game, but I can only play it on her Android, and I don't want to use Facebook. That game is very addictive!
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th February 2012, 11:48 PM
sesso Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
linuxchrome
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

did you check in google chrome apps yet?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st February 2012, 08:35 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,685
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sesso View Post
did you check in google chrome apps yet?
Yeah, and it doesn't have anything like Words With Friends. But it looks like you can run Android apps under a VM in VirtualBox (using the eeepc iso image), so I'm going to try that instead.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2012, 05:50 AM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,685
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Woohoo! I can now play Words With Friends in Linux. I got it working by running Android-x86 in VirtualBox under Fedora 16. This is awesome!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	androidWWF.png
Views:	132
Size:	104.0 KB
ID:	22820   Click image for larger version

Name:	androidOS.png
Views:	108
Size:	107.1 KB
ID:	22821  
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th March 2012, 07:02 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

looks like Scrabble!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th March 2012, 04:31 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,685
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Yeah, it's basically a networked version of scrabble, with just slightly different rules.

To me the best part is getting a full-blown Android environment running in VirtualBox. It took some effort to get everything working right; Words With Friends is the icing on the cake. You can play it from within Facebook, but I neither have nor want a Facebook account. So now I can play from my Linux PC against my girlfriend on her Android phone. It's fun!
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th March 2012, 04:41 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

I have been kinda toying with the idea of getting an android environment running here just to mess around with.

Did you kinda follow the how-to on the android-x86 site to run it in virtualbox?

http://www.android-x86.org/documents/virtualboxhowto
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th March 2012, 07:19 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,685
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Yes, I followed the general steps in that guide to install Android to disk in VirtualBox, until I ran into a roadblock: the iso images on that site only work with wireless connections. If - like mine - your PC has a wired ethernet connection then you'll need one of the patched isos with ethernet support; I got mine here (get the android-x86-vm-20120130.iso.gz file listed under UPDATE). In either case you'll need a DHCP server somewhere in your LAN. I didn't have one, so I enabled the built-in DHCP server in my router.

Besides the networking issue, there's also the issue with many Android apps (e.g. Words With Friends) wanting to be run in portrait mode (like on a phone) instead of landscape mode. So unless you like tilting your head 90 degrees all the time, you'll have to deal with that as well. I found a solution here. It seems the default display is a (landscape) 4:3 aspect ratio at 240dpi, you'll want to make that a (portrait) 3:4 aspect ratio at about 120dpi. I called my VM "Android" and ran this command (before running VirtualBox):
Code:
vboxmanage setextradata "Android" "CustomVideoMode1" "750x1000x16"
Then in the Android boot menu I added "DPI=120 vga=ask" to the kernel parameters, and selected the 750x1000x16 mode when prompted. Later you can permanently add those parameters in GRUB as described in the above link. You can play around with adding more custom video modes to find one that suits your setup. You may want to go to the Settings app and select eth0 as the ethernet device before changing the video mode; for some reason the Settings app sometimes won't open when using the custom video mode.

It took me a while to figure all this out but now it's working great and I'm enjoying playing with Android.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th March 2012, 04:54 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Thanks for sharing your experiences

I would have run into several of the same things, since I don't and will not ever use wireless, and also don't have a DHCP server either (and as you did, enabling the DHCP server in the router is probably the easiest route)

Now to grab the iso and start playing around with it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th April 2012, 10:58 PM
chrisco23 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
linuxchrome
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Why not just play with Facebook?

That's what I've always done. But I found this thread by googling because I've hit a problem recently.

I run Fedora 16 on desktop and laptop. About 2-ish weeks ago, my WWF app in Facebook stopped working on the desktop. Still fine on the laptop. Both desktop and laptop are full yum updated. The page loads but it doesn't show my FB friends, and it doesn't show games in progress.

I've been looking at the Network tab in Developer Tools, and I don't see anything jumping out at me. There is a pull to 1-299.channel.facebook.com that sometimes shows no response, but most of them do show responses.

Also, the buddy_list.php shows the response and it has my friends' IDs in there.

I've tried running Chrome in incognito mode. I've also tried Firefox, and Firefox in Safe Mode.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th April 2012, 07:09 PM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,685
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Words With Friends for Linux?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisco23 View Post
Why not just play with Facebook?
Because I despise Facebook and want nothing to do with it.
So unfortunately I can't help you with your problem.

By the way, Words With Friends still works great for me in the Android VM under VirtualBox.
__________________
OS: Fedora 20 x86_64 | Machine: HP Pavilion a6130n | CPU: AMD 64 X2 Dual-Core 5000+ 2.6GHz | RAM: 5GB PC5300 DDR2 | Disk: 400GB SATA | Video: ATI Radeon HD 4350 512MB | Sound: Realtek ALC888S | Ethernet: Realtek RTL8201N
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
friends, linux, words

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 ways to impress your geeky linux friends sideways Linux Chat 7 14th May 2009 03:35 PM
Linux noobie - words of wisdom? veri Using Fedora 7 12th August 2005 09:25 PM
Have any linux friends? chiku31 Wibble 15 2nd February 2005 05:38 AM
Search and Replace: Asian words to English Words ieeestd802 Using Fedora 0 28th October 2004 01:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:11 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kadiri Travel Photos - Abomey-Calavi Photos - Bangolo Travel Photos on Instagram