Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th November 2011, 11:35 PM
rhoaste Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
windows_7firefox
Exclamation Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Has anyone managed to get VMware tools working for Kernel 3.x for Fedora 16 ?

I get a number of errors during the compile when running the vmware tools install script, after which start-up of the vmware services does not properly occur.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2011, 04:47 AM
yngmike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
windows_7ie
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Nope, looking here as well, somebody please post back if they know.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2011, 08:43 AM
rhoaste Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
linuxfirefox
Exclamation Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Here's more information on the problem I'm experiencing installing VMware tools:

VM Software: VMware Workstation Version 8
Host OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate X64
Guest OS: Fedora 16 (i386)
Guest Kernel: 3.1.0-7.fc16.i686.PAE

Log from VMware tools install operation is attached.
Attached Files
File Type: zip vmwarelog.zip (4.6 KB, 1081 views)

Last edited by rhoaste; 11th November 2011 at 08:44 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2011, 06:38 PM
John Grant Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1
macoschrome
Unhappy Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

You've got further than I did. I've just installed VMware on a Mac (OS-X 10.6) and when I select "install VMware tools" the CD icon goes briefly to black and then back to grey. I tried downloading the tools myself from the VMware website and loading the .iso file into the CD drive directly, but that file seems to date from 2008 and says it needs a GCC compiler which it can't find (though I think it's supposed to be included in Fedora 16; the GCC site only seems to have sources, which aren't much use without a compiler).

I'm only doing all this so I can run Xilinx's development environment on the Mac. I thought Windows was bad, but this is just silly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th November 2011, 11:41 PM
egurski Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Shallotte, NC
Posts: 170
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

There is a patch available for F16's kernel. Try VMware communities first and they should point you to the patch...

or try the following link:

http://www.linuxinsight.com/vmware-w...nel-3.1.0.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th November 2011, 09:46 AM
rhoaste Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by egurski View Post
There is a patch available for F16's kernel. Try VMware communities first and they should point you to the patch...

or try the following link:

http://www.linuxinsight.com/vmware-w...nel-3.1.0.html
Thanks for that. But whatever it was, it didn't work for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th November 2011, 05:53 PM
parsek77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by egurski View Post
There is a patch available for F16's kernel. Try VMware communities first and they should point you to the patch...

or try the following link:

http://www.linuxinsight.com/vmware-w...nel-3.1.0.html
Egurski, could you please provide more detail or link from Vmware forum? The patch didn't work for me too, b/c it was looking for a tar archive that couldn't find.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th November 2011, 09:32 PM
rhoaste Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Grant View Post
... and says it needs a GCC compiler which it can't find (though I think it's supposed to be included in Fedora 16; the GCC site only seems to have sources, which aren't much use without a compiler).
John, it sounds to me as if you don't have the necessary prerequisites in place to install vmware tools:

Code:
yum install kernel-PAE-devel kernel-headers gcc make
reboot
./vmware-install.pl
Today I did a yum update, and installed the updated VMware Workstation V8.0.1. However there appears to be no change. The installation of vmware tools still doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st November 2011, 06:13 PM
ediamond Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
windows_7ie
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

The patch referenced above is for making the VMware Workstation kernel modules during the WS install process on Linux hosts runing 3.x kernels. There still doesn't seem to be any VMware Tools support for Guest VMs sporting 3.x kernels.

I put a post on the on the VMTN Workstation forum last week but no answers yet. 234 views in 3 days, so there is interest, but it seems everyone else is just as lost. Here's the link to that post, if you're interested (http://communities.vmware.com/thread/336812?tstart=60).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th November 2011, 07:53 PM
nippur Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Surprisingly,
VMware tools works fine for me, atm (29 nov 2011) , and out-of-the-box!

Host OS Fedora 14 at 2.6.35.14-103.fc14.x86_64
Guest OS Fedora 16 (i386) at 3.1.2-1.fc16.i686, packages fully updated to 29.11.2011
VMware® Player 3.1.4 build-385536 (part of VMware Workstation 7.1.4 build-385536)

compiled very nicely on Fedora 16 although it failed on Fedora 15
All functions (copy paste guest/host, resizing window etc etc) worked just fine.

only that *beep* gnome3-shell, still at fallback
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 7th December 2011, 09:32 PM
misa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

I have a variant patch for VMware Fusion 3 (which comes with VMware Tools 8.4.7)

http://people.rpath.com/~misa/patche...-linux3.tar.gz

Use at your own risk, of course, it works for me, Unity included.

If the shell script complains that vmware tools is not installed, you can comment the lines that test $vmver around lines 29-30.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17th February 2012, 05:37 PM
breimer273 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5
macoschrome
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

I know that this is a little bit older but I thought I would post and let people know how I did it. For reference I am running VMware Fusion v3.1.3 on OSX snow leopard as my native OS. Using FC 16 I had to
Code:
sudo yum update
to get the latest kernel
then I could
Code:
sudo yum install kernel-devel.x86_64
Note that I am running a 64 bit version of Fedora so your command for the 32 bit folks would be (i think)
Code:
sudo yum install kernel-devel-.i686
Then vmware tools installed no problem. Also make sure that you have gcc installed.
Code:
sudo yum install gcc
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th February 2012, 02:34 AM
misa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
macoschrome
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Still fails here (Snow Leopard, Fusion 3.1.3) after applying all updates. I doubt that running kernel-PAE makes a difference in my case:

/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmhgfs-only/request.c:45:32: error: ‘SPIN_LOCK_UNLOCKED’ undeclared here (not in a function)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th February 2012, 04:07 PM
breimer273 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5
windows_7chrome
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by misa View Post
Still fails here (Snow Leopard, Fusion 3.1.3) after applying all updates. I doubt that running kernel-PAE makes a difference in my case:

/tmp/vmware-root/modules/vmhgfs-only/request.c:45:32: error: ‘SPIN_LOCK_UNLOCKED’ undeclared here (not in a function)
That looks like a compile error. How did you initiate the installation?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th February 2012, 04:20 PM
misa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
macoschrome
Re: Fedora 16 - VMware tools

Got Fusion to expose the ISO. Mounted, untarred the tar.gz, then ran the vmware-install.pl (I don't remember the exact file name). At the end of the installation it offered to run the configurator, and that's when it tries to compile modules.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, tools, vmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Fedora 14 on VMware – How to Install VMware Tools on Fedora 14 yueling Using Fedora 6 29th August 2011 09:58 AM
Fedora 10 and VMware tools quarinteen Using Fedora 2 15th June 2009 05:42 PM
Fedora 9 VMware Tools mikntwd Using Fedora 0 10th December 2008 04:53 PM
VMWare-Tools over Fedora roscaman Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 20th October 2008 11:42 AM
VMware tools and Fedora 8 revisited Mr. Protocol Using Fedora 1 21st March 2008 02:25 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:09 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Hawthorne Travel Photos - Petroupolis Travel Photos on Instagram - Yanamalakuduru