Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th May 2011, 11:49 PM
l2ulinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
windows_7firefox
How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

I downloaded and burn the new release. Booted no problem, Went on line no problem, Install flash no problem, Downloaded a couple of games no problem and when I went to Shutdown are reboot the system no file to be found. Please help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th May 2011, 11:59 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,813
linuxfirefox
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

Probably the same as the complete install. Click your user name or "Live User" in the top right of the screen. You'll see the word "suspend" at the bottom of the resulting menu. While the menu is displayed press the ALT key. "Suspend" will change to "Power Off". Click Power Off and you will get a dialogue where you can Cancel, Power Off or Restart.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th May 2011, 04:21 AM
l2ulinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

glennzo wrote:

Probably the same as the complete install. Click your user name or "Live User" in the top right of the screen. You'll see the word "suspend" at the bottom of the resulting menu. While the menu is displayed press the ALT key. "Suspend" will change to "Power Off". Click Power Off and you will get a dialogue where you can Cancel, Power Off or Restart.

Thank you very much for the help it worked the way you said it would.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th May 2011, 03:21 PM
BenTrein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Thailand
Age: 37
Posts: 355
linuxopera
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

Er... and how can I change that Suspend thingy into a permanent shut-down option? I use shut down more often than suspend...
__________________
Greetz (and thanks for all the help!)
BenTrein

The internet isn't a highway, it's a swamp. The more you surf the more it draws you in!

Great authors suffer from Writer's Block. I cherrish my Writer's Blog!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th May 2011, 05:09 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 49
Posts: 3,864
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

This is how to add shutdown in the menu, of course not the livecd, (coffee cup mat)
Quote:
su -c 'yum install gnome-shell-extensions-alternative-status-menu -y'
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th May 2011, 02:15 AM
BenTrein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Thailand
Age: 37
Posts: 355
linuxopera
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

Thanks! You know, I once called the IBM helpdesk asking "Where is the any key?" because it said 'Hit any key to continue'... Anyway, I'm only slightly beyond that now, and indeed, I'd realized I couldn't edit the menu on the liveCD - but you got my point.

However, I get stuck with an unfortunate error:

Code:
http://linux.dropbox.com/fedora/15/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] curl#6 - "Couldn't resolve host"
Trying other mirror.
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: Dropbox. Please verify its path and try again
I'm working on verifying the path with the Dropbox guys, but meanwhile, how do I remove this repo from the (update) list?
__________________
Greetz (and thanks for all the help!)
BenTrein

The internet isn't a highway, it's a swamp. The more you surf the more it draws you in!

Great authors suffer from Writer's Block. I cherrish my Writer's Blog!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th May 2011, 03:07 PM
Miikka Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 293
linuxfirefox
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenTrein View Post
I'm working on verifying the path with the Dropbox guys, but meanwhile, how do I remove this repo from the (update) list?
Move or delete the dropbox repo file from /etc/yum.repos.d. Or edit the file and change enabled=0.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th May 2011, 03:57 PM
BenTrein Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Thailand
Age: 37
Posts: 355
linuxopera
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

Thanks a lot. That worked - and the dnmouse tip worked too... Thanks all.
__________________
Greetz (and thanks for all the help!)
BenTrein

The internet isn't a highway, it's a swamp. The more you surf the more it draws you in!

Great authors suffer from Writer's Block. I cherrish my Writer's Blog!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th August 2011, 07:55 AM
ov10fac Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 61
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: How to Shutdown Fedora 15 Gnome LiveCD

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenTrein View Post
Thanks a lot. That worked - and the dnmouse tip worked too... Thanks all.
Doesn't this bother anyone? Wow, all this just to turn the darn thing off?? What is happening to our favorite O/S. Its being modified to the point where its almost useless. I can't believe you need to press an icon, use the alt key and press another button just to shutdown a computer. Come on guys!!!

Another interesting anomaly I have found is the add software feature. I go to add software, everything works fine, then I get a failure notice because I didn't provide the right password. Oh did I mention that it never asks for a password.

Wow, this 15 reminds me of Vista.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, gnome, livecd, shutdown

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86_64 livecd: no login screen, gnome-shell, or gnome-fallback at boot maugre F15 Development 1 28th April 2011 08:21 PM
Installed Fedora 10 using LiveCD, but want GNOME missrebecca84 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 11 3rd March 2010 05:49 AM
Fedora 10 KDE Livecd, how to install gnome? Jasonvw Using Fedora 2 14th April 2009 05:13 PM
livecd-create Bootable Fedora LiveCD Failed in Fedora 10 dinooz Using Fedora 1 6th February 2009 05:29 PM
5 STARS! Fedora 7 i386 livecd - how to boot from livecd - need SERIOUS help please! newfedorahat Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 14 25th June 2007 08:37 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:08 (Saturday, 29-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cientovolando