Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 30th April 2011, 07:24 AM
ajayram Offline

linuxubuntufirefox
Angry Fedora 14 installation black screen

Hello

I am new to Fedora . I tried installing Fedora 14 on my Hp Pavilion dm4 Laptop with ATI Mobility Radeon Graphics Card and when I booted from the live CD I had burned a little while earlier. I got the Grub menu of the Live CD . But when I selected the option to boot Fedora from the live CD. all I get is a black screen , I waited for several minutes and got nothing on the screen.

I have tried to boot from the live CD several times .. but I am just getting this black screen every time..
Can someone please help me out??
Old 30th April 2011, 08:23 AM
ozjd Offline

linuxfedorachrome
Re: Fedora 14 installation black screen

On that grub menu you should have the option for standard graphics or something similar, try that.
Old 30th April 2011, 09:42 AM
ajayram Offline

linuxubuntufirefox

@ Ozjd :

In the boot menu. I saw this option Boot (Video Only ) I tried that and it worked.. thanks ..
Now I have a doubt how do I make the other option to work ? Do I need to install some drivers for that??
Old 30th April 2011, 06:47 PM
Fenrin Offline

linuxfirefox

what is your graphic card? I think Radeon Mobility up to 5xxx series should work pretty decent with default Radeon drivers.

But you can also either follow this guide or install the driver via the ati-driver*.run package from the ati.amd.com site. For the later option you should install kernel-devel, kernel-headers, gcc, fontconfig before. After installation you should enter "aticonfig --initial" as root, then it will create or reconfigure a xorg.conf file under /etc/X11/.
Old 10th May 2011, 10:21 PM
ajayram Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Angry Re: Graphics Card Propreitary Driver not working

Hello

I have a Radeoan 5000 series graphics Card. I followed your link and installed the ATI Propreitary Driver. Now I am facing a lot of problems.