Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th March 2011, 07:03 AM
kurtdriver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,550
linuxfirefox
Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions -- F15 -THESE ARE FOR F15 and may not work with F16

A lot of the discussion about Gnome 3 is about the defaults. Many people don't seem to understand this, they think for instance, that you can't have minimize or maximize buttons. You can and many other defaults can be changed, too.

Want those buttons? Do
Code:
 
gconftool-2 -s -t string /desktop/gnome/shell/windows/button_layout ":minimize,maximize,close"
Remove from this command any of the three you don't want.


If you want your clock to show the date,
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraekan View Post
gsettings set org.gnome.shell.clock show-date true
You can also set these in gnome-tweak-tool which is the repos. This will allow a good number of configuration changes. Any more?

Edit: I put this in this category as I thought it should not be archived, provided other people find tweaks to share, when F15 is released.

Last edited by kurtdriver; 28th March 2011 at 07:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th March 2011, 04:31 PM
vallimar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,050
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: Gnome 3 Tips and Tweaks

I mentioned a few tweaks already, including the menu one here:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...6&postcount=19
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2011, 12:47 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,120
linuxfirefox
Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Okay People, let's use a Guide to help others get the most out of Gnome3. Please highlight your tweak and let's keep the bickering to a minimum, please.

Gnome Shell Extensions: http://intgat.tigress.co.uk/rmy/extensions/index.html - This tweak gives back a lot of the functionality of Gnome2. It puts your favorite apps in the taskbar, returns a regular menu, multiple workspaces and more! Best of all, you still have the Gnome3 experience by moving your cursor to the top left for the Gnome3 applications icons.

Alacarte ("yum install alacarte") : Now you can modify your menu and create launchers. For instance, I enjoy the game Sauerbraten which isn't in yum, but easily installed from source. Okay, it's a PITA to open a terminal every time I want to play and then type "./sauerbraten_unix". So, with Alacarte, I add a launcher to my Games menu, browse to "sauerbraten_unix" and done (suitable icon added). Now, after the Gnome Shell Extension tweak, I add to Favorites and it's on the task bar.

Poweroff & Reboot: Once again, I don't like the hidden options that can only be displayed by using Alt from the sub-menu. Much too lazy for that! So, again using Alacarte and creating launchers, I simply add icons and type in the commands "poweroff" for one and "reboot" for another. Save to Favorites and with the Gnome Shell Extensions, there's handy one-click buttons on my task bar.

Maximize - Minimize-Close Buttons
: Where'd they go? I want those good old right-hand top of app buttons back! Well, it's simple. Just install gnome-tweak-tool and you'll find the app under Accessories > Tweak Advanced Settings. Among other neat tweaks, click on Shell, then select "Arrangement of buttons on title bar" - All. Log out, back in and your buttons are back!

Icons On Your Desktop: Hey, I like clutter and want to see my "computer", "trash can" "home" and other icons right there on my desktop! Okay, with the gnome-tweak-tool, click on File Manager and turn on "have file manager handle the desktop". Now the usual icons are back, plus anything you want to add to Desktop will be in plain view!

And from the crew at Gnome3
: https://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/CheatSheet The Gnome Shell Cheat Sheet

Okay, that's just a start. Let's see what you can add!
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th May 2011, 01:06 PM
Dictator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: /lost+found
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

one (alternative) addition to power off button.

Code:
sudo yum install gnome-shell-extensions-alternative-status-menu
reboot and tadaaaaaa

Rahul Sundaram's Tip: You don't have to reboot for anything. Press Alt+f2, press r and then enter to restart the shell. Your applications won't be killed and changes in the shell will take effect immediately.



* If u 'sudo' then use user's admin priviledges password ; if u 'su' then use root user's priviledges password ;
__________________
#!/bin/bash
network=$1
for ip in $(seq 1 254);do
host $1.$ip
done

Last edited by RahulSundaram; 27th May 2011 at 12:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th May 2011, 02:04 PM
DokterW Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 62
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Search Buttons

Want to change the search buttons 'Wikipedia' and/or 'Google'?

You'll find the files located here: /usr/share/gnome-shell/search_providers/

Similar to the format that Firefox uses, but not so similar you can easily to a 'cp'. Just open google.xml and see to it that the new search button has a similar markup as google.xml.

To make any changes you have to be root, so be careful!

Made any changes to gnome-shell?

1. Press alt+f2

2. Enter the character (without apostrophes) 'r'

3. Press 'Enter'

Access Network Connects

1. Press alt+f2

2. Enter (without apostrophes) 'nm-connection-editor'

3. Press 'Enter'

Get online with Mobile Broadband

1. Press alt+f2

2. Enter (without apostrophes) 'nm-connection-editor'

3. Press 'Enter'

4. Select 'Mobile Broadband' and press 'Add'

5. When asked to save setting, after you've clicked 'Finish', tick the box that says 'Connect automatically'

This should hopefully force a Mobile Broadband connection. If you are having problems getting online with Mobile Broadband.
__________________
Dokter Waldijk — 'not that kind of doctor'
dokterw.me
@DokterW

Asus Eee PC 1000H — Fedora 17
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th May 2011, 02:07 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

I already did some tweaks for G3 here that may be of help
http://www.dnmouse.org/autoten/gnome-3-extra-tips.html

Here is also a good guide to using G3,
http://live.gnome.org/GnomeShell/CheatSheet
Tip to open up an app in a new workspace, just middle mouse click on it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th May 2011, 02:12 PM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,250
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Some of the more obvious, and some not so much.

1) Need your icons back on your desktop?

Code:
 yum install gnome-tweak-tool
Then, from that tool, select File Manager, and click it to "On." The trick here is, nautilus doesn't seem to start until you hit the file browser for the first time, so go to Applications, and run startup applications preferences, and add an entry there for nautilus. Just "nautilus" should do it.

2) In the same tool, select "Windows" and you can return roll-up functionality to your windows.

3) To help the real estate issue with the default setup, go to the "Fonts" setting in the same tool, and carefully adjust your text scaling factor. Go easy here! It takes a second for things to work, and you can very easily go way too far before it does.

4) Of course, the clock and calendar tweaks are here too under "Shell."

I'll post this and dig up some more soon, so check back to this post later.



Tired of those clearly unreasonable easements surrounding the titlebar in Adwaita? There's a fix for that! But you're going to have to roll up your sleeves and get a little dirty in a text editor to get it done.

Two ways to do this: In a terminal/GUI mix, or just in a terminal. Pick your poison.

Mixed: Assuming you've already installed nautilus-terminal-open ... right click the desktop (or a browser window if you have not allowed nautilus to handle the desktop as indicated above) and open a terminal. Then ...

Code:
su - (provide root password)

nautilus --no-desktop
Then, using the browser window you just opened, drill down to: /usr/share/themes/Adwaita/metacity-1/ and open metacity-theme-3.xml in an editor.

Then edit the appropriate sections as indicated below.

Quote:
<frame_geometry name="normal" title_scale="medium" rounded_top_left="4" rounded_top_right="4">
<distance name="left_width" value="3" />
<distance name="right_width" value="3" />
<distance name="bottom_height" value="5" />
<distance name="left_titlebar_edge" value="0"/>
<distance name="right_titlebar_edge" value="0"/>
<distance name="title_vertical_pad" value="6"/>
<border name="title_border" left="10" right="10" top="1" bottom="1"/>
<border name="button_border" left="0" right="0" top="1" bottom="3"/>
<aspect_ratio name="button" value="1"/>
</frame_geometry>
And:

Quote:
<draw_ops name="titlebar_fill_focused_alt">
<gradient type="vertical" x="0" y="0" width="width" height="height">
<color value="#0a0a0a" />
<color value="#fdfdfd" />
<color value="#1a1a1a" />
<!-- <color value="blend/gtk:bg[NORMAL]/gtk:base[NORMAL]/0.6" /> -->
<!-- <color value="gtk:bg[NORMAL]"/> -->
<!-- <color value="blend/gtk:bg[NORMAL]/#000000/0.03" /> -->
<color value="gtk:bg[NORMAL]"/>
</gradient>
</draw_ops>
Quote:
<!-- dans-experiment-2 -->

<draw_ops name="button_fill"> <!-- button background gradient -->
<gradient type="vertical" x="0" y="0" width="width" height="height-2">
<color value="#ededed" />
<color value="#adadad" />
<color value="#fefefe" />
<!-- <color value="blend/gtk:bg[NORMAL]/gtk:fg[NORMAL]/0.15" />
<color value="blend/gtk:bg[NORMAL]/gtk:fg[NORMAL]/0.21" />
<color value="blend/gtk:bg[NORMAL]/gtk:fg[NORMAL]/0.27" />
<color value="blend/gtk:bg[NORMAL]/gtk:fg[NORMAL]/0.12" /> -->
</gradient>
</draw_ops>
What you end up with is: Window edges that are easier to grab, a thinner title bar across the top, and a radically changed gradient from the original theme. You can see what I've commented out between the <!-- xxx --> tags. I've replaced them with my own brand of insanity. What you do with them is entirely up to you. In short, fiddle with it and have fun. It's fedora. If you break it, you get to keep the pieces.



A caveat before you get started, though. If you haven't set up a root GUI account to go in and fix stuff after you break it ... you might want to back up the files before you start, and get comfy in a terminal ... just in case. <....>


!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th May 2011, 02:32 PM
Dictator Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: /lost+found
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

thumbs up Dan. i was ready to put the post reply button but u got me with that.

there's an extensive info for the gnome-tweak-tool HERE
__________________
#!/bin/bash
network=$1
for ip in $(seq 1 254);do
host $1.$ip
done
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th May 2011, 07:53 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Shameless bump Dan
Couldnt put up with not seeing the workspaces anymore, so have installed avant + awn it has made a massive difference, makes it so more practical for me and i actually prefer G3 now!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot-1.png
Views:	3955
Size:	256.3 KB
ID:	21036  
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th May 2011, 08:03 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,120
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Ah yeah Dave, that's purty! But, since this is a Guide, maybe a bit more info would be important. Here's what Joe User's gonna do:

Quote:
[bob@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost bob]# yum install avant
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
adobe-linux-i386 | 951 B 00:00
google-earth | 951 B 00:00
rpmfusion-free-rawhide | 3.3 kB 00:00
rpmfusion-nonfree-rawhide | 3.3 kB 00:00
Setting up Install Process
No package avant available.
Error: Nothing to do
[root@localhost bob]# yum install awn
Loaded plugins: langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Setting up Install Process
No package awn available.
Error: Nothing to do
Aw shoot! Dave's off doing important stuff. Well, let's give some info here until he returns and does it better:
Quote:
yum install avant-window-navigator awn-extras-applets
That will get things started. Now, test it by opening a terminal and launch it: "avant-window-navigator" should do that.
Then, let's get it into the start-up: Click on the avant-window-navigator icon and play with the many options. Down at the bottom, under General, there's "start Awn automatically". That does it! Reboot and test.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	desktop.jpg
Views:	2399
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	21037  
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17th May 2011, 06:58 PM
molossus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: U.S
Posts: 15
linuxchrome
Gnome 3 (close, minimize, maximize) buttons

to get all 3 buttons and not just the close button on gnome shell install:
yum install gnome-tweak-tool

to find this tool type tweak on the search bar
then you can set it to show all 3 buttons and other gnome settings.

Last edited by Dan; 17th May 2011 at 08:00 PM. Reason: moved to tweaks guide
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th May 2011, 10:38 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

I have wrote a small guide to change the login background (gdm) here

This is how to change the login (gdm) background in G3, some what of a pain but heres how i did it.
The picture you want as background should be in /usr/share/backgrounds
Log into a root terminal
Code:
 su -
Now enter these commands
Code:
su - gdm -s /bin/bash
dbus-launch
and you will get an output similar to below (yours will be different numbers etc..)
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:abstract=/tmp/dbus-ULWxloZAzI,guid=e19ddee8bb144a23eb550ba6000005d4
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_PID=4347

Now re-enter the output putting export in front of it like below again your output will be different to mine
Code:
 export DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:abstract=/tmp/dbus-ULWxloZAzI,guid=e19ddee8bb144a23eb550ba6000005d4
 export DBUS_SESSION_BUS_PID=4347
Now to actually change the background, substituting the path to your picture
Code:
GSETTINGS_BACKEND=dconf gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.background picture-uri "file:///usr/share/backgrounds/dangermouse/010.jpg"
Now when you restart/logout the login background should of changed..




http://www.dnmouse.org/autoten/gnome...ackground.html
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th May 2011, 11:44 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Difficulty resizing windows

If like me you have diffuculty resizing windows, heres how to make it easier
Code:
 su -
 gedit /usr/share/themes/Adwaita/metacity-1/metacity-theme-3.xml
(or what theme you are using)

now find these lines and change 1,1,2, to 3,3,5or what size suits you best.

<frame_geometry name="normal" title_scale="medium" rounded_top_left="4" rounded_top_right="4">
<distance name="left_width" value="3" />
<distance name="right_width" value="3" />
<distance name="bottom_height" value="5" />
<distance name="left_titlebar_edge" value="0"/>
<distance name="right_titlebar_edge" value="0"/>
<distance name="title_vertical_pad" value="0"/>
<border name="title_border" left="10" right="10" top="1" bottom="1"/>
<border name="button_border" left="0" right="0" top="1" bottom="3"/>
<aspect_ratio name="button" value="1"/>
</frame_geometry>

Now refresh (alt+f2 'r' enter) or restart


Resize the Massive Titlebar gnome 3


This is how to change the size, you may want to play around to get your ideal size
Code:
su -
 sed -i "/title_vertical_pad/s/value=\"[0-9]\{1,2\}\"/value=\"0\"/g"  /usr/share/themes/Adwaita/metacity-1/metacity-theme-3.xml
Now press Alt+F2 then 'r' and enter to refresh or restart comp..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th May 2011, 08:49 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

Heres another very rough guide to change shell themes etc.. (plus themes)

http://www.dnmouse.org/autoten/gnome...ge-themes.html
http://half-left.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th May 2011, 10:08 PM
beavenburt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 22
linuxfirefox
Re: Gnome3 Tweaks & Solutions

I'm not sure if this has been mentioned in the thread but in fallback mode you can drag desktop items onto the panel to create launchers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f15, gnome3, solutions, tweaks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software update doesn't work (Fedora 15, Gnome3) tzoannop F16 Development 2 14th July 2011 06:51 PM
[SOLVED] Gnome3 crashes immediately, plus some repos disappeared/don't work Lo Zeno Using Fedora 21 29th June 2011 07:38 AM
[SOLVED] how do you work this newfangled gnome3 thingy whatchamakallit? pottzie Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 3rd June 2011 10:56 PM
Gnome3! What A Piece Of Work! bob Reviews, Rants & Things That Make You Scream 8 27th May 2011 08:42 PM
New 2.6.10 kernel for FC3; now no sound, proposed solutions don't work for me kevin77v EOL (End Of Life) Versions 10 16th February 2005 10:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:18 (Friday, 29-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat