Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th December 2011, 10:42 PM
Davarish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 39
linuxchrome
0 a.d.

From day one I noticed that Fedora isn't a gamer's distro...Although we have the latest on the system part, almost all of the games found in the repos are old versions. I am saying this cause I am not sure if anyone will bother to answer or even read this but anyway

There is no 0 A.D. in the repos. It is very nice real time strategy. The game gives a link to an open-suse repo containing a fedora 15 package which doesn't work. One solution is to compile it of course. Just saying...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th December 2011, 12:03 AM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,515
linuxchrome
Re: 0 a.d.

I'm not a gamer nor a Fedora developer, however, generally, if you want to see a package in repos, the best thing to do is file a bugzilla RFE (request for enhancement.).

Now, whether someone will respond to it or not, I have no idea. Fedora isn't really a gamer's distro, as far as I can tell--as I said, I'm not a gamer, but I don't see all that much mention of games on the forum, and that's the basis for my statement--as I'm sure you realize, it's not all that solid of a basis.

I'm not sure what _is_ a gamer's distro--I get the impression that gamers are usually better off using Windows, and that not even Mac is all that great for them (gamers).

So, that's the long answer--the short one is the one above, you can try filing an RFE at bugzilla, but that, or your already mentioned solution of trying to compile it yourself seem to be the most promising solutions.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th December 2011, 12:39 AM
Davarish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 39
linuxchrome
Re: 0 a.d.

Well you are right of course and thanks for the info.
Gaming distros are considered the distros that can be stable, extremely tweaked and very very fast. Gentoo for example is considered the best distro for a gamer. Of course you must always use wine for serious gaming. I am playing a lot of thinks on Fedora though like Xonotic, Oil Rush, Heroes of Newerth, 0 A.D., Flight Gear etc. All of them work just fine
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th December 2011, 07:30 PM
jemadux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 61
linuxepiphany
Re: 0 a.d.

this game is great .... but if you need to play that game you have to compile it ...
0AD in archlinux ( for compile is about one and half hour )
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th December 2011, 10:58 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 895
linuxopera
Re: 0 a.d.

just install following packages:
Code:
yum -y install gcc-c++ python subversion zip cmake boost-devel fam-devel libcurl-devel libjpeg-devel libpng-devel libvorbis-devel libxml2-devel openal-soft-devel pkgconfig SDL-devel wxGTK-devel svn
If you didn't download the sources yet, you can do the following:
Code:
svn co http://svn.wildfiregames.com/public/ps/trunk/ 0ad
Then follow this guide (section building, testing, running).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st December 2011, 12:27 PM
YeOK Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North West UK.
Age: 34
Posts: 527
linuxfedorachrome
Re: 0 a.d.

You can add this repo and get 0.ad.

http://repos.fedorapeople.org/repos/bioinfornatics/0ad/
__________________
“When one is writing a letter, he should think that the recipient will make it into a hanging scroll.”
― Yamamoto Tsunetomo.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th January 2012, 12:22 AM
fedora_linux_75 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
0 Ad Rpms built

I have built 0ad Rpms for fedora on Fedora 16 x86_64

http://depositfiles.com/files/6uuxvsih2 0ad
http://depositfiles.com/files/bcwg7tcgr 0ad-data

If you are instrested in megaglest I have built rpms for it too
http://glest.org/glest_board/index.php?topic=7214.0


Thanks, Bradon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th January 2012, 03:52 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
linuxfirefox
Re: 0 a.d.

people please USE EXTREME CAUTION with random rpms
you have to install them as root and ANY malicious code can get installed
-- now the above rpm's might be just fine - but BE WARNED
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th January 2012, 05:37 PM
friTTe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sweden
Age: 33
Posts: 37
linuxchrome
Re: 0 Ad Rpms built

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedora_linux_75 View Post
I have built 0ad Rpms for fedora on Fedora 16 x86_64

http://depositfiles.com/files/6uuxvsih2 0ad
http://depositfiles.com/files/bcwg7tcgr 0ad-data

If you are instrested in megaglest I have built rpms for it too
http://glest.org/glest_board/index.php?topic=7214.0


Thanks, Bradon
Grabbing these rpms now, tried installing it other way but had dependencie problems.
Will get back and tell if it works =)

Will add a link to the files hosted on my website later on since Deposit got the waiting time

---------- Post added at 06:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:28 PM ----------

Here are the rpms hosted on my website, got pretty decent download speed

http://fredrikfritte.se/fedora/
__________________
Asus EEE Fuduntu 32bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th January 2012, 11:25 PM
fedora_linux_75 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
How to build RPMs

Source code: http://trac.wildfiregames.com/wiki/LatestReleaseLinux
0ad.spec http://pastebin.com/AwxkQ53r
0ad-data.spec http://pastebin.com/Cs7tQXFc

1) as the root install these packages
yum install @development-tools
yum install fedora-packager

yum install boost-devel DevIL-devel fam-devel gcc-c++ gcc-c libcurl-devel libjpeg-devel libpng-devel libvorbis-devel libxml2-devel nasm python
subversion zip cmake desktop-file-utils openal-soft-devel pkgconfig SDL-devel wxGTK-devel p7zip p7zip-plugins


2) in terminal as the root type the following:
/usr/sbin/useradd makerpm
passwd makerpm
(that command allows you to create a password for the user you will be building packages as.

3) log in to makerpm

4) In terminal type the following
rpmdev-setuptree

http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=AwxkQ53r copy the raw paste contents open up gedit and save it as 0-ad.spec
http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=Cs7tQXFc copy the raw paste contents open up gedit and save it as 0-ad-data.spec

copy 0-ad.spec to /home/makerpm/buildrpm/SPECS
copy 0-ad-data.spec to the same directory

Next copy 0ad-r10803-alpha-unix-build.tar.gz to the SOURCES directory under buildrpm directory

go back to the SPECS directory and type the following directory

rpmbuild -ba 0ad.spec

after successful buiding clear out the bulidroot directory the sources directory and the build directory

Next copy 0ad-r10803-alpha-unix-data.tar.gz to the SOURCES directory under /home/makerpm/buildrpm directory

change to the SPECS directory

type rpmbuild -ba 0ad-data.spec

your rpm for the program should appear in the RPMs folder under the ~/buildrpm directory

Thanks,
brandon.

---------- Post added at 03:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:28 PM ----------

.specs were modifed from the open suse build service to work for fedora.

---------- Post added at 03:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:24 PM ----------

the spec files were obtained from opensuse build services and modified to work with fedora.

Last edited by fedora_linux_75; 5th January 2012 at 11:49 PM. Reason: Further details added
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 7th January 2012, 11:28 PM
CreamCorn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
linuxfirefox
Re: 0 a.d.

The graphics look amazing on the 0 A.D. previews. I see the website says the game is in development and is only an Alpha edition right now. Is the game very playable?

If it is truly as fun as Ages of Empires for Windows, this will be one of the best Linux games, ever The Linux gaming community will have another awesome game to rally around.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th January 2012, 04:55 AM
BandC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,105
windows_7firefox
Re: 0 a.d.

I did install it the other day (Ubuntu) and the graphics are indeed very good. I didn't have the time to play it for hours but I tried a couple of games for 30 minutes or so and it is very playable right now.

Kudos to the developers.
__________________
IMHO GNOME FTW! BTW KDE WAD? FWIW. HTH. AFAIK YMMV. OMG WTF BBQ! :rolleyes:

Do you like surfing forums but wish people would stop using obscure abbreviations and acronyms?
Then my Firefox/Chrome extension ABBREX is for you!
It automatically adds hover tooltips to abbreviations displaying their meanings on any web page you visit!

Check it out at: http://abbrex.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th February 2012, 09:04 PM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
linuxfirefox
Re: 0 a.d.

Hi I tried to use YeOK's method of installing 0ad but ran into a black screen problem when the game was launched??


It's also very slow in comparison to Fedora 15 as the cursor really does lag behind quite a bit.


Has anyone encountered this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11th February 2012, 10:06 PM
Fenrin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 895
linuxopera
Re: 0 a.d.

hm I had this issue too, almost a year ago. I opened the game in terminal and had to pass a option to it (found it via their forum), which solved it.

But now I play the current version of this game on CentOS 6 and don't have this issues anymore.

Are you sure that you use alpha 8 of the game?

____________

ok just check the .bash_history of my Fedora 15 user account:
Code:
 SDL_VIDEO_X11_DGAMOUSE=0 ./pyrogenesis
I have no idea if SDL_VIDEO_X11_DGAMOUSE=0 works in your case.

Last edited by Fenrin; 11th February 2012 at 10:18 PM. Reason: added the option
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11th February 2012, 10:23 PM
Kaya Saman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114
linuxfirefox
Re: 0 a.d.

Thanks for the response!

I'm not quite sure which version I have: this is what rpm -qa gives: 0ad-0.10836-15.20111230svn10836.fc16.x86_64


I managed to sort it, it's basically Gnome3 being really buggy on me. If I start my system in init runtime level 3 then use:

Code:
startx
to start my X-server I seem to have no video acceleration.

Have changed the runlevel under /etc/systemd/system/default.target now and all is well......


Uh Gnome3 bugs.... :-(
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Current GMT-time: 04:24 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat