Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th November 2011, 06:15 AM
Gooddy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 152
linuxfirefox
Angry Alacarte и Fedora 16

Quote:
Alacarte и Fedora 16

It is not started!


[soz@localhost ~]$ alacarte
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/alacarte", line 22, in <module>
from Alacarte.MainWindow import MainWindow
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/Alacarte/MainWindow.py", line 19, in <module>
import gtk, gmenu, gobject, gio
ImportError: No module named gmenu
[soz@localhost ~]$
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th November 2011, 06:54 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Alacarte и Fedora 16

it doesnt work in F16. https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=734442
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th November 2011, 01:03 AM
Sagari Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Novosibirsk
Age: 47
Posts: 93
linuxfirefox
[SOLVED] alacarte alternative?

Hello,

In F16 (Gnome 3.2) I noticed alacarte tool stopped to run (complaining about missing gmenu module). Since the developer(s) promise no fix until at least Gnome 3.4, an alternate means to edit menus would be very appreciated.

Could someone suggest anything similar?

Thanks.

Last edited by Sagari; 19th November 2011 at 12:24 PM. Reason: solution offered
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th November 2011, 07:56 AM
TheBigRed Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 284
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

there is an alternative to Alacarte called
"lxmed". It is a Java application, so RPMS.

avaiable on http://lxmed.sourceforge.net/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th November 2011, 12:24 PM
Sagari Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Novosibirsk
Age: 47
Posts: 93
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBigRed View Post
there is an alternative to Alacarte called
"lxmed". It is a Java application, so RPMS.

avaiable on http://lxmed.sourceforge.net/
Thanks, that worked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th November 2011, 03:49 PM
geolab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 119
linuxchrome
what's a substitute for alacarte

hi. I noticed alacarte is not working in f16... any idea how to link a icon in gnome3?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st November 2011, 01:46 PM
MrMarcus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
windows_xp_2003ie
Re: what's a substitute for alacarte

Try LXMED. You can find it at http://lxmed.sourceforge.net/

Follow the instructions and start it up with lxmed (console) or menu editor in applications.
If you have issues starting it up related to a distribution error message do the following:

1. yum install beesu
2. edit the file /usr/bin/lxmed and replace all the content with the following:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
    beesu "java -jar /opt/lxmed/LXMenuEditor.jar"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd November 2011, 03:27 PM
victordfb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

It has worked for me too. But I'm using Fedora 16 and I haven't gksu instaled. So I've edited the lxmed comand, removing gksu and executing "sudo lxmed" instead.

Hope to help someone else.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th November 2011, 08:15 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Threads merged
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th November 2011, 01:10 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,264
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

The fix mentioned in the bug report concerning fetching the needed package components from F15 works fine here.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th November 2011, 04:23 AM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,372
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Okay, I followed the instructions on the web site and here to install lxmed. However, every time I try to run it, either from the command line or from the menu, I get this message:

Another instance exists

Another instance of application is still running.

However, there cannot be another instance since I have not previously started it. I also did a reboot just to make sure.

java -version
java version "1.6.0_22"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.10.4) (fedora-60.1.10.4.fc16-x86_64)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.0-b11, mixed mode)

Is this indicating that the OpenJDK is incompatible? The web site seemed to indicate that it should work. This is the latest version of lxmed available.
__________________
StephenH

"We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th November 2011, 04:50 AM
oboedad55 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Amerika
Age: 59
Posts: 35
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Have a look here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/lxme.../topic/4644766

I emailed the developer and he sent an updated .jar file. I did not try it as I got alacarte working by following the directions outlined in the link Dan cited.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th November 2011, 03:14 PM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,372
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by oboedad55 View Post
Have a look here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/lxme.../topic/4644766

I emailed the developer and he sent an updated .jar file. I did not try it as I got alacarte working by following the directions outlined in the link Dan cited.
Okay. I did so and am awaiting a reply. Since I do not want to bring in all of the Gnome dependencies, I am not going to try to get alacarte working.
__________________
StephenH

"We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30th November 2011, 04:58 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,264
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Just a quick heads-up to anyone using the F-15 package fix linked in the bug report: If you attempt to follow the terminal commands for the 64 bit version, it will fail. Seems like either the guy fat-fingered the instructions, or my spare glasses ain't working so good.

Either way, this was the second time I had to read the error in the terminal, and re-read/re-think what I had just copy & pasted, and then see the difference and adjust the commands accordingly.

If you follow the manual copy procedure, you'll get by just fine.

EDIT: If you follow his basic instructions, but use these adapted/edited commands, it should work fine, too. (Edits in red)

(As root: )
Code:
 wget http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/releases/15/Fedora/x86_64/os/Packages/gnome-menus-3.0.1-1.fc15.x86_64.rpm
Code:
rpm2cpio http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/fedora/linux/releases/15/Fedora/x86_64/os/Packages/gnome-menus-3.0.1-1.fc15.x86_64.rpm | cpio -ivd
Code:
cp /tmp/copy/usr/lib64/libgnome-menu.so.2* /usr/lib64
cp /tmp/copy/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/gmenu.so /usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30th November 2011, 07:29 PM
CronoCloud Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 451
linuxfirefox
Re: alacarte alternative?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post

If you follow the manual copy procedure, you'll get by just fine.

EDIT: If you follow his basic instructions, but use these adapted/edited commands, it should work fine, too. (Edits in red)
Yep. Thanks Dan. Just wanted to add that since XFCE uses alacarte for editing it's menus so XFCE users can use the fix as well.

CronoCloud
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
и, alacarte, alternative, fedora, fedora 16, gnome, substitute

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Alacarte doesn't work in 16 xjonquilx F16 Development 2 18th October 2011 09:22 PM
Alternative to Alacarte? ToddAndMargo Using Fedora 17 27th May 2011 09:24 PM
Alacarte kaiwan Using Fedora 0 16th May 2008 04:50 PM
Alacarte - Permission Error Conquistador Using Fedora 4 28th September 2007 07:55 PM
Alacarte Problem in FC6 RIKT Using Fedora 2 5th November 2006 10:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:40 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat