Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2011, 10:47 PM
nhasian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
internal HDD shows as removable devices

Fresh install of Fedora16. For some reason a few of my partitions show up as removable devices. how can i fix this?

here is my /etc/fstab


Code:
#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Fri Nov 11 06:03:08 2011
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/mapper/luks-aaf05948-5549-4205-81d8-c41b3b843f99 /                       btrfs   defaults,compress=lzo        1 1
UUID=bc79b651-9f26-4c62-aec6-072c788ab86d /boot                   ext4    defaults        1 2
/dev/mapper/luks-2a03a0bd-c73a-4320-8819-608b5bc94e1f /home                   btrfs   defaults,compress=lzo        1 2
/dev/mapper/luks-c37bb321-fe13-4b33-99ac-1fc9fa325264 swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	removabledevices.png
Views:	109
Size:	26.6 KB
ID:	22072  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th November 2011, 12:49 AM
leonardo85 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

I also have the same problem with my new fedora 16
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th November 2011, 11:51 PM
nhasian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

Internal partitions still show up as removable devices. I haven't found out how to fix it but since I'm using btrfs I disabled fsck on the partitions by changing the last variable from 2 to 0 in /etc/fstab as follows:


Code:
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Fri Nov 11 06:03:08 2011
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/mapper/luks-aaf05948-5549-4205-81d8-c41b3b843f99 /                       btrfs   defaults,compress=lzo        1 0
UUID=bc79b651-9f26-4c62-aec6-072c788ab86d /boot                   ext4    defaults        1 2
/dev/mapper/luks-2a03a0bd-c73a-4320-8819-608b5bc94e1f /home                   btrfs   defaults,compress=lzo        1 0
/dev/mapper/luks-c37bb321-fe13-4b33-99ac-1fc9fa325264 swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st November 2011, 01:17 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
linuxfirefox
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

So far, I've only noticed this behavior in WIN 7 - so it appears that [maybe] there is something beyond LINUX going on here?
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st November 2011, 05:15 AM
nhasian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

I'm afraid I'll have to disagree. I've had ubuntu 11.04 and then 11.10 on this laptop and did not have this issue. I'm not sure if its because I'm using the btrfs or because i'm using fedora 16 (installed from the dvd installer) but this is a new issue that surfaced for me. I just recently switched from Ubuntu to Fedora so I expect there to be some growing pains

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly Willy View Post
So far, I've only noticed this behavior in WIN 7 - so it appears that [maybe] there is something beyond LINUX going on here?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st November 2011, 06:18 AM
Chilly Willy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,258
linuxfirefox
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

As you said & I said, we both have OS's that it does NOT do this with, (F14 does NOT for me & mine that DOES, is M$ - this being the "KEY") so this is what leads me to believe it goes BEYOND the OS. (especially linux) What's causing it? I'm not sure, maybe something with the hardware's detection, as in the way it reports itself.

There were a LOT of dramatic changes made to both OS's that ARE doing it!!! Maybe they DON'T like the way the HW reports. It was said about PULSEAUDIO as to why it didn't work at first was the info it saw from something it needed that wasn't right. (ALSA driver IIRC) it wanted DB levels, (again IIRC) - you can search here or PA's site for the info, if needed.


BTW: is this in any way "hurting" your system? - for ME it is not, so I just ignore it. (especially since I only run M$ 1%, maybe 2%, of the time)
__________________
Chilly Willy, Tux's little cousin...

By its very nature, Windows is a PANE!

Last edited by Chilly Willy; 21st November 2011 at 06:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th March 2012, 07:05 AM
vaibhavatul47 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dehradun, India
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

I also have the same problem, but i use that disk extensively so at every startup before using any application I have to make sure that weather that particular partiton has been opened or not .... ! please help!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th March 2012, 07:51 AM
solo2101 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: behind that screen...
Posts: 813
linuxchrome
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

the little arrow is not to show it as a removable, but rather to unmount the device once is mounted.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd March 2012, 01:03 PM
vaibhavatul47 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dehradun, India
Posts: 14
linuxfirefox
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by solo2101 View Post
the little arrow is not to show it as a removable, but rather to unmount the device once is mounted.
can something be done so that the given drive is always mounted.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st March 2012, 08:15 PM
nhasian Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 14
linuxchrome
Re: internal HDD shows as removable devices

I never did figure out how to fix it in F16, but when I upgraded to F17 the problem went away. It should also be noted that with F16 I was using btrfs on encrypted partitions. Since the F17 Alpha's anaconda installer had a bug that wouldn't allow me to use btrfs I used EXT4 this time on a non-encrypted drive. I'll have to do a fresh install with F17 final to switch back to btrfs, I was getting much better performance than with EXT4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
devices, hdd, internal, removable, shows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating with removable devices? infernosoft Using Fedora 0 24th November 2009 05:57 PM
Fedora doesn't detect removable devices any more PeTzZz Using Fedora 12 7th August 2006 02:09 PM
Gnome problem with removable devices KalasMannen Using Fedora 2 26th December 2005 09:34 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:03 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Starbucks Taft Travel Photos - Parsik Nagar Photos - Lady Moon Travel Photos on Instagram - Queen Street Auckland City Photos - Shoppers Stop Instagram Photos