Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th October 2011, 02:07 AM
chiuyan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
windows_7firefox
CPU cores are not detected

I have a i7-930 system. Fedora 15 won't detect all cores. I only see 4 cores instead of 8. HT is enabled and other OS is seeing them correctly.

This seems a Fedora issue, but I don't know where to make the change. Please advice. Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th October 2011, 02:08 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,097
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

Can you post what this command shows?
Quote:
lscpu
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2011, 02:28 AM
chiuyan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
windows_7firefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order: Little Endian
CPU(s): 4
On-line CPU(s) list: 0-3
Thread(s) per core: 1
Core(s) per socket: 4
CPU socket(s): 1
NUMA node(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 26
Stepping: 5
CPU MHz: 2807.039
BogoMIPS: 5501.73
Virtualization: VT-x
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 256K
L3 cache: 8192K
NUMA node0 CPU(s): 0-3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2011, 03:15 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,097
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

That's weird, so you have HT turned on in the Bios since windows sees the hyperthreading?

Have you confirmed that in the BIOS?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th October 2011, 03:19 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,199
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

Funny, Intel says your i7-930 is a 4 core CPU. Check the specs here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th October 2011, 03:22 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,097
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloTwo View Post
Funny, Intel says your i7-930 is a 4 core CPU. Check the specs here.
No, he's right, there are 4 cores but notice the Intel spec sheet just below the "# of Cores 4" also says:
Quote:
# of Threads 8
Four cores with 8 threads means 2 threads per core -> hence a Hyperthreaded cpu

Under Linux, the hyperthreads show as cores, I suppose you could claim they're not really but "top", /proc/cpuinfo, and the kernel consider them as cores

Last edited by marko; 18th October 2011 at 03:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th October 2011, 03:38 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,199
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

OK... I'll just slip back under my rock here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th October 2011, 08:05 AM
RHamel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 560
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

What does this show?

Code:
dmesg | grep -i cpu | grep 'Intel(R) Core(TM)'
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th October 2011, 09:17 AM
chiuyan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
windows_7firefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

This is what rescue system is showing on the same server. Cores are identified correctly.

Architecture: x86_64
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
CPU(s): 8
Thread(s) per core: 2
Core(s) per socket: 4
CPU socket(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 26
Stepping: 5
CPU MHz: 1600.000
Virtualization: VT-x
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 256K
L3 cache: 8192K


I suppose a package is missing? I have upgraded to Fedora 16, but I still have the problem.



This is what
dmesg | grep -i cpu | grep 'Intel(R) Core(TM)' is showing

[ 0.030815] CPU0: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz stepping 05
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th October 2011, 10:27 AM
Adunaic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, UK
Posts: 922
linuxfirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

When you say it is not seeing them, how are you "viewing" them?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18th October 2011, 11:17 PM
chiuyan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
windows_7firefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adunaic View Post
When you say it is not seeing them, how are you "viewing" them?
With rescue system (from datacenter) I see them correctly, booting the same server with Fedora will not show them.
/proc/cpuinfo only shows 4 cores.

---------- Post added at 09:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:34 PM ----------

I tried a minimal CentOS 6 install and cores are identified correctly then a Fedora minimal install and problem comes again. I don't understand why.

Last edited by chiuyan; 18th October 2011 at 09:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18th October 2011, 11:48 PM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,991
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

The identification of cores and hyperthreading happens in the kernel - there is no extra package that controls this.
Yes it appears that *some* fedora kernel has a problem, and likely the corresponding kernel.org kernel.

So the question is - which Fedora kernel are you running ? Please post
uname -a
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th October 2011, 01:22 AM
chiuyan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
windows_7firefox
Re: CPU cores are not detected

Hmm, I found this setting added to kernel acpi=off and deleted it. Now cores are displayed, but I see few errors in messages. It's strange as this is a new and not modified minimal installation. I'll keep you updated.

---------- Post added at 11:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:05 PM ----------

So far, everything seems ok. I don't understand why acpi=off was automatically added to the kernel set up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cores, cpu, detected

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not all CPU cores detected intermittent problem. notageek Linux Chat 7 29th April 2012 06:23 AM
Unlocked all 4 cores on Phenom II pythagorean Wibble 0 27th February 2011 01:39 AM
Fast cores vs many cores? Thebinaryman Hardware & Laptops 4 30th March 2010 09:08 AM
Heat in one of the 2 Cores (Processor) notme Hardware & Laptops 6 23rd August 2009 07:35 PM
How many cores would you like, sir? Wayne Wibble 30 7th April 2007 01:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:05 (Tuesday, 25-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Chipping Sodbury Photos on Instagram - Bulolo Photos on Instagram - Muradnagar Instagram Photos