Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th June 2011, 07:29 AM
westand Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
linuxfirefox
GNOME3: Rythmbox to status area

Per [http://blog.fpmurphy.com/2011/05/mor...ixzz1PPxHn1aZ]. You can force icons out of the pop-up notification area and force them to stick with the power/wireless/sound status icons.

This works fine for "pidgin", "skype", etc.

However, I cannot get it to work for "rhythmbox", even with the code below. Anyone have an idea what the issue is?

Code:
01	const Panel = imports.ui.panel;
02	const StatusIconDispatcher = imports.ui.statusIconDispatcher;
03	 
04	function main() {
05	 
06	    // add the notification(s) you want display on the top bar
07	    // - one per line. Use the english text string displayed when
08	    // hovering your mouse over the bottom right notification area
09	 
10	    StatusIconDispatcher.STANDARD_TRAY_ICON_IMPLEMENTATIONS['rhythmbox'] = 'rhythmbox';
11	    StatusIconDispatcher.STANDARD_TRAY_ICON_IMPLEMENTATIONS['Rhythmbox'] = 'Rhythmbox';
12	    StatusIconDispatcher.STANDARD_TRAY_ICON_IMPLEMENTATIONS['RhythmBox'] = 'RhythmBox';
13	 
14	}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th June 2011, 10:22 AM
AceRoom Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 209
linuxfirefox
Re: GNOME3: Rythmbox to status area

I'm not sure about the method mentioned on that page but you can try this one out.
http://www.webupd8.org/2011/06/sound...extension.html
This provides an applet next to the clock which can control the music player. The default one is Banshee so change it in the preferences once you install.
__________________
Fedora 17 (Beefy Miracle) | Windows 7 Professional | Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon (Maya)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th June 2011, 11:12 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,183
linuxfirefox
Re: GNOME3: Rythmbox to status area

Guys, are these mentioned in the Guides & Solutions Forum > Gnome3 Tweaks & Tips http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=263006 If not, you might want to post them there to help others.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th June 2011, 05:59 PM
westand Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
linuxfirefox
Re: GNOME3: Rythmbox to status area

Thanks, AceRoom, but I was just looking for the more lightweight status icon.

I have tried tacking a ".py" onto the end and many other combinations, but just can't get it to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
area, gnome3, rythmbox, status

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome3 and Empathy - Display problem in messaging notification area lplp2 Using Fedora 0 3rd June 2011 06:48 PM
configure: creating ./config.status config.status: error: cannot find input file: Mak z.z! Using Fedora 1 29th February 2008 04:53 AM
Rythmbox SVN b_chris Using Fedora 0 8th August 2007 11:51 PM
RythmBox Katabatic Using Fedora 1 28th July 2007 03:54 AM
Rythmbox mp3 and fc3? slayerofgods Using Fedora 4 10th April 2005 05:33 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:03 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Garh Maharaja Photos - Portsmouth Heights Travel Photos on Instagram - Cativa Photos