Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 17th June 2011, 02:33 AM
audifanatic518 Offline

linuxfirefox
Install 32 bit libraries on 64 bit Fedora 15

Hi,

I'm a linux newb and I've been wanting to develop Android applications in Fedora. I have the 64-bit version of Fedora 15 and the device emulator in the Android SDK is only 32 bit. I'll get the following error when trying to start a virtual Android device:

Code:
unset SDL_VIDEODRIVER
Adding 32 bit support hasn't been the easiest thing to figure out and I'm wondering if anyone can give me a hand. Thanks!
Old 17th June 2011, 05:35 AM
publius21 Offline

windows_98_nt_2000ie
Re: Install 32 bit libraries on 64 bit Fedora 15

I'm far a linux guru myself, but I'll tell you how stumbled onto installing the 32-bit libraries. Some other distros have an obvious option to add it, but Fedora doesn't make it obvious.

Go into the GUI add/remove software app and, in the options somwhere, uncheck the option to only show "native packages", which will then allow the .i686 32-bit packages to become visible from the repos.

Now, search for "libc" or "glibc" (I can't remember which I used) and choose the 32-bit, i686 library package. That should bring in most of the core/base stuff. You may need some more packages after that for whatever you're trying to do, but that will get you started.
Old 17th June 2011, 03:01 PM
audifanatic518 Offline

linuxfirefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by publius21 View Post
I'm far a linux guru myself, but I'll tell you how stumbled onto installing the 32-bit libraries. Some other distros have an obvious option to add it, but Fedora doesn't make it obvious.

Go into the GUI add/remove software app and, in the options somwhere, uncheck the option to only show "native packages", which will then allow the .i686 32-bit packages to become visible from the repos.