Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 21/22 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th May 2011, 11:22 PM
cymbaline42 Offline
Registered User
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 165
Gnome-Do error: Could not load desktop item: libgnome-desktop-2.so.17

I'm running Fedora 15 with Gnome 3. I installed Gnome-Do using 'yum install gnome-do'. I opened it from the Terminal by typing 'gnome-do' but I keep getting an error message that says

Could not load desktop item: libgnome-desktop-2.so.17

Gnome-Do opens but it doesn't display any application I search for and when I try opening the Gnome-Do preferences, it quits.

Any way to resolve this issue?

Update: Solved. I installed gnome-desktop-2.32.0-8.fc16.i686.rpm from here: http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/se...esktop-2.so.17 and then installed Gnome-Do. Everything works fine now.

Last edited by cymbaline42; 28th May 2011 at 01:33 AM. Reason: Solved
Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2011, 01:32 AM
cbredesen Offline
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 17
Re: Gnome-Do error: Could not load desktop item: libgnome-desktop-2.so.17

This has been reported:


$ sudo yum install gnome-desktop
Reply With Quote

fedora 15, gnome do

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does gnome-power-manager need load on a desktop? tootal2 Using Fedora 1 6th November 2008 07:24 AM
gnome-session does not load desktop adua Using Fedora 1 2nd February 2007 06:30 PM
gnome desktop icons appear as desktop text files nick623 Using Fedora 3 15th December 2006 03:21 PM
add menu item to gnome desktop context menu jim Programming & Packaging 0 28th September 2006 02:04 AM

Current GMT-time: 04:14 (Wednesday, 07-10-2015)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat