Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 4th February 2012, 05:53 PM
lala328 Offline

windows_7chrome
Will Fedora 15/16 install in this ACER?

Hi All,
I am a newbie in Linux and planning to get a new laptop dedicated for Fedora.

These are the specs of the machine that I am hoping to get:

Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium - 64-bit version - AMD Quad-Core A8-3520M Accelerated Processor 1.6GHz with TurboCORE technology up to 2.5GHz - 4GB DDR3 1066 SDRAM - 500GB hard drive - 15.6" HD Widescreen CineCrystal™ LCD display (1366 x 768) - AMD Radeon™ HD 6620G Graphics - AMD A60M Fusion™ chipset - 8X DVD±RW DL - high-definition audio support - built-in stereo speakers - webcam - multi-gesture touchpad - 802.11b/g/n WLAN - gigabit LAN - HDMI® - Multi-in-1 card reader

Can anyone please tell me if I will be able to install Fedora 15 or 16 in this machine without any issue?

Inside Fedora, I will need mysql server 5.1 running and that install Flash player.

Would appreciate any inputs and recommendation if above is not good enough.

Thanks!

Lala
Old 4th February 2012, 09:47 PM
CreamCorn Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Will Fedora 15/16 install in this ACER?

While I can't comment on all the components, I can say that I have seen AMD A8 APU's work flawlessly with Fedora 16, 64-bit edition. A generic video card driver will be installed but if you want to take advantage of the fast graphics and OpenGL 4 capabilities of the Radeon HD 6620g for software like FreeCAD, Q CAD, Second Life, 0 A.D. or for the modern day web browser which takes advantage of GPU hardware acceleration, you will need to install AMD Catalyst drivers separately. The same would be true if you purchased a laptop that uses an nVidia GPU.
Old 4th February 2012, 10:11 PM
Fenrin Offline

linuxopera

hello,