Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th January 2012, 10:37 AM
racze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Hi,

I have F16 64bit on my Dell laptop, dual-booting with Win 7 and a Broadcom BCM 4313 wireless card in it (broadcom-wl installed). The situation is the following:
the card does not detect a specific network (although it detects many other networks, and generally at other places, works as it should). At the same location, when using Win7, the network is detected and works perfectly.

Earlier (prior to Dec 2011), there were no problems with that network, and other networks work still as well as ever, so I have absolutely no idea what the causes might be.

Any help is appreciated , thx, Eva.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th January 2012, 12:15 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfirefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

The most recent kernels include the brcmsmac driver and so it may be attaching to your card instead of the wl driver so you might have to blacklist it in /etc/modprobe.d. Look through the output of the lsmod command to see what modules are loading (lower down are loaded first).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th January 2012, 01:42 PM
racze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Hi,

the brcmsmac driver was already blacklisted, so that's not the problem. But on that line of thought, is it possible that that specific network got somehow blacklisted? How do I check that (I haven't found a possibility in NetworkManager)?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th January 2012, 05:41 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfirefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

In nm-connection-editor if there is a wireless connection titled Auto-<ssid> I would try deleting that and see if that fixes it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th January 2012, 10:23 PM
racze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

I removed the Auto-... lines, it did not help... mystery goes on
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th January 2012, 10:41 PM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfirefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Did you try rebooting the wireless router you are not able to connect to? Maybe the "blacklisting" is happening at the router end.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th January 2012, 03:09 PM
racze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Hi JEO,

I tried that, it did not help. If there was a problem at the router end, I would not be able to connect when starting Win7 (same laptop), I guess.

I think I'll give up on this, and wait for the next update to fix things (luckily, it is not my home router we're talking about). Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th February 2012, 11:14 PM
synic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 266
linuxopera
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Do you have a fix for the BCM4313 issue yet?

I think I have tried everything, the BCM4313 how to, a half dozen threads, and nothing seems to work.

I can see the network I want to connect to. I can see the signal strength but I can't connect.

Been pulling my hair out for 2 days now. This isn't worth it. How come there are so many people have issues with BCM4313 and Fedora?
__________________
Discourse and Diatribe
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th February 2012, 07:41 AM
racze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Hi synic,

I haven"t been able to fix the problem. Fortunately, it is only at my parents' place this issue keeps coming up, and I don't spend too much time there. Do you have the same problem as I do (that is, no problem with the vast majority of routers)? For my part, I think that there must have been some error in the system update towards years' end (Nov-Dec 2011), because prior to that, I haven't had any problems at all. Anyway, if you happen to find a workaround, please share it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th February 2012, 11:19 AM
Gödel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London,England
Posts: 1,102
linuxchrome
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Most issues with BCM43 are solved by installing akmod-wl from rpmfusion ('yum install akmod-wl'), but you must also blacklist some other kernel modules by adding these lines to the end of /etc/modprobe./blacklist.conf

Code:
blacklist b43-pci-bridge
blacklist bcm43xx
blacklist ssb
blacklist b43
blacklist b44
and reboot.

if your hard wired ethernet uses b44, then just do 'modprobe b44' before using it

Note, that for hidden ssids you need to select Network Settings from the wifi icon and click the drop-down box for Network Name and select 'Other...' at the bottom of the list
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th February 2012, 02:52 AM
thanson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

I have a BCM 4312. When I was using the broadcom-wl drivers I couldn't connect to mesh
networks. I switched to the b43 drivers following instructions from http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43 and it allowed me to connect to mesh networks. There were still
some routers I couldn't connect to though. I had to create a file in /etc/modprobe.d with the line options b43 pio=1 qos=0. It's rock solid now.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd February 2012, 12:45 PM
Gödel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London,England
Posts: 1,102
linuxchrome
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanson View Post
I have a BCM 4312. When I was using the broadcom-wl drivers I couldn't connect to mesh
networks. I switched to the b43 drivers following instructions from http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43 and it allowed me to connect to mesh networks. There were still
some routers I couldn't connect to though. I had to create a file in /etc/modprobe.d with the line options b43 pio=1 qos=0. It's rock solid now.
That'a a good tip. I agree that for advanced use the b43 driver is superior IF it is compatible. The compatibility list is pretty good now, at least since 2.6.33 kernels when 4312 chipsets were supported. Unfortunately as soon as these chipsets became supported it created a conflict with the broadcom-wl driver and required fiddly additions to the blacklist file.

Now that b43 support is mature on 4312 chipsets (confusingly with pci-id 14e4:4315 - use 'lspci -vnn | grep 14e4' to check) it should probably be recommended in these cases.

For the OP with a 4313 chipset (didn't specify pci-id) b43 support doesn't look present atm, but broadcom-wl is a confirmed alternative, and note that the latest driver (not yet in rpmfusion) supports some advanced stuff like monitor mode http://www.broadcom.com/docs/linux_sta/README.txt

even if you are using broadcom-wl driver it is simple to test b43 driver
Code:
su -
yum install b43-fwcutter wget
wget http://mirror2.openwrt.org/sources/b...mipsel.tar.bz2
tar xvf broadcom-wl-5.10.56.27.3_mipsel.tar.bz2
b43-fwcutter -w /lib/firmware/ broadcom-wl-5.10.56.27.3/driver/wl_apsta/wl_prebuilt.o

rmmod wl
modprobe b43
if it works fine then remove broadcom-wl with:
Code:
yum remove \*-wl
make sure /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-wl-blacklist.conf file is removed and delete any relevant lines you might have added to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

EDIT. For 4313 users, the latest broadcom-wl driver has some fixes in addition to monitor mode, apparently claiming to support 'hidden networks' , I didn't notice the problem before but perhaps it will help with some of the reported issues in this thread. I don't think rpmfusion F16 driver is updated yet, so you may have to build from source http://www.broadcom.com/docs/linux_sta/README.txt
Quote:
ISSUES FIXED AND WHAT'S NEW IN RECENT RELEASES
-------------------------------------------
+ Supports monitor mode
+ Supports cfg80211
+ Supports hidden networks
+ Supports rfkill

Last edited by Gödel; 22nd February 2012 at 12:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd March 2012, 12:14 PM
synic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 266
linuxopera
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Quote:
Originally Posted by racze View Post
Hi synic,

I haven"t been able to fix the problem. Fortunately, it is only at my parents' place this issue keeps coming up, and I don't spend too much time there. Do you have the same problem as I do (that is, no problem with the vast majority of routers)? For my part, I think that there must have been some error in the system update towards years' end (Nov-Dec 2011), because prior to that, I haven't had any problems at all. Anyway, if you happen to find a workaround, please share it
No. I haven't had any luck as yet. Not sure what else to do about it. I think I've blacklisted everything, installed akmod-wl etc, then uninstalled.

My BCM4313 works in windows but has never worked in any Fedora 16 install. I just don't know what else to do about it. I know it's just a driver problem but I just can't figure it out.

Where do I start?
__________________
Discourse and Diatribe
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th March 2012, 11:17 PM
synic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 266
linuxopera
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

Hi all. Thought I would follow up in this thread re my BCM-4313 'issue'.

I am still pugging away with BCM-4313. My HP DM1 has a BCM-4313 wireless chip. I know it works. It works in WindoWzz. But it doesn't work in Fedora 16.

INFO. The DM1 has a little wireless button that turns the wireless on and off in windows. I've installed Rfkill and when I run it and toggle the wireless it says that my wireless is "Soft Locked" as opposed to Hard Locked.

I have installed akmod-wl, rebooted, yum updated which dragged in kmod-wl. I rebooted then grub2-mkconfig updated and rebooted again.

INFO

lspic
Quote:
[fae@Faeland ~]$ lspci
...
03:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
lspci -vnn | grep 14e4
Quote:
[fae@Faeland ~]$ lspci -vnn | grep 14e4
03:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4727] (rev 01)
rpm -qa | grep -e broadcom-wl -e kmod-wl | sort
Quote:
[fae@Faeland ~]$ rpm -qa | grep -e broadcom-wl -e kmod-wl | sort
akmod-wl-5.100.82.112-2.fc16.x86_64
broadcom-wl-5.100.82.112-2.fc16.noarch
kmod-wl-3.3.0-4.fc16.x86_64-5.100.82.112-2.fc16.13.x86_64
etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-wl-broadcom.conf
Quote:
# modules blacklisted for broadcom-wl
blacklist ssb
blacklist bcma
blacklist b43
blacklist b44
blacklist brcmsmac
lsmod | sort (bit lengthy ... sorry about the layout)
Quote:
[fae@Faeland ~]$ lsmod | sort
8021q 24177 0
be2iscsi 72382 0
binfmt_misc 17431 1
bnx2i 54521 0
cnic 62821 1 bnx2i
cxgb3 155458 1 cxgb3i
cxgb3i 32972 0
cxgb4 103017 1 cxgb4i
cxgb4i 32909 0
drm 242071 5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
drm_kms_helper 40299 1 radeon
fcoe 27289 0
fuse 77686 3
garp 14069 1 8021q
hp_accel 25976 0
hp_wmi 18048 0
i2c_algo_bit 13156 1 radeon
i2c_core 37991 6 videodev,i2c_piix4,radeon,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_a lgo_bit
i2c_piix4 13694 0
ib_addr 13745 1 rdma_cm
ib_cm 41692 1 rdma_cm
ib_core 73803 6 ib_iser,rdma_cm,ib_cm,iw_cm,ib_sa,ib_mad
ib_iser 38083 0
ib_mad 46392 2 ib_cm,ib_sa
ib_sa 28417 2 rdma_cm,ib_cm
input_polldev 13646 1 lis3lv02d
ip6table_filter 12815 1
ip6_tables 26976 1 ip6table_filter
ip6t_REJECT 12939 2
iscsi_boot_sysfs 15641 1 be2iscsi
iscsi_tcp 18333 0
iw_cm 18176 1 rdma_cm
joydev 17412 0
k10temp 13119 0
lib80211 13968 2 lib80211_crypt_tkip,wl
lib80211_crypt_tkip 17329 0
libcxgbi 56508 2 cxgb4i,cxgb3i
libfc 108615 2 fcoe,libfcoe
libfcoe 47156 1 fcoe
libiscsi 50527 8 be2iscsi,bnx2i,cxgb4i,cxgb3i,libcxgbi,ib_iser,iscs i_tcp,libiscsi_tcp
libiscsi_tcp 23970 4 cxgb4i,cxgb3i,libcxgbi,iscsi_tcp
lis3lv02d 19437 1 hp_accel
llc 14090 2 garp,stp
lp 17874 0
mdio 13398 1 cxgb3
media 20444 2 uvcvideo,videodev
microcode 23348 0
mii 13527 1 r8169
Module Size Used by
nf_conntrack 82286 3 nf_conntrack_ipv6,nf_conntrack_ipv4,xt_state
nf_conntrack_ipv4 14622 1
nf_conntrack_ipv6 14290 1
nf_defrag_ipv4 12673 1 nf_conntrack_ipv4
nf_defrag_ipv6 18139 1 nf_conntrack_ipv6
parport 44515 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
parport_pc 28082 0
ppdev 17635 0
r8169 60789 0
radeon 825011 3
rdma_cm 41898 1 ib_iser
rfkill 21410 2 hp_wmi
scsi_tgt 19553 1 scsi_transport_fc
scsi_transport_fc 53339 2 fcoe,libfc
scsi_transport_iscsi 51924 8 be2iscsi,bnx2i,libcxgbi,ib_iser,iscsi_tcp,libiscsi
snd 78908 13 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel ,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,sn d_pcm,snd_timer
snd_hda_codec 115767 3 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 36225 1
snd_hda_codec_idt 70188 1
snd_hda_intel 33276 2
snd_hwdep 17611 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_page_alloc 18101 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_pcm 97170 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq 64807 0
snd_seq_device 14129 1 snd_seq
snd_timer 28815 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
soundcore 14484 1 snd
sp5100_tco 13697 0
sparse_keymap 13526 1 hp_wmi
stp 12823 1 garp
ttm 79585 1 radeon
uinput 17606 0
uio 19097 1 cnic
uvcvideo 72202 0
v4l2_compat_ioctl32 16726 1 videodev
video 18932 0
videobuf2_core 31894 1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops 13262 1 videobuf2_vmalloc
videobuf2_vmalloc 13035 1 uvcvideo
videodev 97796 1 uvcvideo
wl 2573468 0
wmi 18697 1 hp_wmi
xt_state 12578 2
lsmod | grep wmi
[/QUOTE][fae@Faeland ~]$ lsmod | grep wmi
hp_wmi 18048 0
sparse_keymap 13526 1 hp_wmi
rfkill 21410 2 hp_wmi
wmi 18697 1 hp_wmi[/QUOTE]

lsmod | grep hp_wmi
Quote:
[fae@Faeland ~]$ lsmod | grep hp_wmi
hp_wmi 18048 0
sparse_keymap 13526 1 hp_wmi
rfkill 21410 2 hp_wmi
wmi 18697 1 hp_wmi

rfkill list I don't understand why my wifi is Soft Blocked ... is it missing a module?
Quote:
[fae@Faeland ~]$ rfkill list
0: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no
1: hp-bluetooth: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: yes
Hard blocked: no

UPDATE IT WORKS!!!! But I can't figure out why!

If I rfkill unblock 1 (the hp-bluetooth) then it enables the hp-wifi ???

This is crazy..... I don't understand?
__________________
Discourse and Diatribe

Last edited by synic; 24th March 2012 at 11:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25th March 2012, 01:42 AM
JEO Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,787
linuxfirefox
Re: BCM4313 unexpected behavior

If you blacklist hp_wmi and reboot, does the rfkill behavior change?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bcm4313, behavior, unexpected, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F15 bcm4313 dotmil F15 Development 15 10th May 2011 03:52 PM
Live CD'S unexpected behavior at installation 77yrold Using Fedora 2 18th September 2009 01:24 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:23 (Thursday, 31-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat