Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th June 2011, 09:59 PM
Dave Causey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
linuxfedorafirefox
Can't boot Fedora 15

I added a new drive to an existing system and installed F15 on the new drive, and all was well. I copied what I needed from the old drive and removed it from the system. Now it won't boot. It drops to a shell with the message

Code:
ACPI: Expecting a [Reference] package element, found type 0
I don't know if that's relevant, but dmesg reveals that it can't find the root device:

Code:
dracut: inactive '/dev/vg_server100/lv_swap' [9.81 GiB] inherit
dracut: inactive '/dev/vg_server100/lv_home' [1.76 TiB] inherit
dracut: inactive '/dev/vg_server100/lv_root' [50.00 GiB] inherit
dracut: inactive '/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00' [1.13 TiB] inherit
dracut: inactive '/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01' [1.94 GiB] inherit
dracut: Volume group "vg_server1" not found
dracut: Skipping volume group vg_server1
dracut: Warning: No root device "block:/dev/mapper/vg_server100-lv_root" found
dracut: Warning: LVM vg_server1/lv_swap not found
server1 was the volume group on the drive that was removed. I thought I had removed that volume group in the disk manager. server100 is the new volume group.

In the shell, I can mount the root partition and look at its contents. It all seems to be there, but the /boot directory is empty.

Any idea how I can get this system to boot up normally?

---------- Post added at 03:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:59 PM ----------

I discovered this entry in my /etc/fstab file:

Code:
UUID=... /boot    ext4    defaults     1 2
I guess that's the part that's really missing? Any idea how I would go about recovering it?

---------- Post added at 03:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:38 PM ----------

The boot partition is in tact, and so is the root partition. So I'm still wondering why dracut thinks there is no root device.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th June 2011, 10:04 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,696
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

I don't use LVM so I know nothing about it but I can move this thread to the top of the heap just by replying. Maybe someone else can help out.

Thinking about it a little more, if you put the old drive back in does the system boot?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th June 2011, 10:10 PM
Dave Causey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

I would certainly give that a try, but I wiped it before removing it. I suppose I should have been more careful about it...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th June 2011, 02:15 AM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
unknownunknown
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

How did you copy the information from one drive to another ?

Normally there is a separate boot partition, separate from the LVM.

If the LVM is intact you could perhaps make a boot partition and re-install the kernel and grub.

How exactly did you rename your LVM ?
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th June 2011, 07:28 AM
Dave Causey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 11
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

I added a new drive and did a clean install on that drive, leaving everything else alone. This created a new volume group, vg_server100. Then I mounted the home partition from the old volume group, vg_server1, and copied over the data that I needed.

There is a separate boot partiion on the new drive. I can mount it in the recovery shell. I don't know why it fails in the boot process. It appears the kernel is already there. If I could think of a way to reinstall just that part of it, I would give it a try. I did try upgrading from the source media, but that didn't do anything. And I changed grub.conf to show the splash screen and let me try different boot options, but it still won't boot because it claims it can't find the root device.

---------- Post added 19th June 2011 at 01:28 AM ---------- Previous post was 18th June 2011 at 08:38 PM ----------

I got it to boot by removing the reference to the non-existent swap partition in the bootline. Evidently that makes it think there is no root partition.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd May 2012, 09:07 PM
austere Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: India
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

How did you resolve this? I mean how did you removed the non-existence swap partition and get it working? What about the 'root not found' issue? (I am kind of new to this so bear with me)
--
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th May 2012, 01:00 PM
austere Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: India
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

@ Glennzo would you like to answer ^ above?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th May 2012, 01:02 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,696
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

Quote:
@ Glennzo would you like to answer ^ above?
Why? Is this a test?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th May 2012, 01:09 PM
austere Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: India
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

NO for sure.. I'm just beginning to learn and I see the same problem while rebooting to a new kernel in LVM and from all the people who happen to reply on this thread is offline other than you so I just specifically asked you (if it's offending, I'll make sure I don't do that again)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th May 2012, 01:13 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,696
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

No. I'm not offended.

Online? I'm actually at work and check in here when I have time. Otherwise, if I'm shown as being online I must have left myself logged in on my home PC

So what exactly did you do to get yourself into the same state as the original poster?
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 4th May 2012, 01:48 PM
austere Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: India
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Can't boot Fedora 15

I'm just running Fedora16 image on VM with kernel version 3.1.0..(something) .. then Downloaded kernel version of 3.1.10 from kernel.org, compiled, installed and rebooted it (with some printk() and dumpstack() in the socket functions)..it worked fine for 2-3 days then it started showing me the following message on reboot -

dracut: Warning: No root device "block:/dev/mapper/vg_fedora-lv_root" found
dracut: Warning: LVM vg_fedora/lv_root not found
dracut: Warning: LVM vg_fedora/lv_swap not found
Dropping to debug shell

Since I didnt do anything other than mentioned above so no idea why it happened.
But I would like to mention..my kernel got updated (i guess through auto-update --> which I want to switch off now?) and I could see a different version 3.3.2...(something) which along with my original kernel happen to work fine. It's just I'm not able to reboot a self compiled kernel version 3.1.10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple boot system not able to boot fedora: blinking cursor appears anacleto Using Fedora 5 28th July 2010 04:23 PM
How to install fedora 12 from USB and make dual boot BCD using Windows 7 boot loader evildesirez Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 4th January 2010 05:56 PM
Rebuilding the Grub Boot Loader on Master Boot Record (MBR) w Fedora Linux Vector Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 6 1st August 2009 08:39 AM
Fedora core 2 dual boot with 2 drives and boot diskette monkeypimp Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 15th July 2004 10:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:26 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat