writing Farsi in LyX
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question writing Farsi in LyX

Hi
    I just installed LyX and it fails to give PDF output when I write in Persian (Farsi).
    I searched around but couldn't understand the guides bcos I'm an absolute beginner.
    Please tell me what should I do.
    Thanks!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: writing Farsi in LyX

Hi, akgma,

I've done some searching but only found limited information. (I use straight LaTeX rather than LyX, so I'm not familiar with LyX firsthand). I installed LyX on my Fedora system today, as well as some Persian fonts, and experimented but I was unable to produce any PDF output in Persian.

You have probably already seen the section of the LyX wiki on Farsi (http://wiki.lyx.org/Windows/Farsi) ... The problem is that it is Windows-centric, and it refers to the MiKTeX package arabi, which is not in the Fedora 14 repositories.

There is a dedicated mailing list, lyx-users, which has a searchable archive on the Web. I searched using both the terms "Persian" and "Farsi" but did not see an immediate solution for you. The results are below:

http://www.lyx.org/MailingLists#toc4
    Information on the lyx-users mailing list

http://tinyurl.com/3zal64v
    Search results of lyx-users list, with term "persian"

http://tinyurl.com/3krqpxo
    Search results of lyx-users list, with term "farsi"

My best suggestion at this point is for you to subscribe to the lyx-users list and ask there. Hopefully someone knowledgeable will be able to point you towards a solution.

I'm sorry I couldn't be of more help. I wish you good luck in finding the right configuration.
    Fedora 37 (LXQt Spin) // Registered Linux User # 442201

Dell Latitude E4300 laptop

Mentioned
    62 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Re: writing Farsi in LyX

Follow these steps, which work for me in F15 using LyX and TeX Live 2010: