Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th June 2011, 05:05 PM
aftenbusch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
windows_xp_2003ie
Problems with Running Qt Applications (64-bit Fedora 15)

Hello,

I have just installed fedora 15 64-bit on my machine with a software development install.

I have queried the system and yum and rpm say that both the Qt libraries and applications have been installed for Qt 4.7.2.

However, as root I cannot run or find any of the Qt libraries and applications.

Is this a bug ?

What do you recomend I do ?

Thanks,

Albert F. Tenbusch
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th June 2011, 04:18 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
linuxfirefox
Re: Problems with Running Qt Applications (64-bit Fedora 15)

run

yum list | grep -F "qt-" |sort

and

yum list | grep -F "qt3-" |sort

too see what exactly is available versus what you have installed.

Software Development
This option provides the necessary tools to compile software on your Fedora system.

http://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/...ction-x86.html

It does not include all the possible packages used for development, so you likely have to install additional selections.
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th June 2011, 10:56 PM
jvillain Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 226
linuxfirefox
Re: Problems with Running Qt Applications (64-bit Fedora 15)

The easiest wat to get there is to run

yum groupinstall 'KDE Software Development'


If you don't want to do that then do an

rpm -qa | grep qt

That will list all your qt packages. If none of them are development packages then you will need to install them. For example for the "qt" package there is a qt-devel package. KDE Software Development

yum search qt-devel
yum install qt-devel

This line will help you find others

yum search qt |grep devel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
64bit, applications, fedora, problems, running

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 applications not running under x86_64 fedora 13 soker Using Fedora 3 25th July 2010 07:20 AM
Running 32 bit applications on Fedora 13 cx0der Using Fedora 1 13th June 2010 01:04 PM
fedora remembering running applications Nyan Using Fedora 4 8th October 2009 01:12 PM
Fedora 7 running old FC3 applications 413x Using Fedora 8 28th March 2007 08:27 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:33 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Blue Ridge, GA Travel Photos on Instagram - Mochima, Venezuela Travel Photos - Purdue University Travel Photos on Instagram