Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 1st December 2011, 08:16 AM
stuartc Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Slow boot time with F14 on FS Amilo Pi 2550

Good Day

I am new to linux, and would like to know if the long boot time is normal, it takes bout 5min to 6min to boot up,
but after I log on it's fast, any way of speeding up the boot process?

Please I would like a simple guide or something as I am a n00b with linux, just figured out how to install divx and wine on it yesterday, so yea I'm very new to it.

Thank You in advance
Old 1st December 2011, 08:28 AM
teeolendo Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: Slow boot time with F14 on FS Amilo Pi 2550

I have the same problem, I hope to get a solution to that as well. It takes close to 20min for my fedora to boot up on my hp dv3-4043TX... newbie
Old 1st December 2011, 08:35 AM
stuartc Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

So it's normal? nothing wrong with my install setup then?
I must say that sometimes when I reboot or start up it takes close to 20min as well

Oh and another thing, how can I open files created with ms office publisher?
And how can I get a pdf printer app?
I would like to keep fedora as the only OS in this laptop, not interested in dual booting with windows

I'm really keen on improving my linux skills with the laptop

Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by teeolendo View Post
I have the same problem, I hope to get a solution to that as well. It takes close to 20min for my fedora to boot up on my hp dv3-4043TX... newbie

Last edited by stuartc; 1st December 2011 at 08:37 AM.
Old 1st December 2011, 08:42 AM
teeolendo Offline

linuxfirefox

I would say thatś there´s something definetly wrong with the setup I just haven figured out what that might on Fedora 16