Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd May 2011, 04:03 AM
tvraghavan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7chrome
Adding more mount points to Fedora14 on VirtualBox

Hi,

Am running virtual box on Windows7. I've installed Fedora14 on 1 8GB fixed HDD mode. Now I would like to add another 2GB to my existing installation.
[virtualbox setup attached]

I've added the new .vdi file to my virtualbox setup.
How do I make this space available in my Fedora ?
a) Am ok to add this as a new volume
OR
b) Add this space to the existing volume

Current structure
/boot: 500MB
/ : 8GB


Thanks
-Raghav
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fedora14_question.png
Views:	70
Size:	6.6 KB
ID:	20995  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd May 2011, 07:38 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,503
linuxchrome
Re: Adding more mount points to Fedora14 on VirtualBox

Running fdisk -l on the Fedora guest should show some unpartitioned space, probably /dev/sdb. Then you can partition it with fdisk, cfdisk, or if you're more comfortable with a graphic tool, gparted. (gparted won't handle logical volumes though, so may show your already existing install as unpartitioned space.)

If you want to expand the current root partition, (assuming you took defaults and it's an lvm) then the steps would be use fdisk to create an lvm partition, make a physical volume on it, make a volume group on the physical volume, expand the existing volume and then resizing the file system. I have a page on LVMs, which might help--though it's only a so-so page at present.

http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu/lvm.html

Last edited by smr54; 2nd May 2011 at 07:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th May 2011, 07:00 PM
tvraghavan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7chrome
Re: Adding more mount points to Fedora14 on VirtualBox

Thanks smr54. I followed your instruction and was able to successfully setup the additional space.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th May 2011, 08:33 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,503
linuxchrome
Re: Adding more mount points to Fedora14 on VirtualBox

Glad to hear it. You can mark the thread solved, if you want, by clicking the thread tools link at the beginning of the thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adding, fedora14, mount, points, virtualbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
virtualbox, Fedora14 problem listar Using Fedora 14 18th December 2010 05:14 AM
Fedora 12 mount points skolnick Using Fedora 2 30th May 2010 07:36 PM
CD/DVD Fixed Mount Points In F7? SuperNu Hardware & Laptops 8 5th June 2007 06:58 AM
Where are my cd-rom mount points? Infinity Using Fedora 6 30th November 2004 03:04 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:10 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat