Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 11th December 2011, 10:49 PM
godSpell Offline

windows_7firefox
Fedora 16 64bit on desktop PC - Wireless problem

Hi all,

I'm new to Fedora so I'm sorry if this question is noobish. Also, could I please ask you all to elaborate to some details when giving suggestions and advices? Thanks in advanced.

Right, firstly, this problem I'm having is not just with Fedora but also with other Linux distros, namely Ubuntu and openSUSE. Although I just want help with Fedora now. I've searched on Internet for solutions but found none. That's why I'm turning to Fedora forums for help

Secondly, the problem details:
my desktop PC freezes immediately when it gets connected to my home wireless Internet connection. My PC specs are as follow:

Motherboard -- Asrock N68-S3 UCC
CPU -- AMD Phenom 2 X4 AM3 3.3 GHz
GPU -- MSI ATI Radeon HD 5450 1GB
RAM -- 8GB DDR3 1333
HDD -- 750GB SATA2 7200RPM, 80GB IDE 7200RPM
PCI Wireless card -- TP-LINK TL-WN851ND (Atheros AR9287 chipset)

Even on live CD, it completely freezes when connected to the wireless connection.
I think this is a compatiblity issue with the Atheros because the behaviour was exactly the same with Ubuntu and openSUSE. It can't be the wireless router or connection though because I've been running Ubuntu 10.04 64bit on my laptop for ages and it has no problem whatsoever.

Finally, there were some peculiar behaviours during the installation process. I installed it from the live CD and the first time I attempted, it froze. So, I had to press and hold the shutdown button. Then, robooted and tried it again and it worked.

Also, the very first run from the hdd, it froze. Again, I had to hard-shutdown and tried for second time. It worked by that point.

Fyi, I installed it on the secondary hdd, 80GB IDE slave but left the boot loader on the main drive. I also set the hdd to be encrypted during the installation (just thought I'd mention).