Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th June 2011, 09:38 PM
liviococcia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
macossafari
Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

Hello members, I'm running Fedora 15 using the gnome 3 shell and I've installed the chess program knights version 2.3.1, when I click on the 'Adjourn' button a 'Save as' window opens but I can't save any games, the 'Automatically pick file extensions' box is greyed out, what am I doing wrong?

There is a newer 2.3.2 version, but I don't know how to get or install it, can anyone help Please.
Regards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th June 2011, 01:50 PM
Miikka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 293
linuxfirefox
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

Where is it trying to save? Do you have permissions to save in that folder?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th June 2011, 06:13 PM
liviococcia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
linuxfirefox
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miikka View Post
Where is it trying to save? Do you have permissions to save in that folder?
Hello Miikka and thanks for any help.

I was asking for the file to be saved in my 'Documents' folder which is the default when the 'Save as' window opens, but i did also get in contact with the creator of the 'Knights' chess program and he has reported that it is a bug regarding the use of the 'Adjourn' function in the program, but i've run into another problem do i hope you can help me please.

I've managed to get the latest Fedora 15 version of Knights 2.3.2, but for the life of me i can't seem to install it, it's an .rpm download called 'knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm', get an error when i double click onto it saying...

Can't install /home/Livio/Desktop/knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm as no transaction

I've tried using the 'terminal', first typing..

su
..so i'm a 'super user' administrator, put in my password, then ran this instruction.....

yum --nogpgcheck install knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm

..with no luck this was the message... Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Setting up Install Process
No package knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm available.
Error: Nothing to do

then i tried this instruction below...

rpm -Uvh knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm

...again with no luck, this was the message...error: open of knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm failed: No such file or directory

What am i doing wrong, i'm so new to the 'Terminal' how can i get this to run Miikka

Any help would be great.

regards
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th June 2011, 06:28 PM
Miikka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 293
linuxfirefox
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

The correct way to install a .rpm should be (as root)
Code:
rpm -ivh packagename.rpm
(i = install; v = verbose, shows you what's happening; h = hash, shows you the progress with #-marks)

-U is for upgrade and I don't think you should be using that for this purpose.

Also you can try removing the old installation first with
Code:
rpm -e knights
(e = erase)

Hope this helps!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th June 2011, 07:56 PM
liviococcia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
macossafari
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miikka View Post
The correct way to install a .rpm should be (as root)
Code:
rpm -ivh packagename.rpm
(i = install; v = verbose, shows you what's happening; h = hash, shows you the progress with #-marks)

-U is for upgrade and I don't think you should be using that for this purpose.

Also you can try removing the old installation first with
Code:
rpm -e knights
(e = erase)

Hope this helps!
Thanks Miikka, the directory I was in when I tried ..

rpm -ivh knights-2.3.2-4.1.i386.rpm

..was Livio/Desktop, but it showed a long list of errors, I can't remember what they were (it looked something like the install couldn't replace files even though I was doing as a 'su' user as I'm not at my computer now so I'll try the... rpm -e knights ...instruction tomorrow, do I need to be in a specific directory for.. rpm -e knights ....to work?

I'll give it a go again tomorrow and post back what happens

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th June 2011, 08:16 PM
Miikka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 293
linuxfirefox
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by liviococcia View Post
so I'll try the... rpm -e knights ...instruction tomorrow, do I need to be in a specific directory for.. rpm -e knights ....to work?

I'll give it a go again tomorrow and post back what happens

Regards
You don't need to be in any specific directory to remove a package. Removing an old package before installing a new one isn't needed most of the time, but it can help if you are having problems.

Please post the output tomorrow so we can get back to your problem
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th June 2011, 05:31 PM
liviococcia Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
linuxfirefox
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miikka View Post
You don't need to be in any specific directory to remove a package. Removing an old package before installing a new one isn't needed most of the time, but it can help if you are having problems.

Please post the output tomorrow so we can get back to your problem
Hi Miikka, i had success today just before posting this, i did a fresh download of Knights 2.3.2 from the website below..
http://kde-apps.org/content/show.php...content=122046

...again choosing the Fedora 15 i386 version and, saving the file to my 'Home>Livio>Download' folder, then as you had advised previously, used the 'Add/Remove software' package manager to remove(uninstall) the old Knights 2.3.1 version.

I then opened the 'nautilus' file manager browser as an 'beesu' super-user, and went to the location of my new knights 2.3.2 download, double clicked over the file and ran the .rpm installer, it did ask me to confirm that it needed to also install another part of KDE package related to the new knights version which i agreed to, and all went through ok.

I looked in the 'Add/Remove Software' package manager under 'applications>settings', the installation was listed under the 'Games' section, the program shortcut was also present in the right section under 'Applications>Games'.

I did try the 'Adjourn' saving function but the issue was still present, so hopefully this will get resolved in the next version update.

I will make a note of all the instructions you've kindly given me in this thread Miikka, and a really big thanks for all your help in sorting my problem out.

Kind regards
Livio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th June 2011, 05:52 PM
Miikka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 293
linuxfirefox
Re: Knights v2.3.1, can't save a game using 'adjourn' button?

You're welcome!

I'm glad you got it working, hopefully they will patch the "adjourn-problem" soon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adjourn, button, game, knights, save

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootloader configuration save button? SilvioTO Using Fedora 11 15th November 2010 04:24 PM
Hiding dot files in "Save" and/or "Save As" n926bb Using Fedora 1 7th September 2009 12:24 AM
Knights Chess Installation help dreumah Using Fedora 2 21st April 2005 10:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:31 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat