Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th December 2011, 04:40 AM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
linuxopera
Are yum's "Installed Groups" installed on XFCE spin?

Are the "Installed Groups" reported by "yum group list" actually installed on my XFCE FC 16 Fedora spin?

When I do "yum group list", I get a listing of groups which begins with a section called "Installed Groups". But I notice that if run yum to install one of the "Installed Groups" (such as Printing Support), it still downloads some files and apparently installs them. I've just run a "yum update" before trying this, so I don't think it is merely updating files.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th December 2011, 09:24 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Are yum's "Installed Groups" installed on XFCE spin?

Yum groups have three categories of packages: mandatory, default and optional. If the mandatory packages are installed, the group is listed as installed. "yum groupinstall" installs both mandatory and default packages, and adds the default packages if only mandatory ones are installed. See: http://yum.baseurl.org/wiki/YumGroups
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th December 2011, 05:44 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Are yum's "Installed Groups" installed on XFCE spin?

That was a clear answer and a good link!
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installed, installed groups, spin, xfce, yum, yums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Installed newest Fedora but can not install updates because of "rawhide" Gumptron Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 1st November 2011 08:11 AM
pwmconfig for AMD Turion 64x2, "no capable sensor modules installed." Replicant10000 Hardware & Laptops 0 19th August 2009 10:32 PM
both rame "i386" and "x86_64" rpm installed yves_69 Using Fedora 5 15th December 2008 03:32 PM
I installed Eternal-Lands an"no icon""installed using yumd now I'm lost Nickmorgan19457 Using Fedora 9 16th March 2006 08:28 AM
"NOOB" installed latest kernal now mozilla wont work sucafish Using Fedora 1 24th July 2005 12:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:07 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Columbia Photos on Instagram - Talegaon Dabhade - Mandsaur Travel Photos