Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th June 2011, 03:31 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,003
linuxfirefox
Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Well, I did the 80+ updates tonight and rebooted, trying to test a Logitech c160m Webcam I'd been given for Father's Day. (Also had used AutoPlus to install Skype).

Surprise! My desktop background came back, and the AWN dock, but that's all! My top bar has disappeared, my live corners are dead, no access at all to menus, etc. Basically, if it weren't for AWN being loaded with FF and Tbird and File Browser Launcher, I'd be dead in the water.

So, since I can't minimize or close Firefox (any sub-menu closes as soon as I try to move down the list), I'm pretty much stuck. I did use AWN to add a simple terminal in hopes of getting some control back, but so far...not so good.

Anyone else having problems, or better yet, a solution?
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th June 2011, 03:37 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

your Gnome-shell has dissapeared bob? have you tried alt+f2 r
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th June 2011, 03:42 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,003
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Yeah, I've tried that - can't kill it.
Also tried rebooting, same situation. Can't minimize windows, etc., on Firefox. Tbird comes up about half normal size and that one does allow me to pick "close".
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:01 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

I just updated and didn't have any issues on mine, however, I haven't installed any of the gnome shell extension on this machine yet.

Had the Firefox 5 update in there, though
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:03 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

im just wondering if an Extension bob has installed has borked his install. have you tried disabling the extesnions or removing them and restarting the shell?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:11 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,003
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Glad you had no issues and hope that continues to be the case for everyone else.

Just an update. First, I did add a "logout" launcher to AWN that at least got me out. Had a "Test" user with NO tweaks, however that just booted to a blank Gnome3 screen with my cursor. No functionality at all.

However, I then rebooted into F14 on a separate drive and am posting from there. One good thing: I've been backing up everything from F15 into F14 on a very, very regular schedule, so there's no loss of data in case I have to reinstall.

Also, I had used Gnome Shell frippery: http://intgat.tigress.co.uk/rmy/extensions/index.html from http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=263006 and when I went to reinstall it, there was a conflict.

Well folks, it's late and I'm tired. Think I'll worry about it tomorrow. G'nite.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:12 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

I was thinking the same thing.. That's why I mentioned that I had not installed any extension on this machine.

There were gnome updates along with mesa updates. So it could possibly be an extension that is causing the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:24 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,003
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

The conflict with gnome-shell-frippery was with gnome-shell-extensions-alternative-status-meu, which I've just removed. Then I successfully reinstalled gnome-shell-frippery so let's log out and back in for a quick check.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:30 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 22,003
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Nope, no good at all. Just the AWN menu (thank goodness) with Firefox that reloads to exactly the same spot as when I logged off. On the "plus" side, I seem to be able to use the menus on FF to at least open new tabs/close, etc. Some progress I suppose.

Still no access to system menus, no 3D effects on the desktop at all. Let's see if Nvidia's still working.... yep, Sauerbraten runs just fine; actually better without the Gnome3 effects. Aw crud! Now the FF window won't close again! Menus again messed. This ain't good!

PS - back in F14, this time sleep won't wait. Gnite again.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:43 AM
consolation Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Same here. Contr-alt-backspace takes me back to the log in window and pressing the power button gives me the shutdown window, but that's it. Fall back gnome and xfce sessions work fine. Gnome shell got taken out by the updates.

Sent from my HD2 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:45 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

see if we can narrow this down..

consolation, do you have any of the gnome extensions installed?

See if there are any that are the same as ones bob has installed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:48 AM
consolation Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 18
I'll check when I get home.

Sent from my HD2 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:55 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 22,870
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Try moving the elements of gnome-shell-frippery out of the extensions directory, log out and back in, and see if that restores things. If so, move them back in one at a time until it breaks again.

Those elements are:
  • Applications_Menu
  • Break_Dynamic_Workspaces
  • Move_Clock
  • Panel_Favorites
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25th June 2011, 04:59 AM
VerneOR Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 36
linuxfirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Yep, same problem for me too... got to the desktop and no further, after all the updates (updates + updates testing). Restored my back-up image and tried again, thinking that the Mesa updates might have been the culprits. No such luck.. borked again. Haven't bothered with the updates a third time since my last recovery.

As to extensions... Alt. Status Menu and Remove Accessibilty icon.. are it. Not using frippery...

Last edited by VerneOR; 25th June 2011 at 06:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25th June 2011, 05:03 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 22,870
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Uh-Oh! F15's Updates Borked It Big Time!

Hmmm.

The only issue I had with the updates was it once again killed my personally hacked theme, but that's to be expected. An update over-writes the old theme file, so the hacks go away.

But I still got to desktop, and ran gnome-tweak-tool and swapped it back with only a few clicks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
big, borked, f15, time, uhoh, updates

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FlexLM cannot work with F15's new em* net if naming shaohao Servers & Networking 0 20th June 2011 02:16 PM
Latest updates borked grizewald Using Fedora 2 26th November 2009 11:15 AM
borked updates bart11 Using Fedora 0 10th December 2008 01:02 AM
Long Time - No Updates Trapper Using Fedora 4 5th September 2008 06:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:30 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat