Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2011, 05:01 PM
jmbnyc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
linuxchrome
Oh no! Something has gone wrong.

I need some help. I did an "upgrade" from F15 to F16 on my Lenovo X220 this morning. After it completed the install and rebooted, I see the "verne" splash screen and then I get the "Oh no!" screen. Not sure what I can do at this point. Any pointers would be very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2011, 05:25 PM
Bloocurve Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
linuxsafari
Re: Oh no! Something has gone wrong.

Common bug, listed here: http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Common...file_installed

While I use KDE, I did experience this bug when I tried GNOME Shell. It's bugs like this that remind me why I disable SELinux... :P
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2011, 05:31 PM
jmbnyc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
linuxchrome
Re: Oh no! Something has gone wrong.

Great News. I found the solution. Apparently, the "caribou" rpm is incorrectly installed with the i686 version on x86-64 machines. So, after you get the "Oh no!" screen, hit ctrl-alt-f3 and proceed to logon. Then you become root and do the following:

rpm -e --nodeps caribou
yum install caribou

make sure you get the x86-64 version.

Then ctrl-alt-del and bingo it works.

I found this info here:

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=741075
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2011, 07:32 PM
Bloocurve Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 38
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Oh no! Something has gone wrong.

Really? That's nice... weird how it doesn't affect KDE though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th November 2011, 07:42 PM
jmbnyc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 36
linuxchrome
Re: Oh no! Something has gone wrong.

Yes, that was the problem and glad that is fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th November 2011, 10:31 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
linuxfirefox
Re: Oh no! Something has gone wrong.

damn, I thought that would be just a transient issue. I wonder what's causing the arch mismatch. investigation time...
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wrong

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora says the password is wrong but it is not wrong at all birdwatcher Using Fedora 7 19th October 2011 12:08 AM
what's wrong with KDE? qinhan Using Fedora 1 23rd October 2006 03:00 PM
What's wrong with this? NHskipro Using Fedora 0 15th September 2005 02:15 AM
This has /got/ to be wrong (FC4) Andy F Hardware & Laptops 2 25th August 2005 10:21 AM
Up2date icon: You are at wrong place at the wrong time. tonytiger Using Fedora 2 28th May 2005 11:39 AM


Current GMT-time: 19:49 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat