Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 2nd February 2012, 04:04 PM
gloken Offline

windows_xp_2003firefox
Intermittent freezing

Howdy. I'm new to Fedora, I moved over from Ubuntu on my home pc very recently because I really don't like the direction they've been going.

I've got a fresh install of Fedora 16 (Gnome) now.

I'm having intermittent freezing at the desktop. Randomly during use the mouse pointer, sound and display will all freeze and the machine will stop responding to any input devices. It happens within an hour of active use most times, and otherwise there's no common trend.

Has anyone else had this issue? My first thought was to check heat and make sure that my CPU wasn't just getting toasty, but there's no single temperature where it runs into issues. I'd love to adopt Fedora, but this one is going to be a death blow if I can't resolve it.
Old 2nd February 2012, 04:19 PM
PiElle Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Intermittent freezing

I'm experimenting the same "intermittent freezing" too.
I don't know if the problem depends on Gnome 3 or on kernel-3.2.2-1.fc16.i686.
May be both ...
Old 2nd February 2012, 04:28 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator

windows_xp_2003chrome

I'm getting the same thing. It only happens to me when running Fedora 16 or Arch, both using Gnome3 and friends. The same machine running other Redhat based distros like Centos, Scientific, Fedora 14 with legacy Gnome, Fedora 15 with early Gnome 3, Mint with Cinnamon (is that what that desktop is called?) and Windows 7 don't lock up.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Old 2nd February 2012, 04:45 PM
PiElle Offline

linuxfirefox

In my machine Windows 7 and Mageia 1 (running in triple boot) don't lock up as well ...