Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 24th November 2011, 11:47 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

livecd-iso-to-disk is the 'best' method for writing Fedora images to USB, and according to the bug report, it ought to add a working repo= parameter. has anyone checked whether this is or is not the case?
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25th November 2011, 02:55 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

I really don't see how it could add a working repo= parameter for the reasons I stated above.

It might add one that works on that particular hardware combination, but if you use it on a different machine, it may or may not work.

Like in my case. If I create it on one machine where the USB stick is assigned /dev/sdb, then boot it on my other machine where it is assigned /dev/sdp the the repo= parameter would be completely wrong.

Shifting the blame back to the program that creates the USB media is the wrong way to do it, in my opinion, unless there is a way it can use a variable for the USB device and it gets assigned differently depending upon what the actual device assignment is.

The install should be able to work properly on various hardware configurations, not be locked into just one like it would be if the program that creates the USB install media hard codes a device assignment into the kernel parameter.

But, I am getting ready to install F16 on another machine here in the next few days, so I will try it out and see what happens. I think I will go ahead and create a USB stick this evening and see it the repo= parameter does indeed get added and what the device assignment it chooses will be.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 25th November 2011, 02:59 AM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

This just looks like a classic case of exactly what filesystem UUIDs are for, but failing that, looking at /proc/self/exe should work (as long as the packages are on the same filesystem as Anaconda, rather than in an image file mounted separately or whatnot).

Gareth
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 25th November 2011, 03:43 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

ok.. I just used livecd-iso-to-disk to create me a USB stic from the DVD.. (I had an old F16 beta image laying around on my hard drive and used it to test with.)

Code:
[root@tower20 media]# cd /home/Me
[root@tower20 Me]# livecd-iso-to-disk --format --reset-mbr "Fedora 16-Beta x86_64 DVD.iso" /dev/sdd1
Verifying image...
/home/Me/Fedora 16-Beta x86_64 DVD.iso:   6b121dab47f03cc5c2d9df07cd1bd08d
Fragment sums: 5328d6c1c751253174bac927766d9dee16a97233a1add25d34917625bdb2
Fragment count: 20
Press [Esc] to abort check.
Checking: 100.0%

The media check is complete, the result is: PASS.

It is OK to use this media.
WARNING: THIS WILL DESTROY ANY DATA ON /dev/sdd!!!
Press Enter to continue or ctrl-c to abort

8 bytes were erased at offset 0x52 (vfat)
they were: 46 41 54 33 32 20 20 20
Waiting for devices to settle...
mke2fs 1.41.14 (22-Dec-2010)
Filesystem label=LIVE
OS type: Linux
Block size=4096 (log=2)
Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
489600 inodes, 1957376 blocks
97868 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=0
Maximum filesystem blocks=2004877312
60 block groups
32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
8160 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks: 
	32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912, 819200, 884736, 1605632

Writing inode tables: done                            
Creating journal (32768 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 21 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first.  Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
/home/Me/Fedora 16-Beta x86_64 DVD.iso uses initrd.img w/o install.img
/usr/bin/livecd-iso-to-disk: line 998: [: too many arguments
Size of DVD image: 3542
Size of isolinux/initrd.img: 128
Available space: 6999
Copying DVD image to target device.
Fedora 16-Beta x86_64 DVD.iso
  3713005568 100%   10.28MB/s    0:05:44 (xfer#1, to-check=0/1)

sent 3713458907 bytes  received 31 bytes  10779271.23 bytes/sec
total size is 3713005568  speedup is 1.00
Updating boot config file
Installing boot loader
/media/tgttmp.AUO6OA/syslinux is device /dev/sdd1
Target device is now set up with a Live image!
And the results so far look to be promising..

Here is what I get on the kernel line in extlinux.cong

Code:
label linux
  menu label ^Install or upgrade Fedora
  menu default
  kernel vmlinuz
  append initrd=initrd.img LANG=en_US.UTF-8 repo=hd:UUID=2b1354a8-3c4c-44ac-8b05-35868139cce6:/ quiet
Sooo.. It appears that ti does put the UUID in the repo= parameter instead of a device.

Will try booting with it and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 25th November 2011, 03:48 AM
Gareth Jones Offline
Official Gnome 3 Sales Rep. (and Adminstrator)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 2,750
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
Code:
append initrd=initrd.img LANG=en_US.UTF-8 repo=hd:UUID=2b1354a8-3c4c-44ac-8b05-35868139cce6:/ quiet
Sooo.. It appears that ti does put the UUID in the repo= parameter instead of a device.
That looks very promising...

Gareth
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 25th November 2011, 03:59 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

It boots, and I can start the installer, and the repo= parameter does indeed show up if I go in and edit the kernel line in the boot screen..

I can't go through the install right now to see if it does work (I have to copy some stuff off that machine first), but I don't see why it wouldn't.

I also figured out why I have been having issues with getting the repo= parameter to work for me before.

all of the documentation I have found on the repo= parameter state that it is repo=hd:/dev/sdX/<path-to-repo>

So, I have been putting the path to the repo (/Packages)in there, but I noticed that the repo= line that livecd-iso-to-disk puts in uses / as the path.

Playing around with it some more, Thee boot screen comes up, and I select to install and then it goes to a black screen and hangs up. I can't even switch to a console to check out the logs. All I can do is to reboot.

Looking at what it created on the USB stick looks weird to me. It put the DVD ISO image on the USB drive as an ISO file. I have the syslinux stuff and then the ISO file.

So it looks like I did something wrong creating the USB stick, but don't have the time to mess with it much more this evening. (Besides, I can't think straight after stuffing myself full of ham earlier )

Last edited by DBelton; 25th November 2011 at 04:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 29th November 2011, 06:54 AM
Aldindha Octa A Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

I've tried to use repo= parameter on kernel mode, but still couldn't work for me.
In my case, I use USB Flash drive 8 GB & LiveUSB to install the DVD .iso to flash drive. My flash drive is sdb1 and I use this command in kernel mode:
repo=/dev/sdb1/repodata

I think /repodata is directory of the repo, but it doesn't work and the installer still ask me to configure network to get internet access. So, I restart the machine and change my command become repo=/dev/sdb1/Packages because I think installer need some packages. But, once again it doesn't work.

Someone please help me to fix this issue

-Aldindha Octa Airlangga

Last edited by Aldindha Octa A; 29th November 2011 at 07:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 29th November 2011, 07:10 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

try using

repo=hd:/dev/sdb1/

See how that works for you

Edit: I know the repo=hd:/dev/sdb1/Packages doesn't work, I've tried that one myself before
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 29th November 2011, 08:16 AM
Aldindha Octa A Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
try using

repo=hd:/dev/sdb1/

See how that works for you

Edit: I know the repo=hd:/dev/sdb1/Packages doesn't work, I've tried that one myself before
Still doesn't work
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 29th November 2011, 08:15 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
linuxfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

drop the trailing slash? or try using the UUID, as l-i-t-d does?
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 1st December 2011, 03:20 AM
mwesten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 172
linuxmintfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamW View Post
livecd-iso-to-disk is the 'best' method for writing Fedora images to USB, and according to the bug report, it ought to add a working repo= parameter. has anyone checked whether this is or is not the case?
The livecd-iso-to-disk script works fine for me with the F16 32-bit DVD ISO.
The parameter added was: repo=hd:UUID=F2A2-3DEE:/

This format of this parameter appears to be as follows...

After hd: the filesystem to search is identified either as a device (/dev/sdb1), with a UUID (as above), or by filesystem label (LABEL=LIVE). Then there's a colon, and finally a path (starting with /) to the ISO file. The livecd-iso-to-disk script puts it in the root directory, so the path is just /.

Note that Anaconda appears to be looking for the ISO file, not the "Packages" directory.

This seems to be why LiveUSB Creator (for Windows) doesn't work for the DVD. When given the DVD ISO, it builds a USB with all the package files extracted.

FYI, this is what I do to make and use a bootable USB of the DVD with LiveUSB Creator for Windows:

Download the Netinst ISO (Fedora-16-i386-netinst.iso) and use that with LiveUSB Creator. (The Netinst ISO is just the DVD ISO minus all the package files.)
When it's done, copy the DVD ISO file to the root directory of the USB you just made.
Boot the USB and hit the TAB key at the "Install or upgrade Fedora" screen.
Add repo=hd:LABEL=LIVE:/ to the end of the vmlinuz line shown, and hit Enter.
Install. : )

This should work regardless of drive configuration because LiveUSB Creator automatically sets the label of the USB to "LIVE", and this uses that little tidbit to find the ISO file.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 15th April 2012, 04:03 AM
plugntest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1
windows_7firefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

mwesten's solution worked for me.
thank you!

Last edited by plugntest; 15th April 2012 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 20th June 2012, 12:17 AM
mvairavan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: el paso
Posts: 1
windows_7chrome
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwesten View Post

Download the Netinst ISO (Fedora-16-i386-netinst.iso) and use that with LiveUSB Creator. (The Netinst ISO is just the DVD ISO minus all the package files.)
When it's done, copy the DVD ISO file to the root directory of the USB you just made.
Boot the USB and hit the TAB key at the "Install or upgrade Fedora" screen.
Add repo=hd:LABEL=LIVE:/ to the end of the vmlinuz line shown, and hit Enter.
Install. : )

This should work regardless of drive configuration because LiveUSB Creator automatically sets the label of the USB to "LIVE", and this uses that little tidbit to find the ISO file.
I am trying to do by this method, but i have a different situation here.
My pen drive is actually 4 gb so its not enough for both net install stuff from liveusb creator and dvd iso.. So what i am trying to do is put the dvd iso in another external hardrive and give its name in the repo option like

repo=hd:LABEL=Elements:/

Where Elements is my external harddrive. But the problem here is my external harddrive is not getting mounted. So how can i mount my external hard drive during os installation??
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 20th June 2012, 04:44 AM
mwesten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 172
linuxmintfirefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

Yes, it seems like an 8GB stick would be needed, but what you want to do should be OK too. Is the filesystem on the external drive FAT or NTFS? If it's FAT, try using all capital letters for the name, e.g. LABEL=ELEMENTS. If it's NTFS, I've seen problems with that and it may not be easy to get it working.
__________________
Mint 13 & 15, Windows XP & 7
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 1st September 2012, 12:00 AM
nevyntanis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: fedora 16 requires internet to install?

Thanks mwesten, this worked for me perfectly, and oh so quite, no dvd noise lol...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, install, internet, requires

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 16 requires 768 Mb memory to install [?] meine Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 16th May 2012 12:38 AM
FC15 Alpha install requires internet connection downer F15 Development 10 21st March 2011 11:25 PM
Kickstart DVD always requires internet access cheesemp Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 8th September 2009 04:32 PM
New FC6 Install Hangs, requires reboot vashee7 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 29th May 2007 06:17 PM
Installed Fedora 3 from harddrive/internet and installing package requires CD disk 1? zeriod Using Fedora 0 22nd February 2005 02:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:24 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat