Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th December 2011, 10:44 AM
Catherine Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
windows_7chrome
Unhappy Copy error in Fedora

[B][SIZE=5]Hi, all

I've just installed Fedora 15. But when I copied some files, I've received a error code 1309.
What is the reason of error code? How can I fix it?

Last edited by leigh123linux; 11th December 2011 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Remove large bold fonts as we're not friggin blind!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th December 2011, 11:30 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: Copy error in Fedora

Please use normal size fonts to post.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th December 2011, 01:05 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,878
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Copy error in Fedora

What system are you using?
What were you doing?
How were you doing it?

The only references I've seen to error code 1309 are Mac OSX and Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th December 2011, 04:48 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: Copy error in Fedora

I believe error 1309 is a HFS error rather than a MAC OSX error that occurs when you try to copy a file larger than 2GB onto a HFS formatted drive.

HFS is a Mac filesystem, but I would bet the linux HFS modules pretty much would return the same errors as if it was running on Mac.

I am pretty much just stating my opinion on it since I don't know for certain that it would be the same, but sounds logical to me (Plus, it did occur while copying files, which is the same place it would occur in Mac OSX.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th December 2011, 04:50 PM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Birmingham, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 2,771
linuxfirefox
Re: Copy error in Fedora

To echo jpollard,

1) What were you running at the time? Fedora or Windows?
2) How did you try to copy files? Command line or a graphical program?

If command line, please post the command and exact output.

If a graphical program, was it Nautilus or Dolphin or something else? What exactly happened? The easiest thing to do in this case, especially if you're unsure, is to attach a screen-shot of the problem so we can see it. The Print Screen button (or some combination like Shift+PrntScrn) works in most environments.

[It actually took me an embarrassing amount to time to figure out how to attach images in this forum, so a clue: hit Reply (or the Advanced Mode button) rather than using the quick reply box, and scroll right down below the reply box to the well-camouflaged "Attach Files" section.]

Gareth
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th December 2011, 02:03 AM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,878
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Copy error in Fedora

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
I believe error 1309 is a HFS error rather than a MAC OSX error that occurs when you try to copy a file larger than 2GB onto a HFS formatted drive.

HFS is a Mac filesystem, but I would bet the linux HFS modules pretty much would return the same errors as if it was running on Mac.

I am pretty much just stating my opinion on it since I don't know for certain that it would be the same, but sounds logical to me (Plus, it did occur while copying files, which is the same place it would occur in Mac OSX.)
Either way, it is not a Linux error code - linux errors can only be one byte in size.

Error log entries, on the other hand, can have anything. But until more information is available, it just doesn't seem to be a Linux error.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th December 2011, 02:47 AM
fdrake Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47
linuxfirefox
Re: Copy error in Fedora

can you try verbose and see if we get more info:
Code:
cp -v file file_copy
dmesg | tail
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
copy, error, fedora

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input/output error when trying to copy DVD contents with DD jonrpick Using Fedora 9 5th March 2010 12:44 AM
Fedora 12 USB/DVD Copy Errors Arms84 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 3rd February 2010 08:12 AM
USB Fedora 10: How to create copy? movilogo Using Fedora 2 15th February 2009 10:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:58 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Piravam - Irati Instagram Photos - Ceres Travel Photos