Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th November 2011, 08:54 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

I've installed F 16 with yum preupgrade (and run yum reinstall bash). Firefox and Thunderbird would not start. Uninstalled / installed both, and Thuunderbird is fine, but Firefox still won't start. When I tried to start Firefox in konsole, I get:

# firefox
XPCMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/xulrunner-2/libxpcom.so:
libhunspell-1.2.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM


Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th November 2011, 10:04 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

Are your firefox and xulrunner and hunspell packages all updated to the latest? Here is what I get on a fully updated F16 install, and ff works fine for me.
Code:
[paul@CarCrusher ~]$ rpm -qa | grep -e firefox -e xulrunner -e hunspell
xulrunner-8.0-1.fc16.i686
hunspell-1.3.2-1.fc16.i686
firefox-8.0-3.fc16.i686
hunspell-en-0.20110318-1.fc16.noarch
Edit: and there is no "libhunspell-1.2.so.0" file on my system, but there is "/libhunspell-1.3.so.0".

Last edited by PabloTwo; 19th November 2011 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th November 2011, 03:13 AM
urilabob Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 121
macosfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

Hiya; try checking your installed versions. I hit similar problems, it turned out that I still had firefox f15 installed, because parts of my upgrade had failed due to missing requires in yum (this in turn turned out to be due to some remnant ancient rpms, some as far back as f11, that hadn't been properly cleaned up in previous preupgrades). See, for example, http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=244259. I ended up removing everything pre-f16 and reinstalling everything that depended on them (eclipse, azureus, a couple of other bits). So far, it seems to be working - fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th November 2011, 04:48 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

It looks like I have one or two F15 packages that didn't get updated to F16 eg:

xulrunner-8.0-1.fc15.i686

or

libmikmod-3.2.0-12.beta2.fc15.i686

When I tried to yum update, for example xulrunner, I get No Packages marked for update. What is the best way to tackle identifying and updating the old packages ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th November 2011, 05:59 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

What is the output of this command on your system?
Code:
rpm -qa | grep -e firefox -e xulrunner -e hunspell
Keep in mind that ff8 and xulrunner8 might still be only in the F16 updates-testing repo, which is where I installed those from a day or two ago. 7.0.1 may still be the versions in the updates repo.

libmikmod-3.2.0-12.beta2.fc15.i686 is the current version for F16.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th November 2011, 07:17 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

rpm -qa | grep -e firefox -e xulrunner -e hunspell
xulrunner-8.0-1.fc15.i686
firefox-8.0-3.fc16.i686
hunspell-1.3.2-1.fc16.i686
hunspell-en-0.20110318-1.fc16.noarch


(I just noticed that YouTube videos don't play on the konqueror browser I am using until Firefox is fixed, but everything else I use on Fedora seems to be ok)

edit: YouTube videos now playing on konqueror

Last edited by Caravan Monster; 20th November 2011 at 07:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th November 2011, 07:33 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

I don't know why your xulrunner is still showing from the F15 repo, though it is the current release. You seem to be dealing with some negative effects of upgrading using preupgrade, something I have no experience with.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th November 2011, 07:50 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

No worries - thanks for helping. I'll wait and see if the package updates fix the problem as they arrive. Otherwise will reinstall F16 with live CD if problem persists.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th November 2011, 07:57 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

Here's one thing you could try:
Code:
yum --releasever=16 distribution-synchronization xulrunner
In fact, you could get brave and use an asterisk "*" in lieu of a specific package name or names.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th November 2011, 08:14 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

yum --releasever=16 distribution-synchronization xulrunner
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Setting up Distribution Synchronization Process
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package xulrunner.i686 0:7.0.1-1.fc16 will be a downgrade
---> Package xulrunner.i686 0:8.0-1.fc15 will be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Package: firefox-8.0-3.fc16.i686 (@updates-testing)
Requires: gecko-libs(x86-32) = 8.0
Removing: xulrunner-8.0-1.fc15.i686 (@anaconda-InstallationRepo-201105131946.i686/15)
gecko-libs(x86-32) = 8.0
Downgraded By: xulrunner-7.0.1-1.fc16.i686 (fedora)
gecko-libs(x86-32) = 7.0.1-1
You could try using --skip-broken to work around the problem
** Found 2 pre-existing rpmdb problem(s), 'yum check' output follows:
libmtp-hal-1.0.6-5.fc15.i686 has missing requires of libmtp = ('0', '1.0.6', '5.fc15')
xulrunner-8.0-1.fc15.i686 has missing requires of libhunspell-1.2.so.0
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th November 2011, 08:17 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

Better make that...
Code:
yum --releasever=16 --enablerepo=updates-tesing distribution-synchronization xulrunner
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20th November 2011, 08:26 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

yum --releasever=16 --enablerepo=updates-tesing distribution-synchronization xulrunner
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit


Error getting repository data for updates-tesing, repository not found
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th November 2011, 08:29 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
linuxfirefox
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

Or maybe just simply,
Code:
yum --enablerpo=updates-testing update xulrunner
will do the trick.

---------- Post added at 03:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:27 PM ----------

Yeah, I didn't catch my typo.... that's updates-testing, not updates-tesing
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th November 2011, 08:38 PM
Caravan Monster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Re: F16 Firefox Couldn't load XPCOM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloTwo View Post
Or maybe just simply,
Code:
yum --enablerpo=updates-testing update xulrunner
will do the trick.[COLOR="Silver"]
That did the trick ! xulrunner updated to F16 and Firefox is working again.

Thanks PabloTwo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f16, firefox, load, xpcom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couldn't load XPCOM pfnuesel Using Fedora 0 9th August 2011 04:05 PM
mozilla prism for Fedora 10 (couldn't load xpcom) EvilRobotDrew Using Fedora 3 9th January 2011 06:37 PM
Problem in Registration of XPCOM Component niteshkumar Programming & Packaging 1 6th January 2010 12:58 PM
FC4 - Firefox won't load CarbineReloaded Using Fedora 4 31st January 2006 04:02 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:01 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat