Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th September 2011, 04:52 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,226
linuxopera
What good is "Open With Software Install"?

When I right-click on a rpm I download, I am given the option to "Open With Software Install". It starts the software install process but errors out on authentication. Why bother to have it as a right-click menu choice if it doesn't work?

I used "yum install" from terminal to install Opera, but I would prefer to just right-click on the file in my Downloads folder and install from there. I understand that root's password may be required, but why am I not prompted for it?
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th September 2011, 10:00 AM
Cope57 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 34.6382,-98.3848
Age: 47
Posts: 9
linuxiceweasel
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Did you give the rpm the permissions to execute?

A simple way to do so without going to the command line is to right click the file and look under properties. There is a selection box that you could check for executing the file as a program. Then re run the application you were using before to launch it.
__________________
Computers do not have problems, they have users.
~Cope57
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th September 2011, 10:10 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,070
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Have you tried:
rpm -ivh http://url.to.the/file.rpm (that may be local or internet)
__________________
Notebook: Samsung NC210/NC110 CPU: Intel 2*1600 Mhz RAM: 1024 MB DDR2 OS: Fedora 19 DE: Awesome
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite L670 CPU: Intel(r) 2*1872 Mhz RAM: 3072 MB DDR3 OS: Fedora 17 DE: Awesome
Fedora Manual (RTFM) | The Linux Documentation Project | Script-Tools
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th September 2011, 10:48 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

moved over to General Support since it looks like solutions are being offered. (David, ya gotta put more VENOM into it if you want a real rant! )
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th September 2011, 10:56 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,226
linuxopera
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
Have you tried:
rpm -ivh http://url.to.the/file.rpm (that may be local or internet)
The point is to install without using the command line. I already stated that 'yum install' worked from the command line.

In Mageia 1 KDE, "Open with Software Installer" just works. It asks for root's password and installs the file.
It doesn't error out without ever asking for a password as Fedora 15 does.

"Open With Software Install" used to work in previous versions of Fedora.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th September 2011, 10:59 AM
sea Offline
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,070
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

What about Cope's suggestion?
That would not need CLI, but might be cause of your issue.
__________________
Notebook: Samsung NC210/NC110 CPU: Intel 2*1600 Mhz RAM: 1024 MB DDR2 OS: Fedora 19 DE: Awesome
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite L670 CPU: Intel(r) 2*1872 Mhz RAM: 3072 MB DDR3 OS: Fedora 17 DE: Awesome
Fedora Manual (RTFM) | The Linux Documentation Project | Script-Tools
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th September 2011, 11:08 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Batson View Post
When I right-click on a rpm I download, I am given the option to "Open With Software Install". It starts the software install process but errors out on authentication. Why bother to have it as a right-click menu choice if it doesn't work?

I used "yum install" from terminal to install Opera, but I would prefer to just right-click on the file in my Downloads folder and install from there. I understand that root's password may be required, but why am I not prompted for it?
Yeh its just another feature that doesnt work properly, maybe in time
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th September 2011, 11:08 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

BTW, I just went to Opera and tried it. Works fine on F15 32bit. Started to install, pop-up box asked for authorization and install completed. Maybe just 64 bit is an issue? Maybe just a glitch on your install?
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th September 2011, 11:14 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob View Post
BTW, I just went to Opera and tried it. Works fine on F15 32bit. Started to install, pop-up box asked for authorization and install completed. Maybe just 64 bit is an issue? Maybe just a glitch on your install?
Morning Bob,

it could be a 64bit issue, im using 64 anyone else ???
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th September 2011, 11:17 AM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,226
linuxopera
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Yes, I was installing 64-bit Opera on 64-bit Fedora Gnome.
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th September 2011, 11:27 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Thought if i installed gnome-keyring.i686 etc.. it might work but no joy
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th September 2011, 11:31 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

One person's a 'glitch'; two's a 'bugzilla'. Anyone check? (Edit: - I'm notoriously bad at searching Bugzilla, but I can't find where it's been reported).
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th September 2011, 12:53 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,226
linuxopera
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

OK, bug reported: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=736004
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th September 2011, 01:25 PM
DBelton Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

Now this is interesting.

I have F15 x86_64 installed here.

I just tried to reproduce this on my system. I went and downloaded the same opera rpm that David Batson tried (as listed in his bug report)

Downloaded the package into ~/Downloads
Opened ~/Downloads and right clicked on the rpm file.
Selected Open with Software Install
Box popped up asking if I wished to install this file.. Clicked the Install button.

Another box popped up asking me to authenticate. I entered password, and it went on about the install, and worked normally.

What may be different is this:

I set this user up as an admin user when I installed Fedora 15. The software installer asked for this users password to authenticate, not root.

Possibly it the user isn't set up as an admin user, it's not working properly? (It should fall back to working like previous versions and ask for root password if user isn't an admin user??)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th September 2011, 01:45 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,226
linuxopera
Re: What good is "Open With Software Install"?

AFAIK, I set up my user as a normal user, not an admin user. Don't really remember the option during the install (but it could have been there).
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
good

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nautilus 3: Put the "open parent" and "home" button on the main toolbar alfatal Using Fedora 2 25th July 2011 03:20 PM
Open "Add/Remove Software" from CLI? cvenomz Using Fedora 4 4th May 2011 12:36 AM
[SOLVED] "yum" cannot access mirror sites but "Add/Remove Software" can. feimingchen Using Fedora 7 16th March 2011 09:21 PM
"install to hard drive" application won't open skruf Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 22nd July 2009 11:36 AM
impossible installing rpms or open Fedora's "software manager" oibafbu Using Fedora 4 8th August 2006 12:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:57 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat