Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 6th February 2012, 10:02 PM
Don3 Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
F16 - GRUB2 EFI non-Mac

Apologies if this has been answered elsewhere, but what's the current status on GRUB2 for non-Mac x86 32 and 64-bit computers with [U]EFI boot, using latest Fedora 16 repos (ie, from network install using 64-bit minimal boot CD)? Should I be spending time trying to get this to work, or is GRUB1 (Legacy) still the way to go at this time? This is my first attempt at EFI booting, and various posts here and other Google hits seem a bit contradictory, or perhaps just out of date -- some of what I've read indicates that improvements have made during the last few months, during the F16 release and maybe later..?

A few details:
  • mainboard: Intel DP35DP, BIOS ver 0572 (2009-07-16) set for EFI and AHCI
  • CPU: Core2 Duo E4600
  • disc: Seagate ST31000528AS (1 TB SATA2)

Thanks
Don
Old 7th February 2012, 02:57 PM
fpmurphy Offline

windows_7firefox
Re: F16 - GRUB2 EFI non-Mac

Short answer - it works. Longer answer - you may or may not be able to get it working; it all depends on your level of expertise. The EFI implementations on many of the older Intel motherboards is interestingly different. The workaround is to make the partition bootable.
Old 7th February 2012, 06:18 PM
chrismurphy Offline

macoschrome

AFAIK, Fedora Project / RH, are still using their GRUB Legacy EFI derivative including in Rawhide and F17. Certainly that is the case for F16.

So it's a question of whether GRUB Legacy EFI or GRUB2 EFI works better for your hardware. If equal, then it probably makes more sense to take the plunge to GRUB2 EFI since it's consistent with upstream and other distros. But for me it was a painful learning curve. There are in effect four GRUBs...and they each have their own peculiarities.
Old 7th February 2012, 08:17 PM
Don3 Offline

linuxfirefox