Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th December 2011, 08:28 PM
boinc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
windows_xp_2003firefox
Missing one CPU core

Hello,

Just install Fedora Core 16 on a new machine with a AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor, but when I look at /proc/cpuinfo I see only three cpu cores. Seems like one is gone.

Is there anything in the OS that could cause this or is it (as I fear) the CPU that has one broken core?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th December 2011, 10:31 PM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

Does the GUI system monitor show only 3 cores?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th December 2011, 10:49 PM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,874
linuxfirefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

Do these show some LNXCPU:00 type entries ?

ls -ld /sys/devices/*/*CPU*
ls -l /sys/bus/acpi/drivers/processor/


If those don't show 4 cpu entries 00, 01, 02, 03 - then look for a problem in
dmesg | less
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th December 2011, 11:03 PM
Gödel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London,England
Posts: 1,102
linuxfirefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

the cores are numbered 0 - 3 , are you sure you're counting correctly ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th December 2011, 06:11 AM
boinc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

From /var/log/messages:
Quote:
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020638] CPU0: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor stepping 03
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] Performance Events: AMD PMU driver.
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... version: 0
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... bit width: 48
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... generic registers: 4
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... value mask: 0000ffffffffffff
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... max period: 00007fffffffffff
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... fixed-purpose events: 0
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] ... event mask: 000000000000000f
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] NMI watchdog enabled, takes one hw-pmu counter.
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.020998] Booting Node 0, Processors #1
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.092007] NMI watchdog enabled, takes one hw-pmu counter.
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.092069] #2
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.163998] NMI watchdog enabled, takes one hw-pmu counter.
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.164012] Brought up 3 CPUs
Dec 16 19:58:45 obi-wan kernel: [ 0.164014] Total of 3 processors activated (20467.48 BogoMIPS).
Also Seti does not see more than 3 core's.

I'll try those commands stevea have suggested later (have to go to work now).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th December 2011, 12:29 PM
Gödel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London,England
Posts: 1,102
linuxfirefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

Possibly a bios setting has changed?

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/...tivated-phenom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2011, 12:46 PM
Sagitter Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Salento - Italy
Age: 33
Posts: 520
linuxfirefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

Quote:
Originally Posted by boinc View Post
Hello,

Just install Fedora Core 16 on a new machine with a AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor, but when I look at /proc/cpuinfo I see only three cpu cores. Seems like one is gone.

Is there anything in the OS that could cause this or is it (as I fear) the CPU that has one broken core?

Please show us the /etc/default/grub content in Fedora Core 16.
__________________
Homepage: http://www.fedoraos.wordpress.com
Wiki page: https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/User:Sagitter

Last edited by Sagitter; 16th December 2011 at 12:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th December 2011, 07:26 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,163
linuxfirefox
Re: Missing one CPU core

Are you sure you have a Phenom(tm) II x4 and not a Phenom(tm) II x3 ? How trustworthy is the vendor you bought the new machine from, or the cpu part to build it? It's not unknown for unscrupulous vendors to pull the old switcheroo on parts, even relabelling them to appear to be something they are not.
Check out Wikipedia AMD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, core, cpu, missing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora Core 6 missing files glen.robson Using Fedora 10 26th October 2007 04:18 PM
Help: Fedora Core CD ==> Missing ntoskrnl.exe ns168 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 15th June 2005 12:35 AM
missing mkfs in fedora core 1 HadroLepton Using Fedora 4 26th March 2004 04:27 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:22 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat